Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

Jesus when Amon, Jaith and Moore can't crack the clubs top 5. Just FYI Amon won Ports time trail 6 years in a row before coming across to Hawthorn.
And Port have been known for being a strong running side.

I’ve liked the look of Butler from the start.

Not sure why he hasn’t delivered on that (seems injuries) but hopefully he is gonna breakout.

Beating Maginness is a HUGE achievement. Butler is now an elite runner.

We are gonna run a lot of teams off their feet. With out big inside mids winning the ball and distributing, I think we will have some big wins if our forwards stand up.

Jesus when Amon, Jaith and Moore can't crack the clubs top 5. Just FYI Amon won Ports time trail 6 years in a row before coming across to Hawthorn.

I think I saw Amon and Morrison just behind the top 5 in the footage.

I'm not sure all those guys ran
I think I saw Amon and Morrison just behind the top 5 in the footage.

Yep, the footage shows that Amon, Jiath, Moore and Nash were all present and took part in the time trial.

Result: 1: Josh Weddle, 2: Sam Butler, 3: Finn Maginness, 4: Josh Ward, 5: Connor Macdonald

As stated by many others it is a great result for Butler. He has finished before some seriously good runners.

But CMac‘s result is also worthy of note. His fitness bodes well for more midfield minutes.

K
I’ve liked the look of Butler from the start.

Not sure why he hasn’t delivered on that (seems injuries) but hopefully he is gonna breakout.

Beating Maginness is a HUGE achievement. Butler is now an elite runner.

We are gonna run a lot of teams off their feet. With out big inside mids winning the ball and distributing, I think we will have some big wins if our forwards stand up.
I agree we have a good mix now of big powerful inside mids and very good endurance runners on the outside.

Still think we lack a mid who has genuine burst away from a pack speed like say Degoey, although Newk is not bad at this.

As you say next year will all be about how our new look forward line goes which lets be honest is completely unknown at this stage.

Genuinely jealous. Would love my work day to involve all of this.

Also, interesting how Duke mentioned it wasn't a very big day all things considered. Makes you realise how hard pre-season training is for these guys.
Heaven help anybody from my workplace who knocked on my front door at 6am.

This is something that makes me thoughtful about players who don't thrive in the AFL. Sometimes it's not about ambition or working hard. I'd go nuts if someone expected me to sacrifice my personal space and reassess my professional development goals every 5 minutes. I wouldn't care how much cash I was leaving on the table, I'd find another job.

Something did seem to click for Scrimshaw at the middle to end point of last season. For all of the things he's good at, the coaching group made it clear they wanted players running and Scrim just seemed to get the ball standing still. It's one of the reasons why we regularly had worse players like Bramble in front of him at selection - he ran.

Glad to see he's carrying it through, hitting PBs and working on his weaknesses.
Yes .
I thought he gone midway through the season . Something changed for the good and we started to see talent mixing with a better work ethic .
Still a way to go .

Maybe the core of the young guys flying past him was the kicker he needed ???

DK Metcalf level athlete
Everything my mate said about him when we traded up and got him has proven spot on .
Great kid too . We have an absolute ripper here , but thats nothing any of us here dont know !

DK put a clinic on the other day ......we now just need DGB to become our JA17 athletic package 😁

Heaven help anybody from my workplace who knocked on my front door at 6am.

This is something that makes me thoughtful about players who don't thrive in the AFL. Sometimes it's not about ambition or working hard. I'd go nuts if someone expected me to sacrifice my personal space and reassess my professional development goals every 5 minutes. I wouldn't care how much cash I was leaving on the table, I'd find another job.

I guess the point though is that your body is your tool to perform your job. Equipment requires regular maintenance.
And the length of the career on average is so short. Regular goal reassessment is just condensed to suit that time frame.

Plus, is there any other job in the world where the adrenaline rush of success is so high? I could easily deal with the constant scrutiny of my diet, exercise program etc knowing I get to run out on the MCG in front of thousands of people and kick the footy on the weekend.

PB in your 6th or 7th preseason is nice going. More improvement there. Good signs for next year.

Injured a lot and unable to perform early on in his career.

What I'm most hopeful about for him is that this signals he's free of whatever residue there might have been from what held him back at GC.

But overall just so friggin damn positive reading about everyone's performances in the endurance stakes. The really strong runners were such a big plus for their team's in the 90s before mass rotations arrived.

As the demands of the game have gone up, to catch up to everyone's attempts to milk the interchange to get more run out of everyone/sustain transitional pressure, maybe we'll get back to that more than we already have.

If you want more ITK information.. have a listen to these guys:-

This week Ratts gave a bit of an insight on his return to the club and how pre-season is progressing.

Great stuff by Timmy and Talking Hawks!

Hopefully it’s not that Amons time went backwards (haven’t seen any times)

Weddle seems suited to the multiple 1 km trials we seem to do. His 2km time at combine was very good but not as amazing as his running has been since he’s got to the club.

Butlers effort is a good sign - he really struggled with fitness in his first year (injury interrupted first pre season). He also has genuine speed.

The impressive thing about weddle and finn is they are doing this at ~90kg - they are not skinny runners.

Would love to know how the times compare to what say issac smith and hill did at their peak.

With pick 5, Hawthorn selects...

edit: he likely won't be a mid, but will become a regular as forward half stoppages
That's true The Wiz does have genuine burst speed.

Would like to see us throw him in the middle for short bursts like we used to do with Cyril.

Probably later in his career though after he has a bit of size.

Weddle seems suited to the multiple 1 km trials we seem to do. His 2km time at combine was very good but not as amazing as his running has been since he’s got to the club.

Butlers effort is a good sign - he really struggled with fitness in his first year (injury interrupted first pre season). He also has genuine speed.

The impressive thing about weddle and finn is they are doing this at ~90kg - they are not skinny runners.

Would love to know how the times compare to what say issac smith and hill did at their peak.
He also clocked the yoyo test.

Whichever way you slice it, his Vo2 max is elite for any athlete. And this type of running lends itself well to AFL. Plus he's only 19. Freak athlete.

A rundown of the day from Burgey

Gotta admit, when I read "A rundown of the day from Burgey" I thought I'd see him tackle someone from behind, and instead got an interesting recap. Not sure if I am supposed to be disappointed or interested.

Given DGBs obvious weakness from the start has been his endurance, is it a bit concerning he wasnt noted as running a PB? Not here to DGB bash but seems a bit strange given his PB would be a relatively low bar compared to the rest of the group. Maybe they’re focusing on him gaining size first?

It's pretty hard to simultaneously gain significant strength and size while improving endurance.

You would have to be a genetic outlier or juicing in most scenarios.

He was drafted as a 78kg skinny kid and his measurements from last preseason was 84kg. He looks like he would be pushing high 80s now.

Fair bit of weight to pack on but looks like there's going to be a few more years of physical development to go.

It's pretty hard to simultaneously gain significant strength and size while improving endurance.

You would have to be a genetic outlier or juicing in most scenarios.

He was drafted as a 78kg skinny kid and his measurements from last preseason was 84kg. He looks like he would be pushing high 80s now.

Fair bit of weight to pack on but looks like there's going to be a few more years of physical development to go.
Sorry but it only takes 3 months to get professional level fit. That’s doing 12-15 sessions a week. You can hold muscle mass too with the right diet. Putting it on can take years though I agree, but getting professional level fit doesn’t take 3 years. Getting to elite level fitness can take upto 3-4 years though. He’s a full time athlete, if he can’t run out games by now there’s something not right. Needs to find it, it’s going to be make or break for him this year.

Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion