Training 2024 training updates.

Like Nick Daicos you mean who took all of a season and half to transition into the senior midfield? Like McInnes who played predominantly as a forward at VFL level and in all his senior apprearances? Like Allan who started his VFL on a wing before moving into the guts?

Draper was I think recruited as a potential mid but he rarely got midfield rotations over his time with us as I recall it. Played mostly off HB as I recall it. Close as he generally got to starting centre square was a wing this year.

Adams was playing predominantly as a forward throughout 2023 though. Just saying.
You're twisting a very simple concept into knots for some bizarre reason. Adams and Bianco out. Demattia in.

Same argument could have been made with Checkers and a number of others who were overlooked in their teens but came into the AFL system and flourished.

He has put together a couple of strong seasons in the VFL. He may not get on the list, and ultimately may not make it if he does get on, but to just right him off now is premature.
I wrote him off 3 years ago. He's slow, doesn't hit the scoreboard, averages about 20 disp in the VFL and his disposal is average. Checkers was taken as a back up tall which we needed at the time. He will be the new Blair if he gets chosen, which I highly doubt. He would be just like your username Clayton's, he's he's the player you have when you don't need a player, sort of like Claytons non alcoholic drink

He wouldn’t be getting inexplicably selected every week so that automatically takes him out of Blair territory. I’m not sure anyone would make a whipping boy out of a player who’s very clearly a depth option.

Until he gets a senior game and then we'll see all the fireworks. I'm far from an expert but he is not a need and just a good honest player. What pisses me off is that 3 or 4 sides have taken a chance on some KP players, more than one in a couple of examples. Why do we need to waste a spot on a depth player who really isn't AFL standard. This has to be nothing more than a token gesture, which I think is very nice of the club. As for the Blair comparison, once he's on the senior list he will be coping it in the VFL as well.

I’d say Schultz replaces Adams. I’m not sure how this changes anything for Macrae‘s selection.
Don’t get me wrong, I really want to see Macrae be given a real crack to play as a midfielder, just not sure how he slips in/ who he displaces in the starting 22 just yet.

Yeah I agree. From the GF23, which didn’t include Adams obviously, I see McStay in for Frampton and Schultz for Ginnivan.

Adams midfield minutes are absorbed by Nick spending more time in the middle.

At this stage we only add an additional midfielder to that through injury or the need for one more at the expense of a Markov or WHE. I can’t see Macrae taking Lipinski’s spot as it’s a different midfield role for mine.

Until he gets a senior game and then we'll see all the fireworks. I'm far from an expert but he is not a need and just a good honest player.
Has any player caused fireworks for underperforming on debut, or in their first handful of games? I think it’s probably far fetched to think there would be anything more than an “oh well, I guess he’s not up to it, let’s move on” type reaction, particularly given he’s a SSP player so we didn’t spend anything more than a 1 year list spot on him.
What pisses me off is that 3 or 4 sides have taken a chance on some KP players, more than one in a couple of examples. Why do we need to waste a spot on a depth player who really isn't AFL standard. This has to be nothing more than a token gesture, which I think is very nice of the club. As for the Blair comparison, once he's on the senior list he will be coping it in the VFL as well.
I agree it’s frustrating. Moreso now we’ve heard that we were keen on Reid and Morris but they were taken before our second pick. At least we can be happy that we’ve invited 2 talls to train with us. I liked Eyre in the VFL this year so I’m keen to see how he does over the summer with the senior boys.

I’d say Schultz replaces Adams. I’m not sure how this changes anything for Macrae‘s selection.
Don’t get me wrong, I really want to see Macrae be given a real crack to play as a midfielder, just not sure how he slips in/ who he displaces in the starting 22 just yet.

I tend to agree when it comes down to picking the best team. Jordy, Pendles, Mitchell and Nick can cover the midfield really well - withe Crisp and maybe another adding a few rotations. McCreery getting some midfield time has been mooted. Lippa can do it. Adams for Schultz. Ginni gone is likely to mean more opportunities for McInness/Harrison rather than an inside mid.

If they want to give Macrae early games, it might mean giving Pendles a lighter role off a flank for the start of the season. Obviously injuries might also open up possibilities.

Obviously injuries might also open up possibilities.
Agree. Footy, or the AFL version, is hardly ever played as a video game. Injuries will always be a part of that 'version' of the game.

McStay, Adams, AJ and Murphy (for 3Qs) all missed out on the GF.

Howe, Nick, Steele, Cox, Cameron all missed multiple weeks during the year.

Opportunities will present.

I think there may be some diamonds in the rough in state leagues etc, I know highlights are just that but seen some really good prospects who weren't considered, be interesting to see if this is the new "moneyball" clubs apt to, good to see Pies thinking differently.

Has any player caused fireworks for underperforming on debut, or in their first handful of games? I think it’s probably far fetched to think there would be anything more than an “oh well, I guess he’s not up to it, let’s move on” type reaction, particularly given he’s a SSP player so we didn’t spend anything more than a 1 year list spot on him.

I agree it’s frustrating. Moreso now we’ve heard that we were keen on Reid and Morris but they were taken before our second pick. At least we can be happy that we’ve invited 2 talls to train with us. I liked Eyre in the VFL this year so I’m keen to see how he does over the summer with the senior boys.
I'm just venting a bit bro. It can be frustrating but I have to just trust that the club knows what they're going

Went down to Vic Park today for a run and kick, but forgot the boys were out training. Got some close up videos which I'll post later.

