Game Day 2024 Draftmatmas live celebration and melt thread

Is it possible to trade a draftee after only 1 year? Didn’t think this was allowed. Would be glorious to include Norf F1 in a trade for FOS in 2025.
FOS will have to wait, we're getting Harley next year.

Mate we had a literal child in the room for Pick 1. I doubt anyone really missed out.

Did the AFL make sure the recruiting team took a female out to the Corio U17’s in the middle of July in the pissing rain, or did they just request a fenale be in the room during the draft …. which just happens to be televised?

It’s so backwards : “look girls, if you work at a footy club, you too one day might get an opportunity to be a background adornment who can watch quietly while the big burly men go about the serious business of the day.”

I think it sends a terrible message, but I accept not everyone shares my beliefs, and that’s fine.

We move on.

tom elliot saying laura kane told all 18 clubs that they have to have at least 1 woman in the draft rooms and we just wheeled out ellie mckenzie and another club just brought in one of their female membership workers

fmd this wanka laura kane needs to go
Not sure what’s worse…the “directive” or the admission that you listen to the biggest tool there is Tom Idiot

So I just following on the tracker but was Essendon not capable of trading their pick 28 out of the way of the Kako bid so it got eaten up?

Was thinking through the Faull selection coming a little earlier than expected at pick-11 in more detail….

No doubt we saw Faull and Trainor as the best KPF and KPD options for us, and we wanted both.

Now let’s say we took Allan at 11, then nobody took Faull or Trainor before 18… Sydney would’ve taken whomever we didn’t out of those 2 picks at pick-19. They were right into Faull and badly need an intercepting KPD.

So we needed both Faull and Trainor before pick-19…. and we obviously knew Trainor was going to last until 18, but didn’t have the confidence Faull would. So we took Faull at 11
and got Trainor at 18.

If it was Trainor 11 and Faull 18 it might’ve made more sense and seemed more like early draft projections, but if we did that Faull might’ve gone from 12-17….and we miss our preferred KPF.

People melted when we took Faull at 11…. but it makes perfect sense in hindsight.

We have a new The Ghost.
Whoah, slow down a bit there young fella.

The system?
We got one pick like everyone else based on our ladder position and the rest we traded for? What exactly is wrong with the system? Do they not want us to be allowed to trade for draft picks because of recent success?
Funny, this bloke wasn't sooking about "the system" when the wooden spooner also just lost probably it's best 4 twenty-something-year-olds to oppo clubs, one of them for basically nothing.

cool story mate, continue to get riled up over 3AW strawmen when the reality is probably more like:

• nobody within the clubs were actually was affected by this
  • most girls who would have seen it did not draw that very long bow and instead saw the possibility that they might be included one day in this environment

happy to be proven wrong, but i doubt you can find one man who missed out because of a female sitting in to watch, and personally all the women i spoke to yesterday about footy were more concerned with the 19 year old murder victim in the news rather than this "terrible message" of inclusion, so, yeah, nah.

I never heard Tom Elliott … I heard Gerard Healy (who has three daughters) talking about it on Sportsday and slamming the policy … and I agree with him. Gerrard’s a pretty sensible and considered commentator not prone to hyperbole in my experience.

So nice of you to try and link my thoughts as coming from right wing shock jock Tom Elliott on 3AW, but… yeah, nah.

I never heard Tom Elliott … I heard Gerard Healy (who has three daughters) talking about it on Sportsday and slamming the policy … and I agree with him. Gerrard’s a pretty sensible and considered commentator not prone to hyperbole in my experience.

So nice of you to try and link my thoughts as coming from right wing shock jock Tom Elliott on 3AW, but… yeah, nah.

wowee (former 3AW broadcaster of 30+ years) Gerard Healy (who has three (!!) daughters) slammed it? literally cannot wait for the podcast ep to drop

All those blokes are just scared that they might not be able to rest on their contacts and boys clubs to keep their cushy jobs in the near future

If they were actually decent operators they wouldn’t be worried

Just out of interest, I looked at every draft pick taken after ours (excluding Kako as a matched bid):
2) FOS
8) Tobie Travaglia
15) Joe Berry
16) Bo Allan
22) Jesse Dattoli
24) Cody Angove
29) Lachie Jaques
59) Tyler Welsh

**** me, I would be devo if that had been our draft haul. Blair nailed it.
Happy with our lot, but FOS, Travaglia, Berry, Allan, Dattoli, along with Whitlock, Whitlock, Hamish Davis would have been massive too. All picks after ours.

FOS will have to wait, we're getting Harley next year.
both GIF

Game Day 2024 Draftmatmas live celebration and melt thread