List Mgmt. 2024 List Management discussion

Prediction- Who is delisted this year(not retirements).

• Berry

• McCluggage

• Lyons

• McCarthy

• Answerth

• Lane

• Prior

• Madden

• Lester

• Joyce

• Zorko

• Michael

• Brain

• Reville

Results are only viewable after voting.

He'll fly the flag - but more impressive was his willingness to run, take a risk and generate some ball movement, especially when the team was down last season. He started his career well and played in the premiership in 2021. Had a down season in 2022 as the team missed finals and was dropped to reserves several times. The penny dropped last season and his confidence and leadership flourished and this season, with the team going well and the oval surface nice and quick, he's been a standout. He'll need to take that confidence and risk taking to the next level and that will be the key for himself and the coaching staff at the Lions to get the best out of him. Easier said than done.
Thanks for the reply.

Better for all concerned that Hugh get on with signing the contract. I suspect we'll see a different player out there once he does.

Yeah I reckon he went through this sort of form slump at the last contract signing as well. Bit of an over thinker is our Hugh perhaps.

Mitch Cleary on Talking Footy said the Hugh McCluggage re-signing has “taken a turn” for the positive. He said we’re re-signing him on a 7 year x $1M per season deal.
Mitch reported similar last week. This is the first I've heard of it being 7 years tho. The AFL website this morning reported only 6 years.

My post has nothing to do with the players; it’s about our numbers of our list and how many will have to depart (not necessarily of those drafted tonight) come seasons end; hence my comment that I suspect the club knows some contracted players will likely leave. How does my post elicit your response when all I’m doing is asking a logical question.

Again; just to spell it out clearly for you a it has nothing to do with the players selected and if you’re in any doubt about that, you’ll see I raised this a couple of times in this very thread pre this MSD.
Yeah. I understand. I’m not sure why people found your post offensive. 🤷‍♀️

Clique Redux. A super secret society of sock puppet accounts and reactionary posters who roam the Lions board seeking out wrongful thinking and punish it via pile-ons and ridicule. Thought to be extinct although occasional sightings are still reported.

Wrong account BRAB

The original post was a bit negative, but poster raises a valid point about list spots. These picks replace players on LTIL is that right? There may be 4 or 5 fathersons/academy picks of quality in the end of season draft. I am not across all the draft rules, but you can only take the number of picks equal to list spots to the draft? I probably am not as worried as McIvor about the club factoring all this in, but I think it’s a legitimate point for discussion.

There may be more potential list changes than we (me at least) are aware of.
Agree that McIvor had a valid point on the lists spots, he/she should have phrased it a bit differently.
I assume or will assume the Lions presently sit on the maximum lists spots.
We now have 3 over the allowed number with the AFL's approval for the remainder of 2024.
At the closure date of lists spots in 2025 the Lions will have to reduce lists spots back to the approved number.
This is what other posters have stated is just the usual club practice each year.
One of the three MSD picks will have to be retained as he apparently stated an 18-month contract.

Below lists of players OOC this year excluding McCluggage & Berry according to the "Roster Watch" thread.
We are plus 3 players over the maximum at present.
Lets say we take 4 picks to the draft that brings us to plus 7 over the maximum.
So, 7 players have to be delisted from the below list which includes 2 of the 3 new guys.

Also, a player not OOC may request a trade and that will also free up a spot.
Should Beecken and Craven show enough compared to who may be available with our 4th/5th pick in the draft you retain one or both of them instead.
From the below lists i think only Lester and Zorko are safe.
Reville if he keeps up his form may also get an extension.

As can be seen we have enough players to delist that are OOC to fit within the AFL approved lists numbers.
The positive is we have 3 new players that may/will get a chance to see in 2024 if they are up to AFL level.
Looking at the numbers i can see why the club only took 3 in the MSD.

2024:
Jarryd Lyons
Kalin Lane (R)
Jaxon Prior
James Madden
Ryan Lester (R)
Darragh Joyce (R)
Dayne Zorko
Carter Michael
Bruce Reville (R)
Luke Beecken (R)
Darcy Craven (R)

I'd say his other offers dictated what we could do.

So the final year of his deal would be 2031. I doubt we are in a window for another 7 years, so the last 3 or so years of the deal could be a bit meh for our cap if we are rejuvenating the list.

Obviously a lot of water to go under the bridge here but, 2031:
Anrews (34)
Dunkley (34)
Ah Chee (33)
McCluggage (33)
Berry (33)
Hipwood (33)
Payne (31)
Coleman (31)
Starcevich (31)
Answerth (31)
Bailey (31 - though maybe traded)
Rayner (31 - though maybe traded)
Reville (30)
Robertson (29 - though probably traded)
Lohmann (28)
Smith (28)
Sharp (28)
WAshcroft (27)
Wilmott (27)
Fletcher (27)
Brain (27)
Tunstill (27 but probably delisted / traded)
Morris (26)
McLachlan (26)
LAshcroft (25)
Marshall (25)
Gallop (25)
GIlder (25)
Annable (24)

Gone definitely: Neale, Zorko, McKenna, McCarthy, Cameron, Daniher, Lester, McInerney, Gardner, Doedee (33 but is already likely shot), Lyons

Like you look at that and depending on trades / players coming on as expected, etc - well we could still be right up there come 2031.

Obviously a lot of water to go under the bridge here but, 2031:
Anrews (34)
Dunkley (34)
Ah Chee (33)
McCluggage (33)
Berry (33)
Hipwood (33)
Payne (31)
Coleman (31)
Starcevich (31)
Answerth (31)
Bailey (31 - though maybe traded)
Rayner (31 - though maybe traded)
Reville (30)
Robertson (29 - though probably traded)
Lohmann (28)
Smith (28)
Sharp (28)
WAshcroft (27)
Wilmott (27)
Fletcher (27)
Brain (27)
Tunstill (27 but probably delisted / traded)
Morris (26)
McLachlan (26)
LAshcroft (25)
Marshall (25)
Gallop (25)
GIlder (25)
Annable (24)

Gone definitely: Neale, Zorko, McKenna, McCarthy, Cameron, Daniher, Lester, McInerney, Gardner, Doedee (33 but is already likely shot), Lyons

Like you look at that and depending on trades / players coming on as expected, etc - well we could still be right up there come 2031.
Damn you Sproj now you have me frantically rummaging through the Draft Board looking for a thread on the 2031 draft class ie. players born in 2013. I fear a full on rebuild will be needed.:'(:cry:

I'm sure briztoon has camped out the U11s in preparation for our academy intake that year.

Dylan, you're back. Where have you been mate?

Better lookout HereIGoAgain, one of the clique posters will call for you to be banned soon.

Just don’t mention Witherden’s dad.
If we banned all those that were called to be banned... we'd probably still have banned about no one. Usually it's just everyone complaining at/about everyone else.

I completely agree we shouldn't ban people... But could we ban Elixuh for PMing me his desire to support the Suns?!

You think I'm joking but I'll do it. I've been pushed to the edge by Fages selections and press conferences.

Wait until you find out he had a big meeting with the team this week and gave them all mulligans.

I'm not in on whatever the joke is here but I do miss Dylan's laid back style and pithy comments.

The way we're going he would have added a lot of colour to this dog of a season with his insights into why we've fallen in a heap.

List Mgmt. 2024 List Management discussion