Autopsy 2023 Rd 8 Mediocre Blues gone after Quarter time

Who played well for the Blues in Round 8 vs Brisbane?

Lost it in the middle again. Stats don't really show it but they beat us pretty convincingly around the packs. They were constantly standing up in tackles and dishing it off, we were constantly doing the opposite. Even though the stats looked even they got the ball out away from the packs much more easily than we did tonight.

We are not far off from that top echelon really, so many positives for this year in Hollands, Acres, Cerra. Kemp finally looks like he belongs, that is going to be great long term.

Got to keep mixing the side up until we get the right ingredients.

Kennedy has to come into the side now, there are several who could easily come out for him.

Weitering had a very unusually poor first quarter, hopefully a one off.

Got to get the inside mix right.
Lost it in the middle again. Stats don't really show it but they beat us pretty convincingly around the packs. They were constantly standing up in tackles and dishing it off, we were constantly doing the opposite. Even though the stats looked even they got the ball out away from the packs much more easily than we did tonight.

This. Aided by the bewilderingly lopsided HTB calls

Is it just the view from TV that guv seems to be going at half pace just to get through the game .. i don't see him accelerating and taking bodies putting speed on ball with some run and pin point passing

Fine. Lol. By your own admission you are a Dinosaur. Stop taking the pi**. We are all sick of it. Seriously.
Quick reset. Probably some kicking training, our disposal was poor at times. Kennedy won't be sub again. Hope Weits elbow is ok.

We're fine. Some fine-tuning and back into it. Should sort the Dogs easily. Seemed a bit slow throughout the game.
Easily account for the Dogs. 30 to 40pts like most years, going as far back as Bolton era.

But not convinced. We will see more fluctuations in form. Sydney and Collingwood will easily account for us in my estimation

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

Easily account for the Dogs. 30 to 40pts like most years, going as far back as Bolton era.

But not convinced. We will see more fluctuations in form. Sydney and Collingwood will easily account for us in my estimation

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk
Maybe. Swans up there is tough.

Biggest issue is we seem to have to work really hard to score goals when we're on top and when not concede them very easily. Not sure if that's gameplan or personel, probably both.

We were the better team in the 1st and 4th quarters plus half the 2nd but barely outscored them in that time. They were better in the 3rd and blew us away.

On the plus side Cerra is a serious player.

Another plus is I've started caring less when we lose though that is probably an indictment on the team. As a supporter who started watching in 03/04 this team has brought pretty much nothing but disappointment. Need to stop investing emotional energy into them.

I try to watch the match but it is hard. More fun scrolling through the meltdown on Twitter and here.

Pull yer head in mate. Jsos was top 5. Walsh, Weiters, H, Chaz, and the Skip were all well below in terms of output and effort. It's hard to watch when a sub plays a quarter and a bit and is in the best.
At least Jack never gives up. Same cannot be said for most of the others. Probably BOG to qtr time, spent time in more positions than a $5 wh%re and played them all with aplomb.

JSOS never gives up. That’s literally his best quality. Has footy smarts. But he’s slow, treacle slow. He double grabs or drops everything. He’s a third tall forward, his main job is to mark the footy. He’s absolutely not the only player in the firing line but if we are fair dinkum we need to move past him.

Pull yer head in mate. Jsos was top 5. Walsh, Weiters, H, Chaz, and the Skip were all well below in terms of output and effort. It's hard to watch when a sub plays a quarter and a bit and is in the best.
At least Jack never gives up. Same cannot be said for most of the others. Probably BOG to qtr time, spent time in more positions than a $5 wh%re and played them all with aplomb.
He butchered the ball almost every time he got it and dropped a whole heap of marks. Tries his heart out no doubt but he is simply not good enough.

Smells fishy with how we flicked the switch in the 4th quarter. Partly due to Brisbane’s effort dropping off but I’m starting to think we’re picking and choosing when to put in effort. I’ll get shot down for saying this but it wreaks of the Carlton of old trying to get a coach sacked. I’d love to be wrong but it’s starting to build that stench. As much as I’m not a huge fan of Voss, if that’s the case some of these players need to be shown the door.

Kicking down the line on numerous times to Durdin one out... our smallest player. With literally no one else at the drop of the ball. The mind boggles. That’s back to the Bolton era. Love Charlie but he’s too often setting up behind the defender trying to get the Joe the Goose type goal rather than leading at the ball carrier.

Kennedy sub.. madness. He should have started and the sub should have been someone with run.

Loved Cerra’s performance tonight. Hold your head high. Cincotta looks at the level. Not many other shining lights tonight unfortunately.

I’m too frustrated with the coaching and the players at the moment to add anything meaningful so I’ll leave it at that.
I just had a cuppa, and when I looked at the dregs the tea leaves said "WHY WOULD THESE PROFESSIONALS BE TRYING TO GET THE COACH SACKED IN ROUND 7? MANY OF THE LEADERS HAVE NOW PLAYED FOR THREE COACHES AND PUTTING ASIDE THE FACT THAT THOSE PLAYERS, INCLUDING THE CAPTAIN AND VICE CAPTAIN KNOW THIS HASN'T WORKED IN THE LAST DECADE, DESPITE WHAT SOME FANS MIGHT THINK THEY'RE NOT IDIOTS AND THEY WOULD HAVE TO KNOW THAT THERE AREN'T EXACTLY MANY TOP LINE COACHES KNOCKING AROUND LOOKING FOR WORK"

I was drinking from an enormous cup

(Yeah, I don't know why the tea leaves were shouting at me either)

A little perspective is required tonight - we’re all disappointed - but as I said look at the positives tonight - great game by Cerra to pick up some other midfield slack and Acres knocked up getting possessions - 33 of them at 75%.

As I said previously we’re playing a top four side and only lift by four goals - there is lots to work with - a few adjustments here and there and we’ll be fine.

Scoreboard flattered us, that 3rd qtr we couldn't hit a target to save ourselves, we just didn't handle the Lions pressure either

no the scoreboard flattered Brisbane - because they were gifted 4 goals
While the quicker ball movement looks more desirable, it doesn't suit our list against better sides, so prefer more tempo

This team cant play 'tempo' because for every half decent kick in teh team there is another shocker in the chain - that was the third quarter in a nutshell
Cerra was a clear standout, Hollands tried bloody hard

Cerra was great, jack Silvagni played his best game, Cincotta and Kempo were decent Newman cost three goals Young cost 4 and Weitering didn't get overrr his one clanger that cost a goal..Hollands ran out 4 quarters but was found out a few times which is to be expected in a first year player there was good stuff going on - but teh midfield set up with Walsh in CBB needs looking at - and Walsh needs to learn how to kick a ball and stop demanding it aaat the wrong time,..,I could go on..
Kennedy just has to be a starter next week

H will start as soon as he is fiot to play 4 quarters
Cripps needs to be on the move more. Stick Walsh on a wing, Acres more inside
Cripps is not 100% - yes hide Walsh where he can use his run and make sure he either kicks long or doesn't kick at all to he can - he cost us a lot in this game
Subbing Young was just bizarre, when you could have sent him forward instead

Nope Young played like a week scared goose and cost too many goals doing - worst game Ive seen him play
Small forwards kicking goals and laying tackles is great, but being first to the ball is probably more important

Forward structure has been an issue all year
Still need more speed and grunt, find spots for Cotts and Boyd, we are better for it
no comment

It's not players trying to get the coach sacked - they are playing Voss' game plan and it's rubbish. Half the team aseem totally devoid of confidence because the game plan is flawed. It is rubbish, we can all see it, the players can see it but Voss and co are welded to play slow, kick long down the line, turnover, rinse repeat.

Last week was a circuit breaker but once the pressure came on tonight, they reverted to what they trained for the whole off-season, slow, measured buildups and then long kicks to a congested forward line. The plan is the problem and I doubt this coaching panel has the ability to rework it mid season.

On 2201116PG using BigFooty.com mobile app
Voss cant coach destroyed Brisbane third best option and we got him l personally tjink he was behind Kingsley but got the gig. I have no ideacwhat they saw in him seriously
Build me up just to tear me down..

Carlton is Tucker's daughter...
The premierships are just a memory

We're fine. Some fine-tuning and back into it. Should sort the Dogs easily. Seemed a bit slow throughout the game.
I agree, more players and supporters need to jump on board because there was something there in that 4th quarter we can build on. That was truly the first time I’ve ever seen us play the turnover game with some great method. Brisbane did well to stop it eventually.

Autopsy 2023 Rd 8 Mediocre Blues gone after Quarter time