Autopsy 2024 Rd 0 - Harry kicks the winner vs Lions

Who played well for the Blues vs the Lions in Round 0?

Oh what a beautiful morning!

What an absolute glorious win by the boys.

Seriously though these close games, they are brutal for my nerves!

Sydney final, Demons final and this my god I’m doing my yearly physical next month and expect the cardiologist to say I have the heart of an Ox … what a workout it got last night!

If we keep winning like this you will have the heart of an ox ……………. a roast ox!!!!

:p

Wow!!
That was bloody sensational come back by the boys! Absolutely stellar 2nd half which the momentum actually started in the last 10min of the second quarter!
The belief is coming and it’ll come harder after that win!

Hats off to fog, I thought he set the standard late in the second as he really put some heat/tackle pressure on.

Jacky Carrol wow!! Very impressed with his game in the middle!

And I thought cuners and cots worked there way into the game nicely in that second half.

Can’t believe the feeling this morning💪🍻

Up the baggers!

Few beers whilst relaxing in the pool this arvo i reckon

What a great win, has set us up for the season

giphy.gif

I would rather listen to a 2 hour long fart than Luke Darcy's commentary. How he has a gig as anything more than special comments has me stumped.
Terribly dull commentary. And between J Selwood ( whom I had thought would be great) and N Buckley on Fox, we have the English language left in a mangled heap at the Gabba. Thanks guys. I tried turning on sub -titles but no help.
Confused Girl What GIF by Identity

I really like the look of this kid. Plays with a controlled aggression and great composure. Probably the best performance by a sub that I can remember.

I'm just happy to see his intent, in the VFL he often looked to be a class above then drift out of the game - similar to cuningham.

Terribly dull commentary. And between J Selwood ( whom I had thought would be great) and N Buckley on Fox, we have the English language left in a mangled heap at the G. Thanks guys. I tried turning on sub -titles but no help.
Confused Girl What GIF by Identity
I didn’t mind Selwoods analysis but he does remind me of the speaking clock.

I think Jordan Boyd will be regarded as one of the best 5 kicks in the afl by year end. The kicks he attempts AND hits are phenomenal. That stat which takes into account difficulty of kick will show it. Just next level last night.

Boyd, mcg, Newman saad and williams bringing the ball out of the backline is just amazing.

And L Fogarty….my Lord mate. You’re a LOcK for mine now. Can’t believe I wrote that. We’ve never had a better tackler. And he’s just become more composed with ball in hand now. Gives us enormous bite.

Cuners looked very dangerous. The muggy conditions didn’t help his usually super clean ball handling. Had a great preseason. In for a big year.

Best game I have seen kemp play. No high flying ridiculous attempts at marking. No getting lost. Huge improvement.
Don't underestimate Weiterings kicking either. Top half dozen kicks at the club for sure.

Well that was a rollercoaster of emotion.
1st Quarter - Well our preseason did not look great and it is coming home to roost. What have we been practicing all preseason?
We were way too attacking from our back half and exposing ourselves on the counter attack.
2nd Quarter - This is our style of play, contested play.
3rd Quarter - I'd donate my first born to Charlie
4th Quarter - Harry kicking a pressure goal, with a drop punt. Hopefully sets up his season and ours.

Carroll when drafted looked like a bargain pick and hopefully he would make it at AFL level, had some doubts coming into the season. This could be his springboard moment.
Williams - He is the added attacking player in our back half we needed.
TDK - He is a weapon and when his body fully matures, we have one of the better rucks going around.
Harry - Once he develops more game sense in the ruck, it will help reduce the pressure of being judged on his goals kicked.
Fog - We know he cracked into our team due to his pressure acts and he proved that in spades last night. Still probably in our bottom six players, but giving it a go.
Hollands - He was fumbly, he did not touch the ball a heap.... but he still impacted the game defensively. This kid has plenty of heart and someone that looks a little like Lappin, once he develops it will be a lovely sight.

Owies - Hopefully better for the run, but we might want to consider a slightly more dangerous forward.

I still think we stole a win, Brisbane should be upset with some of their kicking for goal.

I think Jordan Boyd will be regarded as one of the best 5 kicks in the afl by year end. The kicks he attempts AND hits are phenomenal. That stat which takes into account difficulty of kick will show it. Just next level last night.

Boyd, mcg, Newman saad and williams bringing the ball out of the backline is just amazing.

And L Fogarty….my Lord mate. You’re a LOcK for mine now. Can’t believe I wrote that. We’ve never had a better tackler. And he’s just become more composed with ball in hand now. Gives us enormous bite.

Cuners looked very dangerous. The muggy conditions didn’t help his usually super clean ball handling. Had a great preseason. In for a big year.

Best game I have seen kemp play. No high flying ridiculous attempts at marking. No getting lost. Huge improvement.

Boyd, McGovern, Weitering, Newman, Williams, Saad and even Kemp to an extent.

Most of those guys have some level of kicking skills that are attacking. We've positioned some great field kickers in one of the most important areas. Loving the development of Boyd and will be one of the first names written down most weeks.

Geelong were very meh!! When we took Billy Smedts and Darcy Lang, but I know they were very annoyed (borderline pissed) when we took Lachie Fogarty.

;)

Really happy for those guys that fight hard for those last couple of spots, ready to come in for injuries and or start to cement themselves in the side

Fogarty, Cottrell, Boyd, Owies, Young, Kemp, Cuners

Young guys on the rise, Hollands, Carroll and more at the lower level

While every side wants to add more elite players, lifting the output of these types takes a side to another level

Autopsy 2024 Rd 0 - Harry kicks the winner vs Lions