News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

I suspect there may be some truth in saying that the average Saints fan lives further from our home ground than other teams, making it hard to get to. Our heartland in the south-eastern suburbs is much more sprawling than the northern or western suburbs, for example.

Also, with where our supporter base is located we really should be playing at the MCG (understand why we don't).
Lol the two grounds are 5.5 kms apart.
I am traveling from SA to see the game on Sunday, an I was there rd.1, 3,, 5 and 6. granted 5 was in SA lol.

Really the club should be facilitating supporter buses in and out from Moorabbin or lobbying vic gov for dedicated train services if they want crowd numbers to rise

Government gave the rail network to a group that looks mostly Chinese owned years ago. Most of that contracting doesn't allow you to run competition against their services.

Tram services are operated by the French. Busses are broken up in a lot of smaller companies but are mostly unreliable here because it's not the most lucrative.

Like everywhere privation has basically run all the infrastructure down and they will crash the system until the government has to come in and replace it all for them for a minimal outlay while all the profits head off-shore. Old Jeff Kennett told us it would be cheaper and more efficient though so we just have to wait for that to start filtering through now.

I am traveling from SA to see the game on Sunday, an I was there rd.1, 3,, 5 and 6. granted 5 was in SA lol.

Spencer Street (Southern Cross) is very central for people from all across Melbourne. Richmond is closer to the south east suburbs which is our heart land for supporters.

I'm in Caulfield North and find Marvel easier to get to. It took me ages to get home from the 150 match at the G but that was probably due to the huge crowd.

Spencer Street (Southern Cross) is very central for people from all across Melbourne. Richmond is closer to the south east suburbs which is our heart land for supporters.

I'm in Caulfield North and find Marvel easier to get to. It took me ages to get home from the 150 match at the G but that was probably due to the huge crowd.
It's probably because the only way home for us from Richmond is on the train or in a cab, whereas from the city there's also trams that can take us to our area.

Not to mention I think there's less platforms available to people in our area from Richmond than from the city.

Roo moved to Queensland when he was young and wasn't mentioned in that article, perhaps you have to at least have played footy in Tassie for your kids to qualify
Riewoldt wouldn't move 50ks to be eligible for Brisbane. Wouldn't worry too much.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I stay in Glen Waverly when I come over.
The train to Spencer street is either next stop or train trains for next stop and the walk from Richmond station to the MGC is equivalent to Southern Cross to Marvel, that's my experience.

Genuinely believe having a s**t footy team growing up makes you a better person. Humble and exposed to disappointment
And then pretty broken, dispirited and disillusioned by the time you hit your mid 40s.
I wonder how many of us give our mates the exact same look when they say, "Don't worry mate, the Saints'll win one one day."

Shane f'ing Warne. Born, lived and died. Didn't f'ing happen, did it?

But yeah, I do agree, it made me a better person in my 20s and 30s. If we ever win one, I'll be a great bloke for an off season and a round or two.

And then pretty broken, dispirited and disillusioned by the time you hit your mid 40s.
I wonder how many of us give our mates the exact same look when they say, "Don't worry mate, the Saints'll win one one day."

Shane f'ing Warne. Born, lived and died. Didn't f'ing happen, did it?

But yeah, I do agree, it made me a better person in my 20s and 30s. If we ever win one, I'll be a great bloke for an off season and a round or two.

Yeah I've had enough character building now. I'm overdosed. They haven't won a premiership in my lifetime and I don't even feel like it will ever actually happen if I'm honest. They are more a burden than a source of enjoyment.

I think something broke in the club and fanbase after 09 and 10. It certainly hasn't been the same for me since. I was so absolutely certain we would win 09 and just couldn't believe we threw that flag away and then to be so close in 10 and for it not happen was a bit too much TBH. Excacerbated by our 10 year malaise and the bitterness of seeing the Dogs get handed a flag but the umps, Richmond get 3 flags against average opponents and finally Melbourne who had the AFL step in to fix the club.

That's why people don't turn up anymore, the trust is just gone and it's too painful to put yourself out there and buy in. I think it'll take a genuine premiership run (make a granny) or a sustained 5 years plus period of contention to bring people back. The vibe is very different at games now compared to the nineties and noughts when I was growing up. The best game I've been to since 2010 was probably the 150 game at the G early this year, seemed like a lot of people came out of the woodwork and it was just an enjoyable night.

I think something broke in the club and fanbase after 09 and 10. It certainly hasn't been the same for me since. I was so absolutely certain we would win 09 and just couldn't believe we threw that flag away and then to be so close in 10 and for it not happen was a bit too much TBH. Excacerbated by our 10 year malaise and the bitterness of seeing the Dogs get handed a flag but the umps, Richmond get 3 flags against average opponents and finally Melbourne who had the AFL step in to fix the club.

