News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

Was a pisspoor turnout on Friday night. Saw so many fans at the mcg vs Essendon. Come every week lads. It’s a great vibe when we are about and about. I get that footy can be expensive but there’s cheaper ways around it!
Rebuilding trust takes time. Not everyone is as rusted on as we are, and after 11 years of mediocrity you can't really blame them.

We need to show we're consistently good before people jump back on.

I honestly don’t think fans will show up until we win a flag. Or like 1-2 games before
Fans who are that pathetic don't deserve either a premiership or a club sorry.

I know you are probably joking, but there are fans who have given up on the club but then will probably jump back on if the Saints ever do march in.

We have the opportunity to build as a force and the club are doing what they can, but our supposed fanbase is a bloody myth, our cheer squad are a bunch of churchmice and we never get decent crowds. Even the anniversary game against the Dons, let's face it, the crowd numbers were barely acceptable for such an occasion.

Like it or lump it Kane Cornes is right. Bitterly disappointing.

I know you are probably joking, but there are fans who have given up on the club but then will probably jump back on if the Saints ever do march in.

We have the opportunity to build as a force and the club are doing what they can, but our supposed fanbase is a bloody myth, our cheer squad are a bunch of churchmice and we never get decent crowds. Even the anniversary game against the Dons, let's face it, the crowd numbers were barely acceptable for such an occasion.

Whether people like it or not people want to back winners. It applies not just in Footy but to all sports really.

KANE SLAMS SAINTS FOR NOT ROCKING UP
As great as it would have been to be pushing 30k, it was also the largest crowd we've had for a home game against Port. It shows how far back we are coming from with attendances without the other club's supporters filling the stadium and why this is the match-up that was either sold or always scheduled as a Port home game.

I would say 80% of supporter bases jump on and off depending on the teams performance. To call them pathetic is strange.

I’m only half joking but I wish I wasn’t. I just don’t see us catapulting up into genuine blockbuster numbers. A grand final will be a grand final and thousands will come out of the woodwork for that. The year after we win one tons will sign up as members and we’ll break records. We just need to win one to build up our crowds.

Every club has its plastic supporters. If we get 60-70k a week after we win a flag and 30k (more than we get now) is die hard passionate ones and 30k is bandwagoners who cares

I would say 80% of supporter bases jump on and off depending on the teams performance. To call them pathetic is strange.
And these days it's harder to bring people back. Why go to the footy to see your team probably lose? You can stay at home with a beer and turn it off or do something else. It's not like footy has a captive audience these days.

And when we are given crap time slots like 4.40 Sunday we complain
Funnily enough, I can and do get to all the crappy time slot games, but I can’t go Friday nights 😖

Rebuilding trust takes time. Not everyone is as rusted on as we are, and after 11 years of mediocrity you can't really blame them.

We need to show we're consistently good before people jump back on.
Yep, they’re not all Diehards 😎

Was a pisspoor turnout on Friday night. Saw so many fans at the mcg vs Essendon. Come every week lads. It’s a great vibe when we are about and about. I get that footy can be expensive but there’s cheaper ways around it!

I reckon it’s trust issues. Most still don’t feel like the side will definitely show up after the last 12 years. I nearly got my wife to a game and when she checked the score she was gloating about her smart choices were . If we’d won I reckon she would have come to the next game. Probably need a few wins now.

Of course there are. You’d have to be an idiot to invest so much time and energy into the Saints in the down times. We can’t be choosy. We just have to lipstick up the pig and hope to trick some back in.

We need an audit of Kane Cornes.

It's pretty stupid of him to compare us to West Coast, they are the most popular team in a 2 team city of 2 million people, of course they will get bigger crowds to their home games than we will regardless of where they are on the ladder.

On top of that Carlton would have a decent supporter base over there unlike Port over here

There’s only a small proportion of *******s like us who show up for misery, pain and suffering week in week ouy

There's also perhaps a decent percentage who live rurally, have particular commitments, have access or disability issues, or like myself, simply cannot afford to show up each week.

Our club gets fairly poor crowd attendances, that's a fact currently.
Trust in the club is one thing but there a number of factors to remember, and I guarantee there are lots of us out there who would love to go but just can't for one reason or another - even if to show up for the 'pain and misery' each week.

Regardless, for those of us that can, make your voices heard and show up in droves. Nothing better than seeing and hearing a big Saints crowd.

I suspect there may be some truth in saying that the average Saints fan lives further from our home ground than other teams, making it hard to get to. Our heartland in the south-eastern suburbs is much more sprawling than the northern or western suburbs, for example.

Also, with where our supporter base is located we really should be playing at the MCG (understand why we don't).

It was pissing down rain.
The Monash was rooted inbound... As was everywhere else.
Trains were also having issues.

It was a bugger of a game to get to.
And it was a bugger getting home from the game........one of my group didn't get home till 1.00 am.

I was hoping for a crowd of near 30K........about 2.30 pm it was getting very dark in the west.......I thought......"there goes the 30K ".......I'm in the inner south east.

Sure enough.....when I went to go out the door....down came the rain.....was going to meet some people in the CBD for dinner.......when we came out of the pub at 7 pm....the rain had finally stopped and it was much more colder.

One lady in our row said there's no trains after 11 pm....,,,what???????.......sure enough....when I was heading to the Sandringham platform at Flinders St just before 11 pm.......... people were streaming towards me..."no Trains I asked" yep !!!!!!

It was absolute chaos and confusion on the concourse.......the trams heading South were packed like sardines....I eventually got home just after midnight.....it was the icing on the s#it cake !!!!!!!!

As for the crowd........our bay in 39 ....ground floor.....along with the ones either side were the fullest that they had been all season......and the place was heaving when we were kicking goals....best noise I've heard in a while.