Autopsy 2023 Rd 5 Blues get smashed by Crows

Who played well for the Blues vs the Crows?

This!

He also refused to go through the process at *.

So that is 2 Clubs he refused due to not wanting to go through the process being questioned in front of a panel.
Why should he have to go through a process, Luke Sayers approached him and told him he wanted him.. he had every right to believe that the role was his. We then backflipped rightfully or wrongfully time will tell.

This!

He also refused to go through the process at *.

So that is 2 Clubs he refused due to not wanting to go through the process being questioned in front of a panel.
We initially suggested to Lyon that there would be no formal process. We changed the goalposts when some on the board (rightfully) became nervous.

Why should he have to go through a process, Luke Sayers approached him and told him he wanted him.. he had every right to believe that the role was his. We then backflipped rightfully or wrongfully time will tell.

Can you show me proof Luke wanted him!

I think that most Carlton fans expected Top 8 this year, not Top 4. That was always going to be a bit of a reach, everything would need to fall perfectly into place for that to happen. Fans having unrealistic expectations isn't on the Club or the players, it's on those fans themselves.
Expected top 8, because anything less than that would have been a failure and had hoped our growth would see us challenge for top 4.. With Geelong falling away, Freo hopeless, Dogs off to a bad start and Brisbane dropping games early I genuinely believed we were primed to take their spots.. But we watched Collingwood last year, Adelaide this year waltz straight past us in terms of young developing teams...

Has Lemmey rucked much at VFL level, with Pitto going to miss could he be an option to come in?

Sometimes you dont know what you’ve got.Take the aints as an example.Forced to play newbies and bang with a structured game plan look what happens.

No point going back to the well(Plowman etc)

Throw them in and who knows you might be surprised.At least we as supporters will say at least he did that not geez why do we keep playing the same rinse and repeat players.

Why are we talking about R.Lyon? Will this change anything for us in 2023? Voss, yes; coaches, yes; players, yes; team selection, yes; gameplan, yes; mental attitude, yes; skills, yes; R.Lyon...?

Exactly Rev!

For all those blues supporters who's head's were stuck in the sand.... welcome to 2023 reality check. Same team that won 4 of its last 12 games last year as well as losing its last 4 on the trot to miss finals IS back! Not the 8-2 team before that when we took everybody by surprise including ourselves with a new coach and gameplan. Have been figured out. Even Cripps can't save us as even he is bring exposed for his lack of 2 way running and genuine leg speed, he is a KP size not a so called big bodied midfielder he is huge! Add that to DeKoning, McKay,Pittonet,Young all 200cm+ and then you have Weitering and Charlie also... Way too slow, lack agility also for repeat pressure acts. Better off with a team mainly of gut runners like Walsh,Hollands,Acres,Obrien and the kid Binns in the 2's, game has changed with the rules, better skilled kickers, fitness levels etc. We are way off.... at least 2-3 good drafts and finishing of bad contracts like Martin, McGovern,Williams and even Cripps as he is at the age where his youthful run will drop off especially with his size.... Go the Storm...
Cheer up Georgie. Interesting points, whack it in the chicken little thread.

After reading this thread, reckon the cracks at the team's mental toughness is better targeted at the clubs supporters.
Reminds me of the Tigers board pre 2017:tearsofjoy:

People can't be complaining about not getting other coaches now. What's done is done, if Voss doesn't work out, might as well shut the doors. This is the group, this is the year, not calling for a premiership (technically we should be) but when does it all click for this group? Cripps has only 2-3 years of good footy left in him, every year these players get a year older and it just leaves us to beckon.

Quiet frankly it is getting tiresome and mentally draining to watch them show us false hope week after week, year after year. Can never be confident with this team, we were up by 7 goals last week and I still was not confident that we would win, because that's how mentally fragile they are. Had we lost by 2-3 goals in a tight one yesterday in a back and forth affair it would have been all good. But we were made to look like 2018 Carlton, no passion, no drive on and off the field from all personel. They gave up with 5 mins to go in the last and the Crows smelt it, and made a mockery of this team.

The fact that Nicks was smirking and smiling in the coaches box all night was damning, he couldn't believe his own eyes.

Only positive out of all of this is, it is only Round 5 but geez.... wake up!

Why don’t we just go back to what made us dangerous last year?

Put out 5 mids through the middle,win contested ball and lower the eyes when coming inside 50.

We didn’t have pace last year as we relied on our contested ball.

Our ruck is one of the main issues right now.

This raises an interesting question about our reliance and faith in our 5 mids.

Because it's an awful day in Sydney, I've little better to do and I like stats I decided to have a real look at our last season.

We played 8 games with all mids selected for 5 wins. Only 1 of those wins (Sydney) were against a top 8 side and one of them (Hawthorn) we only won by a point.

In the 14 games we played with 1 or more out we won 7 and 3 of them were against eventual top 8 sides. Also 3 of the 7 losses were for a combined total of 10 points (Collingwood x 2 and Melbourne) and the last 2 of them we only had 2 of the 5 in the team.

In the 8 games with them we averaged 36 clearances against 33 and in the other 14 games we averaged 39 against 34.

As an aside, we have played only 1 game with them this season and, as we know, that is our only loss.

I know these are just stats but they make me wonder if the value of these guys as a group is just a little overrated.

If I was a coach I'd be having a close look at stats like these.

Reminds me of the Tigers board pre 2017:tearsofjoy:

Every board is the same, I find it funny how everyone thinks their own board is somehow different or better.

Look at this place after our first loss of the season...people already bringing up Ross Lyon and questioning if Voss is the right man.

Crows in good form now but their board wasn't a happy place after their 0-2 start.

Beat Saints next week and WC after to go 5 wins, 1 draw and 1 loss after 7 tounfs and the lid will be off again.

This stat is a bit of a rort. It is calculated as any time someone makes contact with a player, and that player's subsequent disposal is less than perfect. A bump is a tackle. Holding the ball is a tackle. Not all tackles are the same.

So if you wildly flail your arms at someone while they run straight past you, get a hand on their arm that they shrug off, and they blaze their kick 50m to a contest, you will typically get a tackle stat. We somehow racked up 20-odd tackles in the first quarter last night, much in the same way the witches hats at training tend to rack up the occasional 'tackle' as someone clips them on the way past by mistake.
thanks for that, it didn’t really answer the question but fair enough.

Yeh we stunk but it’s time to lift our chins and get back on the winners list.

That game is done and dusted, I believe we got smashed by 10 goals twice in 95 in a row. Footy is a funny game!
We did and we all went chicken little after those two losses to the bottom teams, learnt a valuable lesson that year.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 5 Blues get smashed by Crows