Defensive match ups for mine

Daniher - Weitering
Hipwood - Marchbank
McCarthy- Kemp
Rayner - McGovern
Bailey - Newman
Cameron - Saad

7th defender - Cincotta
So Gunston pretty certain not to play? I’ve read around here he’s injured and is 50/50 this week, don’t really know what his injury is either, bit of a fog on this

Defensive match ups for mine

Daniher - Weitering
Hipwood - Marchbank
McCarthy- Kemp
Rayner - McGovern
Bailey - Newman
Cameron - Saad

7th defender - Cincotta
Cincotta on Raynor and Mcgovern on McCarthy. Kemp struggling for a match up. Don't think both Marchbank and Kemp should play.

Rayner would tear Cincotta to pieces in the air. Plays a lot taller than he is. We want McGovern in the play more than he would be by playing on McCarthy .

Once again opinion based only.

Melbourne based folks who aren't heading up to Brissie
I'm keeping the world's most watchful eye on my emails, waiting for Carlton to let us know that they're screening the game at a live site. I'll post here as soon as they send it through (I'm banking on them doing it because they're bloody dumb dumbs if they don't) - let's FILL PRINCES PARK.

Our meeting earlier this year besides the final score was a relatively even contest (we did smash them in overall possession though). It was a case during our slump where we had the same or more I50s than our opponents but never converted.

Bar a hapless goalless 3rd quarter, that was the cause of our loss.

That game we had Young, Durdin, Ed and Honey in our squad. A lone Pito smashed them in hit outs (aided by JSOS/Young).

We were ripped apart by their small forwards and I'd suggest that's our biggest concern.

Take our chances I50, we need Charlie and Harry to fire (not necessarily at the same time but if they both combine for a handful of goals).

We're not terrible at Brisbane, our losses there in recent times is due to a poor 10-15 mins (much like most of our recent losses).

They've had 2 weeks to think about their last few years of choking. Pressure is on them mentally, so let's amplify that by applying the pressure throughout the game.

Haha I hope not as the Pies lost their prelim by a point playing interstate

But on a serious note we are potentially creating history with our 3 month turn around - it’s unprecedented and hopefully continues

As Blue Abroad noted in his recap of the semi - we played badly in patches and lots of mistakes in our first two finals but he felt the Blues juggernaut is about to start - we have finals experience now and we could be on the cusp of outstanding footy - we just have to connect a couple of dots and watch out

I think you've hit the nail on the head there. Yes we've won but we are capable of so much better. We are a live chance this saturday absolutely but we need to improve.

Just a random thought... you're a Victorian, and you don't barrack for Carlton or Collingwood and you hate them both, who do you barrack for this weekend? Lions and Giants? But is that what you want at the G at the GF? Certainly you'd want a Carlton v Collingwood GF because you know the house would be rocking...? But that means you'd have to want them to win this week... Maybe you just pick the one Vic side you hate the most and hope they win this weekend and then lose to the non-Victorian side in the GF.
Oh, it's a good time to be a Blue...

My partner is an * supporter, and his words were along the lines of:
“So you’re saying I have to support Carlton, Collingwood, or an interstate team? This is the WORST!”

Maybe cinc on McCarthy bigf?
Could do but in my plan he starts on the bench and gives spells to Saad, Newman, Mitch & Kemp as required.

We do look at it through a lot simpler prism than actually happens though, defences rotate, play zones etc at various times. The match ups - particularly non KPD's are mainly starting points only.

Cripps just out muscled and out played two of the best going around with a supposedly cracked rib.

Don't think we could want for too much more.

Yep, stats sheet won't reflect it but this was one of the best games of his career. Genuine captain's performance in a knockout final against the best centre unit in the business.

My partner is an * supporter, and his words were along the lines of:
“So you’re saying I have to support Carlton, Collingwood, or an interstate team? This is the WORST!”
They should be used to it, not like they ever have the opportunity to support Essendon this late in the year!

My concern is we looked pretty banged up after Demons game, plenty of the boys were hobbling & looked sore, in the end we just scraped home on the last kick.
On the flip side , momentum & application has been phenomenal & inspirational, the boys leave no stone unturned, the Lions game should be a ripper, no matter the result one has to be extremely proud of our Boy.
Go Blues

He strained his MCL, I think it's pretty unlikely he plays.

Heard Payne is struggling with an ankle (been in a moonboot)
according to Bucks on SEN this morning…. maybe we won’t be the only team carrying injury concerns to important players into the game !!

Our meeting earlier this year besides the final score was a relatively even contest (we did smash them in overall possession though). It was a case during our slump where we had the same or more I50s than our opponents but never converted.

Bar a hapless goalless 3rd quarter, that was the cause of our loss.

That game we had Young, Durdin, Ed and Honey in our squad. A lone Pito smashed them in hit outs (aided by JSOS/Young).

We were ripped apart by their small forwards and I'd suggest that's our biggest concern.

Take our chances I50, we need Charlie and Harry to fire (not necessarily at the same time but if they both combine for a handful of goals).

We're not terrible at Brisbane, our losses there in recent times is due to a poor 10-15 mins (much like most of our recent losses).

They've had 2 weeks to think about their last few years of choking. Pressure is on them mentally, so let's amplify that by applying the pressure throughout the game.

also orange socks - we never win with those!