Darragh Joyce41RK1231550264
Noah Answerth43INT67134001.0 644
Henry Smith25HFFL751221253.0 1889
Kalin Lane45RR291101710.1 145
Darcy Fort32FPL167115238
Darryl McDowell-White50R43730235
Elijah Glass0INT40420330
Shadeau Brain34FF1010014
Those tackle numbers seem extremely low - was it just because Coburg didn't get near it?

Just crossed checked the tackle numbers with the AFL/VFL site and 34 is correct.
Lions 34 to Coburg 49
I was unable to watch this one so can't answer your last bit.
Coburg are bottom of the ladder so i expect they struggle to get enough of the ball each week.

Not sure I’d have Smith ahead of Lane.

Really need to watch them in a VFL game where Fort is out.
Smith is only getting a very small amount of Ruck minutes at the moment but when he does he is a very smart tap ruckman.
I don’t mind both of them (Smith and Lane) and I think 1 will be ready to step up if and when required if Fort does move on, not that I think at this stage it is expected.
If there was a mid season trade period, I think Fort would have been a pretty good target for Collingwood right now.
As much as that pains me to say.

Just crossed checked the tackle numbers with the AFL/VFL site and 34 is correct.
Lions 34 to Coburg 49
I was unable to watch this one so can't answer your last bit.
Coburg are bottom of the ladder so i expect they struggle to get enough of the ball each week.
Coburg were moving the ball very quick by hand and foot at times which makes it hard to lay effective tackles.
They turned the ball over frequently so the turnover numbers would have been very high I would presume.
Tackle numbers not so much.

If there was a mid season trade period, I think Fort would have been a pretty good target for Collingwood right now.
As much as that pains me to say.
That’s okay, we will just ask for Nick Daicos in return ;)

That will show Collingwood who’s in charge of the trade talks now.

Blake Coleman seems to be developing quite well. He had a few excellent moments, including a couple of powerful centre clearances. I think he might be a less skilled kick than his brother but possibly a little more explosive with ball in hand.

Tunstill also looks impressive and perhaps with time has the potential to make it at the top level.

I can see some raids coming or other clubs at least asking questions regarding:

Robertson
Lohmann
Answerth
Fullarton
Blake Coleman
Henry Smith
Lane
Prior
Tunstill
Fort

I think most of them could find a home at another club, either as best 22-ish players at struggling clubs or developing/backup players at stronger clubs. The attraction would be more opportunities for most of these guys.

I would like to think we can hold on to most but a couple a least would surely feel it is time to move on.

With Zorko, Rich, Gunston and possibly Lester close to the end there will be at least some attraction to staying.
If they are fair dinkum about developing players they should have Blake either playing off half back or on a wing. All his Colts footy he played both positions very well where he can use his skill and running angles similar to his brother.

Wasted just playing deep every week.

If they are fair dinkum about developing players they should have Blake either playing off half back or on a wing. All his Colts footy he played both positions very well where he can use his skill and running angles similar to his brother.

Wasted just playing deep every week.

Needs the fitness to play said roles mate.

He has done 3 x AFL preseasons surely that is an issue for Lions to address if he isn’t fit enough by now?
Some players just do not have the genetic predisposition to a level of endurance needed to play certain roles no matter how much they train eg, Rhys Mathieson has trained his absolute butt off for multiple seasons and still struggles endurance wise with the 2 way running required to be a decent AFL level midfielder. Probably why Daniel Rich was never a midfielder.

Pretty Sure Rich didn't become a midfielder because he kept getting tagged and didn't have the burst to initially get seperation from the tagger. Went to HB to escape the attention.

He has done 3 x AFL preseasons surely that is an issue for Lions to address if he isn’t fit enough by now?

Pre season 1: came back very unfit

Pre season 2: had a heap of health issues and was in hospital

Pre season 3: his first real pre season and having his best season to date.

Honestly I do wonder if it’s genetic. Kiddy still has issues running out games. It wouldn't surprise me that it runs in the family
Even with them playing different positions, Keidan has a point of difference compared to his younger brother in that his kicking is elite and already is / will be Rich’s long-term replacement in the team at the end of 2023. While Blake has been unlucky with pre-season injury and fitness issues, we have plenty of small forwards more capable to perform those roles in our AFL side than Blake will ever achieve at AFL level sadly.

I personally believe the main reason why we chose Blake so highly in the draft after Collingwood bidded on him in the first round (bastards) other than his underage year he had but also because Keidan becoming a flight risk and could his brother at Collingwood if that occurred, after all Keidan did mention just last week that he was a Collingwood supporter as a kid so maybe the club took the safe route with choosing his younger brother just like it has done countless times under Fages watch.

Even with them playing different positions, Keidan has a point of difference compared to his younger brother in that his kicking is elite and already is / will be Rich’s long-term replacement in the team at the end of 2023. While Blake has been unlucky with pre-season injury and fitness issues, we have plenty of small forwards more capable to perform those roles in our AFL side than Blake will ever achieve at AFL level sadly.

I personally believe the main reason why we chose Blake so highly in the draft after Collingwood bidded on him in the first round (bastards) other than his underage year he had but also because Keidan becoming a flight risk and could his brother at Collingwood if that occurred, after all Keidan did mention just last week that he was a Collingwood supporter as a kid so maybe the club took the safe route with choosing his younger brother just like it has done countless times under Fages watch.

Blake has a lot of talent. If he can get up to Kiddys level of fitness and hone in on his craft, I wouldn't be surprised to see him take a big step forward. May not make it in the AFL, but has the raw talent to do so.

Harry Arnold has nominated for the mid season draft.

18 players nominated for 18 month contracts. Don't have a full list of those players, so I do not know if Arnold is one.
I'll be spewing if we lose Harry after deciding to go with Joyce who isnt half the player Harry is - one of the rare times our list team could have made the wrong decision but selfishly fingers crossed Harry doesnt get selected.