Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion

Love seeing them back at it early. It's a very good sign when you have so many out there working hard but also working together. Mitchell has been focussing on building a young team where they are all close and can bond and I think next year we'll really start to see that pay off.

Blanck definitely spent a bit of time in the gym, as has Wardy. Great to see them driven and eager to improve.

Gonna be an exciting year ahead.

Rob McCartney made it pretty clear we can expect CJ on a wing. He thinks DGB is a defender at heart, but mentioned that his ability to play there depends on whether he puts on some size this summer.

CJ to a wing is something I'd be calling for all last season. It will highlight his strengths and mitigate some of his weaknesses IMO.

Exactly. See ball. Get ball. Pump ball chaotically into F50. Ginnivan Goal.

Plus he's an athletic beast. He could cover a whole side of the field and he could make up for some of his positioning issues by sheer athleticism. Same applies for Weddle too.

Cj could make an elite defensive wing with his aerial ability.
“Defensive wing”?

Would be handy if he occasionally located an opponent after shaking their hand before the first bounce.

One of the reasons people are saying they’d prefer we play him on a wing is he would probably send the ball deeper into our forwardline than most…. and his opponent might not hurt us a much when they’re running around in heaps of space on a turnover.

Exactly. See ball. Get ball. Pump ball chaotically into F50. Ginnivan Goal.

Need to know the right time and the right places to run playing on the wing.

I'm not convinced (yet) that CJ has the footy nous fmto excel in that position, but time will tell. Of course, I hope he proves me wrong!

CJ to a wing is something I'd be calling for all last season. It will highlight his strengths and mitigate some of his weaknesses IMO.
His marking and his closing speed are two things make him a good defender. I think it will be to try to encourage him to use his speed and his tank more offensively.

By the way, a lot of people here seem to feel that CJ is purely some kind of agent of chaos who doesn't know how to do anything apart from run fast and kick the ball haphazardly. I think your memories are serving you poorly. He is one of the most talented players on our list, and if he stays fit, I won't be the least surprised if he wins our best and fairest next year.

“Defensive wing”?

Would be handy if he occasionally located an opponent after shaking their hand before the first bounce.

One of the reasons people are saying they’d prefer we play him on a wing is he would probably send the ball deeper into our forwardline than most…. and his opponent might not hurt us a much when they’re running around in heaps of space on a turnover.
You're so far wide of the mark here. You can't question his effort.

He works very hard, no doubt. I didn’t question that.
If you see him standing in space and not manning up, I would say that's probably him doing exactly what the coach has told him to do. I thought your comment was pretty clearly critical of him saying he doesn't man up.

Edit: I'm not suggesting he's some amazing machine that doesn't make any mistakes, but I think he's not given credit for things he's good at because it doesn't fit with the way some fans want to view him as nothing more than a freakish athlete.

You're so far wide of the mark here. You can't question his effort.
Effort is one thing. Knowing where to run to be effective both offensively and defensively is another - wing is a specialised position. If CJ is out of position even his elite athleticism won’t help on the turnover. Harry Morrison has carved up a number of far more athletic players in preseason sessions past just from good positioning.

Round 21 vs Collingwood.

Josh Daicos - 19 disposals
Steele Sidebottom - 21 disposals
Harry Morrison - 21 disposals and 2 goals

Round 21 vs Collingwood.

Josh Daicos - 19 disposals
Steele Sidebottom - 21 disposals
Harry Morrison - 21 disposals and 2 goals
he's a bit of a forgotten man at the minute but his end of year efforts were great, and he had a very strong 2022 as well. that second wing spot is wide open and it wouldn't surprise me if Harry has a strong pre-season and takes it back. Love that we have a bit more depth in that area now (so much so Amon can afford to play in the D50). The Shiels/Howe/Phillips era of wingers wasn't our strongest :)

There is a tacit understanding in your post that CJ is often out of position. I don't accept it. I don't hear our coaches saying or implying that he's a headless chook, as so many of our supporters seem to believe.

Training 2024 Preseason reports and discussion