Pick 1

• Finn O'Sullivan

• Sam Lalor

• Jagga Smith

Results are only viewable after voting.

Who is it that said he was like plugger
There's no name to it

Poster named Quigley who did the mock draft.
I'm pretty sure my second link shows the entire mock draft which was very detailed.

The 2009 draft was the last time I did follow the draft relatively closely and it's funny how it's panned out.
John Butcher at the time was lauded to be the next KF sensation and that never translated to AFL level.
Kane Lucas & Bastinac were some of the standout next tier mids accumulators who ended up having solid careers but not the level they were talked up to be.

In hindsight it was a pretty solid draft littered with some absolute stars of the game (Martin, Fyfe & Gawn)

I like the idea of taking a key forward but Armstrong ain't it. I was once a champion chf myself so I know these things. Shanahan is the guy, yes he lacks a bit of mongrel and he's not the sharpest tool in the shed, but how smart do you need to be to play football anyway. I think he'll turn out fine with a bit of confidence and experience.

You were centre half bench at best, mate

Poster named Quigley who did the mock draft.
I'm pretty sure my second link shows the entire mock draft which was very detailed.

The 2009 draft was the last time I did follow the draft relatively closely and it's funny how it's panned out.
John Butcher at the time was lauded to be the next KF sensation and that never translated to AFL level.
Kane Lucas & Bastinac were some of the standout next tier mids accumulators who ended up having solid careers but not the level they were talked up to be.

In hindsight it was a pretty solid draft littered with some absolute stars of the game (Martin, Fyfe & Gawn)
Quigley lol

I am against trading up to get a particular midfielder in the top 6 when they are all so similar in quality.
We don’t know how the club rate them. You may be right. If we push for pick 2 we’ll then know what the club thinks.

I remember at the time of drafting Griffiths people were saying he had similar traits to Lockett 🤨
Funny how people have said that with his build Lockett wouldn’t get a game these days.

I get the feeling he could have adapted.

IMG_3481.jpeg

The advantage of using an early pick on a KPF (that hits) means you don’t need to worry and burn future picks attempting to get one

So if Armstrong is going to be AFL quality we should take him so we don’t end up in the position the Kangroos are in now where they’re possibly doing poor trades to try and balance their list to get KPPs
• Just grab a free agent. We can afford to overpay on wages.

• The problem is that the Kangas aren’t a destination club.

Really good conversation here being had about the difficulty of developing a top gun KPF

It just emphasizes why the free agency must be utilized and no expense spared when going after a gun KPF like Cadman (trade) & JUH as a free agent.

We will have banked a massive amount of cap space 2025 and beyond and this is where we need to spend our chips
Let Cadman know we have big $$$$ waiting for him when he is out of contract end of 2026 8 years $10 mil
JUH do the same as a free agent when he becomes available and even Sam Darcy

We can accumulate mids to build the team and finish it off with the known fowards like the above
This does not mean ignore KPP talent available but dont rely on them to be the Saviour when ready
Totally agree. I'm sure the list managers are all over this.

But what a lot (everyone) aren't factoring in is that we can chase players that are contracted.

Rioli and Bolton are perfect examples.

We will have the funds and draft capital to target any player that we can entice to the club.

Honestly dude the desperation is embarrassing.. you're like a Gray st hooker near sunrise trying to get anyone to pay for her mangy bits ..
Just take pick 2 to the draft and get a good night's sleep
..you'll respect yourself so much more in the morning
lol I needed a good laugh 😆

Exactly , if some peanut said best to just grab them as fa , mods ban em , an exercise in stupidity
Not really when you look at the recent flag winning teams
They have all acquired a key forward via fa or trade

Brisbane (Daniher)
Collingwood (McStay) (was injured but still acquired using the list strategy that won them the flag)
Geelong (Cameron)
Melbourne (Brown)
Richmond (Lynch)

Of course it isn’t easy but it’s clear that the best sides are the ones who can pull the trigger and get big key position forwards through the door from other clubs

How many quality key forwards actually hit the free agent market?

There was Lynch, Cameron (but he ended up costing a trade). I can’t really think of any others

Not many because clubs pay them what they’re worth.
Keep up with the times lads.

The world of acquiring players is going to be a vastly different landscape to what we're used to seeing.