Also talked to Shane o'Bree for a bit who was "spying" on us. 😜

I'm sure Jen2310 and other will post up a proper review. I wasn't paying 100% at times as I was doing my own thing but feel free to ask in case I noticed something like .... (these are random notes).

Really impressed to see the likes of De Goey, Mc Stay and Lippa down there.

Naicos run alot of laps (with Jordy and Lippa). He did join in on the "circle" work and minor contested stuff.

Haz and TJ did all the stuff with the boys but as I was leaving (early), they are doing stuff with Josh Fraser. Just minor stuff.

Haz (demattia) - fair dinkum, you wouldn't know he was only recruited recently. His build and skill ... he'll be pressing for some possie if his form warrants. Not even sure where he'll line up? ... but if he gets a calll up at some point, I dont' be surprised.

TJ - Needs a year minimum in the 2's. Frame isn't there for starters and was rough with basic skills (at times). Happy to see him handball on his left with Josh coz the vision and seeing run today, all his handballs were right. (not a blight on him, I just like all players being confident on both sides)

Schultz. Great pick up period. Reckon he has a core like Checkers.

AJ - Look I'm a fan but it was obvious defense and 2 way running was something he needed to work on. I reckon he has arrived.... and personally I've picked my best starting FWD six are Checkers, Danny, AJ, Bobby, Billy and Schultz..... so to see AJ gliding, I'm very excited.

Went down to Vic Park today for a run and kick, but forgot the boys were out training. Got some close up videos which I'll post later.

Also talked to Shane o'Bree for a bit who was "spying" on us. 😜

I'm sure Jen2310 and other will post up a proper review. I wasn't paying 100% at times as I was doing my own thing but feel free to ask in case I noticed something like .... (these are random notes).

Really impressed to see the likes of De Goey, Mc Stay and Lippa down there.

Naicos run alot of laps (with Jordy and Lippa). He did join in on the "circle" work and minor contested stuff.

Haz and TJ did all the stuff with the boys but as I was leaving (early), they are doing stuff with Josh Fraser. Just minor stuff.

Haz (demattia) - fair dinkum, you wouldn't know he was only recruited recently. His build and skill ... he'll be pressing for some possie if his form warrants. Not even sure where he'll line up? ... but if he gets a calll up at some point, I dont' be surprised.

TJ - Needs a year minimum in the 2's. Frame isn't there for starters and was rough with basic skills (at times). Happy to see him handball on his left with Josh coz the vision and seeing run today, all his handballs were right. (not a blight on him, I just like all players being confident on both sides)

Schultz. Great pick up period. Reckon he has a core like Checkers.

AJ - Look I'm a fan but it was obvious defense and 2 way running was something he needed to work on. I reckon he has arrived.... and personally I've picked my best starting FWD six are Checkers, Danny, AJ, Bobby, Billy and Schultz..... so to see AJ gliding, I'm very excited.
Who does OBree work for?

Oh no...give us the bad news first...

Looks like Mcstay has hurt his other knee. Was talking to someone— I didn’t see it, who said it happened innocuously and his leg gave out.

Let’s hope it’s not as bad as it sounds

Looks like Mcstay has hurt his other knee. Was talking to someone— I didn’t see it, who said it happened innocuously and his leg gave out.

Poor Dan. How bloody frustrating & sad for him.

Let's hope it's not serious.

Did the person who saw it describe how he left the field? A lot of pain or difficulty?

Also I saw your Carmichael tweet with him struggling in the running drill. I was at training on Monday and overheard him talk about an upper leg issue. Some sort of knock so he may be working through something minor.

Did the person who saw it describe how he left the field? A lot of pain or difficulty?

Also I saw your Carmichael tweet with him struggling in the running drill. I was at training on Monday and overheard him talk about an upper leg issue. Some sort of knock so he may be working through something minor.

Makes sense re: Carmy. Looked like he was dealing with something

And no. But apparently he looked upset. It’s hard to go on little info. Going through my videos, looked like it happened early. Before 10am

Makes sense re: Carmy. Looked like he was dealing with something

And no. But apparently he looked upset. It’s hard to go on little info. Going through my videos, looked like it happened early. Before 10am

Lippa. Reef and ash looked really good. Lippa looks to have his confidence back. Reef and ash’s pace off the mark is really noticeable.

Jordy looked good in his first session back. IQ looks like a beast

dcad86c61ede78e0f7d182173a012adb.jpg

You're twisting a very simple concept into knots for some bizarre reason. Adams and Bianco out. Demattia in.

I wasn’t ever big on Bianco’s midfield prospects but happy for you to think otherwise.

Not sure why you think I’m the 1 twisting anything. I’ve been pretty clear. You claimed we’re a midfielder down on the list. Adding HDM balances out the departure of Adams. It’s pretty simple math.

You’ve scrambled to add Draper but he wasn’t projecting as a mid, playing predominantly HBF at VFL level because he wasn’t impacting in the midfield when he got those opportunities at VFL level. Since you decided to include Draper then I’m equally able to add Harrison, McInnes et al who all actually project as players who can have genuine midfield rotations and are yet to be given any significant time in that role at either level.