That's why people don't turn up anymore, the trust is just gone and it's too painful to put yourself out there and buy in. I think it'll take a genuine premiership run (make a granny) or a sustained 5 years plus period of contention to bring people back. The vibe is very different at games now compared to the nineties and noughts when I was growing up. The best game I've been to since 2010 was probably the 150 game at the G early this year, seemed like a lot of people came out of the woodwork and it was just an enjoyable night.
Yeah there is some truth to this. Watching so many flags won against woeful competition in the last 10 years is just deflating. Hawks blew away west coast and Sydney. Richmond came up against 3 very weak opponents, Dogs fell away hard against Melbourne, Sydney didnt even put up a light breeze of resistance against Geelong.

We however had Geelong who was one of the top 3 strongest sides of all time and an absolutely dominant Collingwood to face up to and both went down to the wire and two extremely unlucky plays handed to us and the "unfairness" of it just creeps in on you.

We stayed over the road from the dome one year and walked to the game at the G

Soft over there they are

Really the club should be facilitating supporter buses in and out from Moorabbin or lobbying vic gov for dedicated train services if they want crowd numbers to rise

Been saying it for decades really, SE Melb Magic organised bus' for people on my end to get to stadium to go. Central place, multiple bus', my arse adorned one of those seats and I had no previous or current shits to what was the NBL at the time. I stopped going cause frankly, my knees are shit, I can barely get out of bed as it is so stairs are goddamn scary, especially narrow ones.

I do it to go to recitals, cause I love orchestral music and their seats are padded and they serve alcohol for the performances and it's also heated. But Marvel, ever since they closed it off from the bridge side all I get is it's just cold, unwelcoming, I preferred getting stuck in mud at Waverley to what Marvel currently is.

We need people to show up, I'm not making the effort as man, I'm in a padded chair, I have heat compress' on my legs, I'm staring at a 55' and I am goddamn comfy with a short walk to a fridge. I'm not getting my arse to sit in that seat, but if I could just pay to get on a bus, chill, step off at Marvel, sit and then bus back, I'm there. gain, my last recital was impacted by train line closures so went train + bus + train and took about 1hr 30 due to it all, as it was a bus, I just had a nap as high back chair.

I'm also positive I'm not the only one with health things that just make sitting on my arse the better alternative to braving the public transport system with several thousand others in todays climate.

Also in the Caulfield area - I drive with a friend and park at the DFO at Southern Cross station.
A couple of dollars more than the train would cost but so much easier.

Been saying it for decades really, SE Melb Magic organised bus' for people on my end to get to stadium to go. Central place, multiple bus', my arse adorned one of those seats and I had no previous or current shits to what was the NBL at the time. I stopped going cause frankly, my knees are s**t, I can barely get out of bed as it is so stairs are goddamn scary, especially narrow ones.

I do it to go to recitals, cause I love orchestral music and their seats are padded and they serve alcohol for the performances and it's also heated. But Marvel, ever since they closed it off from the bridge side all I get is it's just cold, unwelcoming, I preferred getting stuck in mud at Waverley to what Marvel currently is.

We need people to show up, I'm not making the effort as man, I'm in a padded chair, I have heat compress' on my legs, I'm staring at a 55' and I am goddamn comfy with a short walk to a fridge. I'm not getting my arse to sit in that seat, but if I could just pay to get on a bus, chill, step off at Marvel, sit and then bus back, I'm there. gain, my last recital was impacted by train line closures so went train + bus + train and took about 1hr 30 due to it all, as it was a bus, I just had a nap as high back chair.

I'm also positive I'm not the only one with health things that just make sitting on my arse the better alternative to braving the public transport system with several thousand others in todays climate.
If the games were played at the mcg in the middle of winter I wouldn't be going. I like Marvel alot. Easy to get to, easy to park, undercover. Cheap parking for only $6 in the evenings. What more can u want

Frankston line is a joke aswell. Took me two hours to get home from marvel.

This is the reason now, 9/10, I as a relatively young bloke opts to drive to the the footy as there’s nothing worse than trying to get a train after the footy.

Legitimately don’t understand how after the games there isn’t just train after train for the next 30 minutes to get people moving.

Have trains that runs express to Moorabbin or one of those stations past it just to get it moving and those living further out can also get home quicker and less people cramped.

This is the reason now, 9/10, I as a relatively young bloke opts to drive to the the footy as. there’s nothing worse than trying to get a train after the footy.

Legitimately don’t understand how after the games there isn’t just train after train for the next 30 minutes to get people moving.

Have trains that runs express to Moorabbin or one of those stations past it just to get it moving and those living further out can also get home quicker and less people cramped.
I drive from Heidelberg. Much easier, I found cheap parking at less that $6 with maybe a 10 minute walk at the most.

This is the reason now, 9/10, I as a relatively young bloke opts to drive to the the footy as there’s nothing worse than trying to get a train after the footy.

Totally agree. Madness.