Contracts mean diddly squat, look what happened with Rioli and Bolton.

Using next year as an example (which is too early for us to be buying players) We'll have two 1st round picks, the rules for future trading have changed where we can trade up to 2 years of future picks so add another two 1st round picks. We'll have a massive amount of cap space that we can use to purchase further picks, maybe another 1st rounder.

So a conservative assessment would see us having access to 5 x 1st round picks next year and a war chest of $5m+

As of next year clubs will be able to bank 10% of their salary cap for 3 years rather than the current 5% for 2 years, how freaking huge would our war chest then be? The timing couldn't be better with Tassie pillaging the draft and uncontracted players from 2027.

I have no doubt that our club has a very good handle on where our list rebuild will be come 2027, all of this angst and wringing of hands over this current draft will be long forgotten when we attack the market with an arsenal that no other club is in, or has ever been in, a position to amass.

How many quality key forwards actually hit the free agent market?

There was Lynch, Cameron (but he ended up costing a trade). I can’t really think of any others

Buddy and Daniher

KPF I can think that have been traded this century including a few washed up ones and others that didn’t meet potential

Carey
Fev
Ottens
Hall
Modra
Tarrant
Croad
Everett (probably more ruck)
Ryder (again more ruck)
Boyd
Patton
Vickery
T Cloak
Cam Mcarthy
Mitch Clarke
Cummings
Gerig
Josh Kennedy
Gunston
Luke Jackson (again probably more ruck)
Ben brown
McStay
Dixon
Hogan

Any other Tom Gross fans in here? Read somewhere he plays a bit like Rory Sloan. Like the look of his highlights.

If we take Lalor / Smilie / Reid with our first few picks, I wouldn’t hate us using one of our last two picks on Gross.

He strikes me as a player who will do the unheralded acts and could compliment those other names nicely. Really like the cut of his jib.

Anyone know what kind of athlete he is or how he tested at the combine? Maybe a Lambert time role is his go, appears to have clean hands
Watched him live, really liked his game. Very hard at the footy/man. Looks to be able to play as a genuine forward aswell

Keep up with the times lads.

The world of acquiring players is going to be a vastly different landscape to what we're used to seeing.

Contracts mean diddly squat, look what happened with Rioli and Bolton.

Using next year as an example (which is too early for us to be buying players) We'll have two 1st round picks, the rules for future trading have changed where we can trade up to 2 years of future picks so add another two 1st round picks. We'll have a massive amount of cap space that we can use to purchase further picks, maybe another 1st rounder.

So a conservative assessment would see us having access to 5 x 1st round picks next year and a war chest of $5m+

As of next year clubs will be able to bank 10% of their salary cap for 3 years rather than the current 5% for 2 years, how freaking huge would our war chest then be? The timing couldn't be better with Tassie pillaging the draft and uncontracted players from 2027.

I have no doubt that our club has a very good handle on where our list rebuild will be come 2027, all of this angst and wringing of hands over this current draft will be long forgotten when we attack the market with an arsenal that no other club is in, or has ever been in, a position to amass.
Would we consider offering 4 x r1 for cadman

We should have drafted a key forward in any of the last 3 years but didn't. It was obvious then that we needed a jack replacement and now we need a jack, and a lynch replacement.

Yet here we are with the greatest draft haul in a generation and we're saying to pass again?

And then we squander a flush draft hand next year to finally get one?

Would we consider offering 4 x r1 for cadman
musclyarms is the same height as cadman, more agile (beat FOS in agility at combine), follows up harder and is a much better kick at goal. has a leap, high forward IQ and can take a pack mark. why **** around?

We should have drafted a key forward in any of the last 3 years but didn't. It was obvious then that we needed a jack replacement and now we need a jack, and a lynch replacement.

Yet here we are with the greatest draft haul in a generation and we're saying to pass again?

And then we squander a flush draft hand next year to finally get one?
We've added Bauer, Lefau, Gray in that time and traded for Kozi. People aren't saying to not draft a key forward, they are saying to not restrict ourselves at draft time in search of a key forward.

If we have multiple picks next year we can chase players in the trade space that we deem as a need/priority like freo have done this year.

Jennifer Lawrence Ok GIF

List Mgmt. 2024 Draft - Post Trade Period Edition