News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

Fans who are that pathetic don't deserve either a premiership or a club sorry.

I know you are probably joking, but there are fans who have given up on the club but then will probably jump back on if the Saints ever do march in.

We have the opportunity to build as a force and the club are doing what they can, but our supposed fanbase is a bloody myth, our cheer squad are a bunch of churchmice and we never get decent crowds. Even the anniversary game against the Dons, let's face it, the crowd numbers were barely acceptable for such an occasion.

Like it or lump it Kane Cornes is right. Bitterly disappointing.
I kind of agree, but at the same time there's a few factors which go into it. I'd love to go but live in country VIC so no chance of getting there.

1. Our record against Port is historically terrible. Literally our biggest bogie side of all time for whatever reason.
2. It's a lot easier to get to a Saturday night/Sunday 1pm game for most people. Especially those who don't live in Melbourne.
3. Trust. Yes we've been winning, but we were in the same situation this time last year and the wheels fell off completely (I personally feel this year is a lot different) were much better, but a lot of fans, and ones I talk to still expect the wheels to fall off again.
4. The only time we've played finals in the last 11 years just so happened to be a COVID lockdown year where literally no one could go watch and we went back to mediocrity a year later.

People will start consistently rocking up once finals looks an almost certainty. So if this game had been played in Round 17 instead of round 7 then i believe there wouldve been 35k rock up not 25k

I reckon it’s trust issues. Most still don’t feel like the side will definitely show up after the last 12 years. I nearly got my wife to a game and when she checked the score she was gloating about her smart choices were . If we’d won I reckon she would have come to the next game. Probably need a few wins now.
That’s right. Now it’s the whole “last year we were 5-1 and played port in round 7 and then lost everything else before crashing out of finals contention”

I kind of agree, but at the same time there's a few factors which go into it. I'd love to go but live in country VIC so no chance of getting there.

1. Our record against Port is historically terrible. Literally our biggest bogie side of all time for whatever reason.
2. It's a lot easier to get to a Saturday night/Sunday 1pm game for most people. Especially those who don't live in Melbourne.
3. Trust. Yes we've been winning, but we were in the same situation this time last year and the wheels fell off completely (I personally feel this year is a lot different) were much better, but a lot of fans, and ones I talk to still expect the wheels to fall off again.
4. The only time we've played finals in the last 11 years just so happened to be a COVID lockdown year where literally no one could go watch and we went back to mediocrity a year later.

People will start consistently rocking up once finals looks an almost certainty. So if this game had been played in Round 17 instead of round 7 then i believe there wouldve been 35k rock up not 25k
Oh man I had so many saints fans come out of the woodwork in 2020 just after we made finals! Atmosphere was great and winning a final was like a dream.

Not many out and about since 2021. Hoping we can attract them back to the footy soon

Yeah tbh I’ve never been a big “Friday night footy rules or Sunday sucks” person. Sunday is an easy time to get the train up and watch footy. Saturday arvo the best
I'm right with you, Hard day at work then footy or a relaxing morning then off to the footy. I have always loved the 3:20 time slot either Saturday or Sunday

I have always loved the 3:20 time slot either Saturday or Sunday
Back “in the day” of reserves teams and in effect a double header, arriving at the ground at 1:30ish for the 2:20 start to the main game. Last 1/4 of the 2’s, a break for a refreshment and then the big clash. It made an afternoon at the football a magic time!

I hear you about the trains, it's a joke that the public transport infrastructure is so poor for a town that used to be the envy of most of the world in that area.

It's time for the AFL to revisit having curtain raiser games, reserves, AFLW, ammo games, whatever - reward supporters who make the trip a bit more.

It's not like the old days where people went to the footy because it was the only entertainment around; you're competing with the convenience of the Internet now, make it something people can't get off a screen.

Tasmanian team will have priority access to Riewoldts sons.

jennifer lawrence middle finger GIF

Not really. Turns out that they can bid on the kid and then the kid themself gets to choose which team.

But I'm sure the AFL will do something to make sure St Kilda remains devoid of father/sons
We should be so lucky that they play Aussie footy instead of American football.

We’re not Richmond or Collingwood and there’s a reason why we always played Port everywhere but Melbourne. Not sure what they expect.

In saying that though there’s nothing better than going to the footy when it’s raining knowing you’re going to be under a roof. Not even the slightest bit cold. The best.

Just read in some story on how the Lions are just scratching the surface , well if they can't get it together by now there is something terrible wrong when they have had not had to deal with many injuries - imagine if they have a couple to key players injuried.

Where we are missing the key link to the forward line and have been having to rely on small forwards to scrap for goals.
The media are under estimating how pivotal King will be when coming back.
Having a contested marker who is rated in the last couple season close to the best around is going to open the flood gates to the other forwards - massive in for this team - will automatically add more goals.
He showed in 15 minutes of football last year how he can change a game and win it.

We have played above expectations but when we get a few more seasoned bodies back I fully expect we will move up a couple gears.

Having Webster , Billings , King , Jones and McKenzie back all with in 3 weeks is going to really put pressure on selectors.

This week we just have to win and even we are playing a football team that are being flogged , all games are not easy and all I'm hoping for is we just sharpen up and slip Billings into the fold to add a bit more spine when going into the forward line.

Just get everyone in the zone and playing to the game plan - Membery is only back in the fold , Steele is really still getting back to full fitness and bringing Billings will be good because they can work to get back to full form to really have a good crack at being in the top 4 at end of year.

I hear you about the trains, it's a joke that the public transport infrastructure is so poor for a town that used to be the envy of most of the world in that area.

It's time for the AFL to revisit having curtain raiser games, reserves, AFLW, ammo games, whatever - reward supporters who make the trip a bit more.

It's not like the old days where people went to the footy because it was the only entertainment around; you're competing with the convenience of the Internet now, make it something people can't get off a screen.

We sold our transport system to the French.