Game Day 2024 Draftmatmas live celebration and melt thread

I could sort of understand whinging about Faull as a reach if he hadn’t kicked goals but he kicked plenty after recovering from a rough injury

Not sure there’s really anything to whinge about with that pick. If we’d gone small again and both he and Amstrong had been taken before our next selection the balance of our draft would have been significantly worse

Just watch the footage the guy loves cracking in, can find it and kick it.

He’s an animal great pick

Lets have a look at the highly rated KPF in this draft
Shannahan , JWhitlock , Armstrong , Faull , Sims

Armstrong was the highest rated and we got him
Then we had our choice of the next 2 of the remaining 4 and cherry picked the 2 we wanted and the other 2 went even later

Our recruiters would have done a mountain of work and forensically gone through every touch these boys had during the last 2 years of football.

Now its all about development and with Gray , Fawcett , Lefau , Sims , Armstrong , Faull all on our list
We need a really good KPF development coach to teach these kids the art of good foward play and not just leave it to an assistant coach.

We need a great specialist coach
Dermie , Lloyd anybody that is a specialist in the art of KPF craft

I would keep Lynch around after he retires. My first pick would have been Reiwoldt but he is now with Fox footy and then will be helping Tassie out. Lynch is a great forward and has an excellent footy mind. Would be perfect for our kids to learn from

Based on the 25 draft classes from 1995-2019...

Pick 1
200.1 avg. games
16% Premiership players (4)
40% All-Australians (10)
44% B&F Winners (11)
4% Brownlow Winners (1)
4% Norm Smith Winners (1)

Pick 7
155.9 avg. games
24% Premiership players (6)
32% All-Australians (8)
20% B&F Winners (5)
4% Brownlow Winners (1)

Pick 12
114.9 avg. games
20% Premiership players (5)
24% All-Australians (6)
16% B&F Winners (4)
4% Norm Smith Winners (1)
4% Coleman Medal Winners (1)

Pick 14
105.7 avg. games
16% Premiership players (4)
12% All-Australians (3)
4% B&F Winners (1)

Pick 21
86.7 avg. games
4% Premiership players (1)
8% All-Australians (2)
4% B&F Winners (1)
4% Brownlow Winners (1)

Pick 23
77.8 avg. games
8% Premiership players (2)
12% All-Australians (3)
12% B&F Winners (3)

Pick 28
80.4 avg. games
28% Premiership players (7)
8% All-Australians (2)
4% B&F Winners (1)

Pick 58
62.4 avg. games
12% Premiership Players (3)
8% All-Australians (2)
8% B&F Winners (2)
8% Brownlow Winners (2)

Edit: Dane Swan and Lachie Neale were both pick 58's.

Based on that we are about a 77% chance of getting at least 1 x AA player from those 8 across their careers.

My math skills are not good enough to tell you the odds of 2, 3, 4 selections etc…

Based on that we are about a 77% chance of getting at least 1 x AA player from those 8 across their careers.

My math skills are not good enough to tell you the odds of 2, 3, 4 selections etc…

I've got zero maths skills so I'm not sure what to make of it all. I see the following...

-Higher the pick the more career games played on average up to picks in the late teens.

-Pick 1's don't win as many flags probably because they're taken by struggling clubs.

-Pick 1's and 7's will win a higher proportion of individual honours like AA and B&F.

-Not much a difference in terms of eventual output from pick 20 to 30.

-It's highly unlikely but possible to pick up a gun even with pick 58.

-Results are a bit scewed due to the amateurism of the 90s. For example, the 1995 picks 7, 12 and 14 did not play a game at senior AFL level. Picks 23 and 28 from the same year played a total of 14 senior games. Pretty outrageous stats.

I could sort of understand whinging about Faull as a reach if he hadn’t kicked goals but he kicked plenty after recovering from a rough injury

Not sure there’s really anything to whinge about with that pick. If we’d gone small again and both he and Amstrong had been taken before our next selection the balance of our draft would have been significantly worse
Someone was on here weeks ago saying we were into him. I mean there's always bullshit artists on here but the tone was more believable than others. I was not surprised that we took him.

We just rorted the draft and there's guys sooking. Situation normal I suppose.

I would keep Lynch around after he retires. My first pick would have been Reiwoldt but he is now with Fox footy and then will be helping Tassie out. Lynch is a great forward and has an excellent footy mind. Would be perfect for our kids to learn from
Prob go and live in Sorrento

Someone was on here weeks ago saying we were into him. I mean there's always bullshit artists on here but the tone was more believable than others. I was not surprised that we took him.

We just rorted the draft and there's guys sooking. Situation normal I suppose.
Hicksy said way back we were keen

Lets have a look at the highly rated KPF in this draft
Shannahan , JWhitlock , Armstrong , Faull , Sims

Armstrong was the highest rated and we got him
Then we had our choice of the next 2 of the remaining 4 and cherry picked the 2 we wanted and the other 2 went even later

Our recruiters would have done a mountain of work and forensically gone through every touch these boys had during the last 2 years of football.

Now its all about development and with Gray , Fawcett , Lefau , Sims , Armstrong , Faull all on our list
We need a really good KPF development coach to teach these kids the art of good foward play and not just leave it to an assistant coach.

We need a great specialist coach
Dermie , Lloyd anybody that is a specialist in the art of KPF craft

Under rated comment. As nice as Caracalla is to have, he’s a match day coach, we need top line development coaches.

Depends what the Tassie 2026 draft concessions are
Doubt it will be anything.

Otherwise a kid would have to sit out a year..

If it's same as GC & GWS they'll get to sign guys born Jan-Apr of the 2027 draft cohort a year early and develop them.

2026 should be like the Dusty draft and 2027 like the Conca draft with a whole heap of guys already taken out.

If it's same as GC & GWS they'll get to sign guys born Jan-Apr of the 2027 draft cohort a year early and develop them.

2026 should be like the Dusty draft and 2027 like the Conca draft with a whole heap of guys already taken out.
2026 would be the year to trade our futures for an OOC or contracted player/s. Although those futures might not have the value they normally would.

2027 probably de-valued substantially. 2028 would be interesting, depends if they split Tassie's concessions over 2 years to mitigate a dud draft.

Probably means 2027 will be less ****ed than those 2010/11 drafts which is good.
I think it'll still be heavily compromised, but with a lot of the picks given to Tassie getting passed on to other clubs.

So far all the noise from the AFL has been that some of the picks will have to be traded.

JR would be awesome. Wouldn’t underestimate Richo. Lynch will be fantastic in the track.

Loyd et el can stay away

I think it'll still be heavily compromised, but with a lot of the picks given to Tassie getting passed on to other clubs.

So far all the noise from the AFL has been that some of the picks will have to be traded.
We might end up with a few of those picks, we have a few Tassie boys on our list that will have decent experience (Campbell, Banks, Mansell)

We reached for Faull. Should have taken Reid or Berry.

Reid is whatever to me. Small, slow mid is a phasing out archetype. He does have great hands and IQ so will always have a place in an AFL side but not that fussed we didn't get him.

Berry out of those two for me. Would've locked down our small forward stocks for the next 10 years with Berry and Hotton. It would've also given more flexibility for Hotton to turn into a midfielder and still have a quality small forward down there without him.

They went for the extra tall to try sure up the more important position. I don't mind the approach l but I just hope they chose the right player.

Will have to wait and see. We could miss out on the next Josh Toy

Game Day 2024 Draftmatmas live celebration and melt thread