Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

MacD at 20
JVR at 12 (who we could have chosen instead of Ras but according to posters on here, we couldn't because a top 10 pick was too high a selection for him. lol)
Amiss at 6
JUH at 5 (WTF)

I cannot get that link to work...would love a bit of a rundown, sounds juicy!
West Coast champion Peter Sumich has quit his weekly newspaper column after they refused to publish an article criticising boom recruit Harley Reid.

Sumich has been writing for the West Australian for 18 months with the paper promoting him as not holding back and offering an “insightful, no-holds-barred perspective” on all footy matters.
It turns out the two-time premiership spearhead went too hard on the Eagles new golden boy who has been the newspaper’s obsession since he arrived in Perth in December.
“I’m not writing for the West anymore,” Sumich told Media Street.
“I had a bit of a run-in with them. I wanted to put this article in and they reckon I was too harsh.
“It was on Harley Reid, I gave the kid a pump-up and said he is going to be a good player but everyone is carrying on like he’s going to be Chris Judd.

“I put down, he is no Chris Judd. I was there when Chris Judd was there and what I saw of Chris Judd in his first two or three years, this kid doesn’t even compare to Chris Judd so I don’t know why people are carrying on.
“The kid is going to be a good player, don’t get me wrong, but you are no Chris Judd mate.”

Sumich revealed part of the article focussed on Reid’s body saying he used the term “puppy fat” when describing the No.1 draft pick’s conditioning.
“I said he has got a little bit of puppy fat and he needs to tidy up this and that but that was it,” he said. “Other than that I pumped the kid up, there wasn’t anything disastrous or bad.”
The former Eagles assistant coach said the hype around Reid was over the top.
“He has been here since December or so, let’s say 50 days and I reckon he has been in the paper for 40 of those 50 days.
“And on the back page probably 20 of them . . . seriously c’mon where is WA football going? It’s not a good sign.”

Sumich, who kicked a club record 514 goals from 150 games with the Eagles from 1989-1997, said he feared for his old side’s fortunes in 2024.
“I love the club and I want them to do well but at the moment it is really a basket-case and there is no light at the end of the tunnel on what I saw on Saturday night (against Fremantle),” he said.
“If anyone can tell me any different, well, please. Fremantle are going to be OK, I don’t think they are a top six side yet they put West Coast to the sword without even trying.”

A little bit of Freo chat. Mainly from Corbin:

- Freo are one of the most interesting teams heading into the season (along with Bulldogs and Essendon)
- Due to the age of the list, it would not be fair to sack Longmuir if we finished 9th-12th
- Brisbane a very gettable Round 1 target.
Thanks for the link, didn't know about this one.

100% agree with him.

In summary:
Under the pump - Alex Pearce
Breakout year - Hayden Young with special mention to Cooper Simpson.
Overall - pace in the midfield will be an issue.

In summary:
Under the pump - Alex Pearce
Breakout year - Hayden Young with special mention to Cooper Simpson.
Overall - pace in the midfield will be an issue.

Listened last night. Good to have them back. Thought the freo comments were fair enough. Reckon Ellis is pretty deflated that WCE and Hawks could be the two worst in the comp lol 😂

They really need to cut back on the utter shite talk at the start of these pods. 10 mins of bullshit and in-jokes about their own lives is annoying to skip though (I don’t give a shit about Xav Ellis merch business or what Nick Rynne does in his spare time) before they actually started talking footy.
Once they actually talk about the game, it’s a very decent pod though.

They really need to cut back on the utter shite talk at the start of these pods. 10 mins of bullshit and in-jokes about their own lives is annoying to skip though (I don’t give a s**t about Xav Ellis merch business or what Nick Rynne does in his spare time) before they actually started talking footy.

Agreed. Usually it's 10 minutes talking about the NBA and as someone that couldn't care any less about basketball it really is bloody annoying.

Listened last night. Good to have them back. Thought the freo comments were fair enough. Reckon Ellis is pretty deflated that WCE and Hawks could be the two worst in the comp lol 😂

They really need to cut back on the utter shite talk at the start of these pods. 10 mins of bullshit and in-jokes about their own lives is annoying to skip though (I don’t give a s**t about Xav Ellis merch business or what Nick Rynne does in his spare time) before they actually started talking footy.
The banter is what set them apart in the first place I think. The problem with that in any podcast though is that it always ends up getting over the top.

Is this what hell feels like?

He's actually right.
He was particularly right about one thing. Freo won that practice game without ever getting into gear. Watching bit of it yesterday it looked to me we were more worried about our shape and positioning than what West Coast were doing. Must be a bit dis-heartening for them since they were really giving it a crack the first 2 and half quarters.

When people laugh at us complaining about the bullshit we have to put up with over here, the “no action Jackson” crap compared to the Harley Reid circus is a perfect example to point to
The Harley circus is actually doing a massive disservice to the Eagles imo. I understand they're trying to keep their members engaged but the pressure this is putting on the poor fella is insane.

Oh 100%, this has gone to beyond comical and I really feel for Reid who must be completely over it but they are never canning an article to protect one of our players like they just did for WC (and have done for a long time depending on who you talk to)

He was particularly right about one thing. Freo won that practice game without ever getting into gear. Watching bit of it yesterday it looked to me we were more worried about our shape and positioning than what West Coast were doing. Must be a bit dis-heartening for them since they were really giving it a crack the first 2 and half quarters.
We shouldn't be losing any derbies to them for at least another 3 or 4 years.

It would be inexcusable if we do.

Remember during our rebuild West Coast won 11 straight derbies so literally there is no excuse for us to take the foot off the pedal now.

Our streak is currently at 5 wins.

3 more years of double ups should equal that.

Sean Darcy is the prince of Perth.

Harley is more the kid who would be king.

I actually feel sorry for the kid - he's done nothing to deserve this attention, and judging from Saturday he looks like he could be a ripper - but nothing short of lifting the flag whilst simultaneously felating NicNat in the middle of the MCG within the next two years is going to live up to the unrealistic expectations that the West are setting.

Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread