List Mgmt. 2024 Young Talent Time (Drafting)

I've thought about this and if Warner is off the table this year I'd be keen to go with Berry and Allen, then try to get the 3rd first rounder into next year for Warner.
Out of contract, do you think Warner is worth more than our first and our f1?

What is the scenario where Sydney would say 'no' to that?

I mean I am sure they would ask the question, all clubs losing out of contract stars do, but how would it actually pan out.

This is just wrong. Just pick an outlier case if you can't see it. We have Jackson and Darcy on long term deals, pretend the best available is a gun ruck prospect - absolutely bonkers to take him without trading one of the other two. Even that might be a terrible decision if the ruck doesn't come on.

Can apply the exact same logic to KPFs and KPDs for us right now.

I certainly hope Walls can think on his feet more than "best available" because otherwise he is out of his depth.
I think the point is a bit more nuanced than a blanket statement like “This is just wrong.”
Like most things in life, it’s not as black and white as that.
Ruck is the one position where it’s a quite specialised position and you don’t really play anywhere else apart from sometimes as a second ruck/forward.
I can point you out dozens of examples of clubs that reached for a positional need in the top 10 of the national draft and got it horribly wrong. Fischer Mcasey was another that comes to mind for Adelaide in 2019. They needed a key defender for their list at the time, they said. What a disaster that was (luckily for us).
I don’t agree that Key position forward and especially defenders are off the table for us in the draft for the foreseeable future. Alex Pearce is 30 years old this year for starters and Ryan is 29 next season. In particular I’m not sure we have a big alpha make key defender over 200cm coming though the ranks to match up on the brutes of the comp other than Pearce. That particular type of key defender is very hard to find.

Not all of our high quality players are going to stay until they are 33 years old either. We should all have learned that lesson by now after the last few off seasons.

Anyway what us fans think About the draftees doesn’t really matter.
I’ll never forget the night of the 2013 draft and bulldogs fans on Facebook melting down and microwaving memberships and losing the plot because they had selected a bolter called Marcus Bontempelli at pick 4 instead of…
wait for it…
James Aish.

I can point you out dozens of examples of clubs that reached for a positional need in the top 10 of the national draft and got it horribly wrong. Fischer Mcasey was another that comes to mind for Adelaide in 2019. They needed a key defender for their list at the time, they said. What a disaster that was (luckily for us).
I think it's fair to say however that most clubs picking in the top 10 of a draft aren't in the position we're in currently, with a young core of players in just about every line across the field. there's more nuance then just automatically going for best available.

Allan mate with two A's
You're fighting a losing battle there mate, if they cant get names right of players on our list, good luck with ones not even drafted yet.

While I have you, thoughts on Whan and Hart for next year?

I think the point is a bit more nuanced than a blanket statement like “This is just wrong.”
Like most things in life, it’s not as black and white as that.
Ruck is the one position where it’s a quite specialised position and you don’t really play anywhere else apart from sometimes as a second ruck/forward.
I don’t agree that Key position forward and especially defenders are off the table for us in the draft for the foreseeable future. Alex Pearce is 30 years old this year for starters and Ryan is 29 next season. In particular I’m not sure we have a big alpha make key defender over 200cm coming though the ranks to match up on the brutes of the comp other than Pearce. That particular type of key defender is very hard to find.

Not all of our high quality players are going to stay until they are 33 years old either. We should all have learned that lesson by now after the last few off seasons.

Anyway what us fans think About the draftees doesn’t really matter.
I’ll never forget the night of the 2013 draft and bulldogs fans on Facebook melting down and microwaving memberships and losing the plot because they had selected a bolter called Marcus Bontempelli at pick 4 instead of…
wait for it…
James Aish.
How can you claim a "nuanced" position when you literally tried to say there is a rule you follow every time?

I stand by it.

You're fighting a losing battle there mate, if they cant get names right of players on our list, good luck with ones not even drafted yet.

While I have you, thoughts on Whan and Hart for next year?
I think Whan is a tremendous player. Pure silk. Great evasive skills and lovely movement. The only thing with Whan I'd say is he sometimes bites off way too much with his left boot by switching inboard. It's not a technical issue because his kicking technique is perfect. It's about him making more sensible, safe decisions.

Hart is a tremendous talent. He's found it a bit tough this year because the whole WAFL comp is well aware of him - having been an All-Australian 16's in 2023. Now it's up to him to cope with that - to get stronger and find ways to break the close checking small WAFL defenders. He is capable of doing that. But for now, the WA 2025 list is so strong I can only fit him in at number 16.

I'll be somewhat disappointed if WA don't win the championships next year.

How's this for example. WA 16's were good last year. Everyone acknowledged that. But in the space of 12 months the following players who did not play a match in those championships have moved into the WA top 30.

2-Cody Curtin (CL)
4-Sam Swadling (WP)
5-Wesley Walley Jnr (S)
11-Charlie Banfield (CL)
12-Koby Evans (P)
13-Oscar Willis (CL)
17-Joshua Nomlatyu (EF)
19-Luke Hallett (EP)
20-Cooper Ramsay (EF)
27-Max McCullough (S)
29-Jake Caton (EP)

There will be draftable players who simply can't squeeze into the WA 18's next year. I've been waiting for a year like this for a while.

I think Whan is a tremendous player. Pure silk. Great evasive skills and lovely movement. The only thing with Whan I'd say is he sometimes bites off way too much with his left boot by switching inboard. It's not a technical issue because his kicking technique is perfect. It's about him making more sensible, safe decisions.

Hart is a tremendous talent. He's found it a bit tough this year because the whole WAFL comp is well aware of him - having been an All-Australian 16's in 2023. Now it's up to him to cope with that - to get stronger and find ways to break the close checking small WAFL defenders. He is capable of doing that. But for now, the WA 2025 list is so strong I can only fit him in at number 16.

I'll be somewhat disappointed if WA don't win the championships next year.

How's this for example. WA 16's were good last year. Everyone acknowledged that. But in the space of 12 months the following players who did not play a match in those championships have moved into the WA top 30.

2-Cody Curtin (CL)
4-Sam Swadling (WP)
5-Wesley Walley Jnr (S)
11-Charlie Banfield (CL)
12-Koby Evans (P)
13-Oscar Willis (CL)
17-Joshua Nomlatyu (EF)
19-Luke Hallett (EP)
20-Cooper Ramsay (EF)
27-Max McCullough (S)
29-Jake Caton (EP)

There will be draftable players who simply can't squeeze into the WA 18's next year. I've been waiting for a year like this for a while.
Legend thanks for all your work around here spreading the word of WA talent

How can you claim a "nuanced" position when you literally tried to say there is a rule you follow every time?

I stand by it.
Whenever I read anything like this on here in my head it starts to sound like a Roy an HG bit.

Makes outrageous and illogical point "AND I WON'T RESILE FROM THE POSITION ROY!".
"NO-ONE IS ASKING YOU TO RESILE HG!"

Thank You mate.....very much appreciated. I hope I'm right about next year's list. Hahaha....I can feel my neck on the chopping block for making a big call but hey, it's no fun otherwise.
I mean, I saw one highlight of Toby Whan (who looks huge), feeding a handball over the pack straight to a team mate then working to get to a position to get it back before dobbing one from 50 on the run and I'm sold if there is more WA talent like it.

We should be getting more excited about Kenobi around here, he looks special (scroll for his goal higlight in the link below)

Edit/WARNING: In case it affects you like it affected me, I hadnt thought about it but this video is commentated and obviously includes the young Souths player who sadly lost his life on the weekend in a car crash

Walley would be indigenous? NGA?
What about Caton?
I think 197cm Joshua Nomlatyu is a Freo NGA. Can't confirm. If he keeps tracking like he is watch out. What a talent. South African heritage I believe. EF are often forced to play him in the ruck but really he is a CHF/FF. So agile for a below ager of that height. Nice left boot. A bit gentile but that can be fixed.

It looks like clubs will have the right to match bids for all NGA players by the time Joshua's eligible to draft.

Hopefully when Ramsay rucks and Nomaltyu is fit again, he will be up forward for EF colts....definitely mobile for his height

Thank You mate.....very much appreciated. I hope I'm right about next year's list. Hahaha....I can feel my neck on the chopping block for making a big call but hey, it's no fun otherwise.
What are you doing supporting GWS if you're so invested in WA footy :p reckon you should keep hanging out with us!

Out of contract, do you think Warner is worth more than our first and our f1?

What is the scenario where Sydney would say 'no' to that?

I mean I am sure they would ask the question, all clubs losing out of contract stars do, but how would it actually pan out.
Yeah out of contract that's about what he's worth IMO, maybe Sydney haggle for a swap of 2nds or something.

The concern is West Coast making a play for him

List Mgmt. 2024 Young Talent Time (Drafting)