Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

I know Melbourne were bad, but I feel like Freo has missed out on praise for what it did on the weekend

Nice bit on here. Acknowledges Melbourne were shit, but gives Freo credit for why. Interesting bit about blocking at stoppages too (back facing vs front on) based on Harley Reid not dealing with the tag well.

On SM-G988U1 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nice bit on here. Acknowledges Melbourne were shit, but gives Freo credit for why. Interesting bit about blocking at stoppages too (back facing vs front on) based on Harley Reid not dealing with the tag well.

On SM-G988U1 using BigFooty.com mobile app
thanks for that

Six games of AFL broadcast on free to air TV this round plus a game of WAFL with a very exciting finish.

Sure I took a look at 5 minutes of the quality of the St Kilda vs Gold Coast game and decided I would only come back for the close finish and the same with WC vs North, but how does the average sports bozo with a pay TV subscription get through so much sport to get bang for their buck.

Six games of AFL broadcast on free to air TV this round plus a game of WAFL with a very exciting finish.

Sure I took a look at 5 minutes of the quality of the St Kilda vs Gold Coast game and decided I would only come back for the close finish and the same with WC vs North, but how does the average sports bozo with a pay TV subscription get through so much sport to get bang for their buck.
if we win, we watch all the replays and the footy shows like On the Couch

normally we get cricket coverage as well

during footy season we are usually gardening, and will come in side for a break to see the scores etc

if we win, we watch all the replays and the footy shows like On the Couch

normally we get cricket coverage as well

during footy season we are usually gardening, and will come in side for a break to see the scores etc

All the Freo relevant stuff on those Footy shows usually get posted on the Freo website anyway. I can watch Footy Classified for the 15 second reference to the Dockers.

If one lives out of WA, it is the only way to see Freo games
Kayo is such sh1t i seriously considered giving it up & going 2 a pub to watch Freo games

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

but how does the average sports bozo with a pay TV subscription get through so much sport to get bang for their buck.

I watch more than AFL. It is also nice to actually be able to see goal replays and analysis instead of ads as well. $30 a month for for Kayo for the AFL, NRL, F1, NFL, College Football, and associated shows is good value to me. Not to mention being able to watch replays of any game this season as well as previous seasons whenever I want is fantastic. It helps with missing footy during the off season.

If one lives out of WA, it is the only way to see Freo games
Kayo is such sh1t i seriously considered giving it up & going 2 a pub to watch Freo games

I've never had a problem with Kayo. I think it's a great service either at home using my Wifi or out in public using mobile data. If it's not working might be worth checking your internet service.

I did the pub thing before getting Kayo but then worked out once I buy a couple of beers and maybe some food. There is my monthly subscription and convenience of being at home was worth it for me.

Kayo minis at 20 miniutes are a good way to see the best parts of any game you are interested in.

I watch a few AFL games live and catch up with a mini on some others. Then watch a few NRL games on Tuesdays via the minis.

The NFL gridiron is great as a mini, you get to miss all the technical stuff and just see the ball in play. Same with cricket including the IPL.

Each to their own but Koyo is good value for me.

I've never had a problem with Kayo. I think it's a great service either at home using my Wifi or out in public using mobile data. If it's not working might be worth checking your internet service.

I did the pub thing before getting Kayo but then worked out once I buy a couple of beers and maybe some food. There is my monthly subscription and convenience of being at home was worth it for me.
Cheers mate
I have had zero internet issues with any other streaming service & I have lived in Melbourne cbd & Southbank, so not in the sticks at all, but kayo regularly lags &/or drops out, usually for Freo games.
I hate it, but I don't want to rely on going to a pub to watch it.
I also check out ice hockey, poker, baseball & strong man comps

Depends what you call "bang for your buck". I get that for some Foxtel/Kayo is expensive, but for me I am fortunate enough to not have to worry about the cost. I like the convenience of Foxtel. And there are other sports, movies and shows I will watch. And most importantly, every game is shown live on Foxtel 4K and the picture quality blows FTA out of the water. That's worth the cost to me alone. I find it annoying that the GF is not shown live on Foxtel at the same time as FTA, as the step down to FTA quality is very noticeable.

There still a generation away of building a proper fan base. I didn't like the way the AFL arrogantly went about putting them in. Probably not the clubs fault but I just didn't Demetriou arrogance around the whole situation.

I have lived my whole life here in Western Sydney most sports fans don't care about them. They genuinely don't.

In fact my area that I have lived my whole life in reportedly had the most GWS memberships a few years here ago in the Hills shire area of Sydney.

I don't see many people GWS caps, jerseys or merchandise anywhere out and about here in the areas where they fan base is.

It's Swans or nothing else when it comes to AFL chat.

You hit the nail on the head around being a generation away, but if the afl gives new licenses they are right to think in terms of generations.

Going from 10k members year one to 30k odd last year is amazing.

Imagine the potential in 50 years. By then they will replace Accor (or what it’s called this week) and GWS will probably be playing in front of much larger crowds at whatever stadium they build.

I hated the move at the time, but I can see the potential now, living in Parra for the last 18 months after moving from Perth.

Sydney will always have migration from Perth/Adelaide/Melbourne/Tassie to fuel the fan base over generations, and most won’t live where the silver spoon crowd do around the SCG.

IMG_3451.png

You hit the nail on the head around being a generation away, but if the afl gives new licenses they are right to think in terms of generations.

Going from 10k members year one to 30k odd last year is amazing.

Imagine the potential in 50 years. By then they will replace Accor (or what it’s called this week) and GWS will probably be playing in front of much larger crowds at whatever stadium they build.

I hated the move at the time, but I can see the potential now, living in Parra for the last 18 months after moving from Perth.

Sydney will always have migration from Perth/Adelaide/Melbourne/Tassie to fuel the fan base over generations, and most won’t live where the silver spoon crowd do around the SCG.

View attachment 2015830
The whole Sydney Olympic Park precinct is a dump. Hopefully once the light rail in Parra links up to Homebush it will be a lot easier.

They really need to get a better vibe around there.

Outside of major sporting events like NRL GF, State of Origin or Socceroos/Matildas games now its just a white elephant.

In terms of GWS I look at the crowds numbers and go well they can sprout there membership numbers all they like. But when you getting 9-10k to a home game is it really relevant.

I think promoting yourself as a 30k membership and the 3rd largest sporting supporter base in Sydney is a joke and piss take when they get SFA there to games and hard to take seriously.

Do all the AFL executives get family memberships to boost the numbers.

Kayo is about $20 a month and not every Freo game is live on 7. Small price to pay IMO.

Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread