News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

Just Looking at Hoyney's Weekly Wrap this week, he goes into the reasons why the premiership race is the most open it has been in years.

About us, he mentioned that
"If you’re St Kilda and what they’re going to do come finals time, there’s no team that struggles to convert entries into scores more this year. That at some stage will be their undoing."

The main thing I look at, is we've probably had the most inexperienced and unsettled forward line of any team in the comp this season. We've had Max and Skunk play together once! which was incidentally was our best 4 qtr performance for the year.

So yes it's a concern, but I feel it's something much easier to fix than your defence, and our defence is 2nd in the league.
If you're a team that struggles defensively then that's a huge concern going into a finals campaign when games get tighter.

For Saints, I'm much more concerned about our midfield firing than our forward line.
The reverse could also be true.

"If you’re St Kilda and what they’re going to do come finals time, there’s no team that struggles to convert entries into scores more this year. At some stage that may change and it will be the undoing of their opponents."

Speed of ball movement is the key to our I50 efficiency rate.

Good on them. They look like they are making food out of a retro cookbook but absolutely fantastic effort. People who put their time in at clubs are the real club, not the paid administrators that come in to * everything up.
Some of my best recipes are out of the likes of CWA and Women's Weekly cookbooks

Don't forget cookery the australian way

I make biscuits and slices out of the CWA books

My grandma had all of those, she was from an era of rolled ham slices with a toothpick holding a green olive, mini pickled-onion and cheese square type set up. Somehow they managed to make the world's most unappetising food even more unappetising with they way they presented it. She used to do little curried egg boats with a viking sail on a toothpick. Even the thought makes me want to spew. My wife loved all the shit Aussie desserts though. I like all her family's euro cakes.

Jack Sinclair 3AW Sunday Football:

I'd say McRae and Kingsley would have a strong case

Both have much better lists IMO. What Ross has achieved with the list available is outstanding. We had most of the side made up of kids and depth. Our forward line had barely played footy let alone together. One week we had Butler as our only forward that had played more than 9 games at the start of the year and several had none. Our midfield was decimated with an already barely a decent set up to begin with.

Billings, King, Jones, Ross, Gresham, Steele, Membrey, Coffield, Ross, Clark, Hill, Hayes, Snags, McKenzie, Paton, Windhager, Owens, Howard, Webster, Battle all lost games through injury. Then we had suspensions as well and guys like Steele and Wood playing sore.

Geelong reckon injury cost them the season off a flag. Our list profile age and experience wise looked more like West Coast and North. WC had an older more experienced set up than us when they got smacked by a ridiculous amount.

Collingwood have something like 17 guys that were on the list from 2017 and most are stars. We have hardly any and they are mostly GOPs.

Kingsley has taken over a side still stacked with talent.

Brad Crouch (55:18)

Cal Wilkie (34:00)

Looking back at the 'Expert's' tips from the past 2 seasons there's a common theme.

in 2022, no one predicted Collingwood to finish higher than 14th. They finished 4th

In 2023 those same experts predicted us to finish no higher than 13th. Were currently 6th.

Like in all honesty, i expected us to finish between 6th and 10th, but how were we ever going to finish bottom 4 when blind freddy could see West Coast, North and Hawks were almost certainties to be there.

The media are always the last people to cotton on to how well a team or player is going, barring a few pundits.

To me, this actually gives me more confidence than ever in where we're heading over the next 2-3 years.