Not the first time I've seen someone link him to Qld footy. WA is more likely for him I reckon.Same article links us with Jack Martin![]()
It's even more hilarious that they're linking him with the Suns after the whole debacle around his departure from them. I actually wouldn't mind Martin if he's willing to be a bench/VFL player for us. If his partner's desire to be in Queensland is that great, he might agree. He's also good mates with Ah Chee IIRC.Same article links us with Jack Martin![]()
Its probably not fair but I always feel wary about players looking to move to a third club/state. Of course its so dependant on the timing or reasons for each move - but always feel you are going to get a destabilising presence or someone who doesnt put the work in (ie Lobb)Same article links us with Jack Martin![]()
Martin has never been able to get his body right to spend any real time on the park.Would be keen on Martin to develop as a backman. His kicking would be an asset but at 30 it's probably too late to get his body right and develop him in a new role
Martin has never been able to get his body right to spend any real time on the park.
Need to be targeting KPPs not the Jack Martin’s of the world imo.
We are fortunate enough to be regenerating our mids through our rorts but need a KPF at some stage.
Jarryd Lyons.It’s probably not fair but I always feel wary about players looking to move to a third club/state. Of course its so dependant on the timing or reasons for each move - but always feel you are going to get a destabilising presence or someone who doesnt put the work in (ie Lobb)
There are more than a few that prove me wrong: Hogan has massively improved now at his third club. Adams and Grundy now at Sydney are potentially a big part of this year. Hence its good to be aware of the why they are moving.Jarryd Lyons.
I think your right in that Clubs should be wary of picking up multiple club players, there is usually a reason their clubs haven't kept them.There are more than a few that prove me wrong: Hogan has massively improved now at his third club. Adams and Grundy now at Sydney are potentially a big part of this year. Hence its good to be aware of the why they are moving.
But I still just am wary of why they are leaving a club again and whether they are something we want to add to the dressing room
The knock on him is that he doesn’t defend & is a weak tackle.Gettable: Lions will mostly be trading for draft picks to get enough points for LAshcroft & Marshall. Beveridge reckons Lions are a club to watch for Malcolm Rosas Jnr
I don't really know why we'd be interested tbh. After 7 AFL games this year he wants to play more senior games - he's unlikely to get that at Brisbane.The knock on him is that he doesn’t defend & is a weak tackle.
I thought the same of Ah Chee before he came to us. Soft and doesn't give second efforts would be how I'd have summarised his time at the Suns.The knock on him is that he doesn’t defend & is a weak tackle.
West Coast will zero in on Brisbane Lions’ football manager Danny Daly as a new football director and head of coaching.
The Eagles had initially shown interest in Daly as a potential senior coach but have updated the role to help oversee the coaching department and football operations as part of a new senior job.
Daly has parked all conversations with the Eagles until the end of Brisbane’s finals campaign to allow him to concentrate on helping the Lions go deep in September.
The club is comfortable with Daly’s decision to put aside a decision on his future until next month.
Daly would need to be replaced at Brisbane in the event he accepts the senior job as part of a restricted football department at West Coast.
If he has pace, goal sense and front-and-centre craft I would be open to giving him a go. Our lack of leg speed is still a real concern, and his defensive game could be improved. We also don't have a true crumbing forward - Charlie included given he does score a lot out the back or by burning opponents with pure pace.The knock on him is that he doesn’t defend & is a weak tackle.
Who would be in line to replace Danny Daly? Would anybody from within be a good fit?
Vital role David Noble > Danny Daly > ?