Pre-Christmas Update

B: McGovern Weitering Saad
HB: Newman Haynes Hollands
C: Acres Cripps Docherty
HF: Hollands McKay Williams
F: Motlop Curnow Kemp
OB: TDK Cerra Walsh
IC: Cowan Hewett Jagga Fogarty

Reckon those in bold are locks, italics very likely and plain still 50/50.

Lord unlucky. Been great by all reports but only so many inside mid minutes to go round and he lacks versatility to play elsewhere.

Moir I'd love to see in the team but feel we need Fogs pressure and have Kemp ahead as 3rd tall for now.

I like O.Hollands more then Boyd in defence due to ability to run and accumulate while Cowan is a better all round defender.

Pre-Christmas Update

HB: Newman Haynes Hollands
C: Acres Cripps Docherty
HF: Hollands McKay Williams
F: Motlop Curnow Kemp
OB: TDK Cerra Walsh
IC: Cowan Hewett Jagga Fogarty

Reckon those in bold are locks, italics very likely and plain still 50/50.

Lord unlucky. Been great by all reports but only so many inside mid minutes to go round and he lacks versatility to play elsewhere.

Moir I'd love to see in the team but feel we need Fogs pressure and have Kemp ahead as 3rd tall for now.

I like O.Hollands more then Boyd in defence due to ability to run and accumulate while Cowan is a better all round defender.
Its a great looking team.

Whether we go tall/short back or forward will be lead by how the oppo structures up.

I'm not sold on Ollie's disposal off HB, at least until he's rolled out more match practice.

Maybe Boyd to defensive BP, releasing Saad to run off HB - would be nice to see him run & use his kicking more.

Haynes at CHB working with Weiters/Gov looks to be pretty important - most picking him. Lots riding on his success.

One question - (thinking about the great dynasty teams - Hawthorn, Brisbane, Richmond) is our apparent "versatility" a strength, or a weakness?

In terms of best 23 - we're clearly still a work in progress. We've got 8-9 months to sort this out before finals ;).

In terms of depth (needed through H&A) - CHB aside, it's the best we've looked for a long time.

Amongst all of this a couple of things strike me. The first is the need for speed - not necessarily blistering pace like Wilson but better than average pace. Brings Cincotta, Cottrell, Durdin, Williams and Wilson into the picture although all have different question marks on them and Cincotta is out for a while anyway. Wilson looks good but still very green, the others its probably more about body.

The other thing that stands out to me is ball use. This is what holds back a number of our players and there are too few with real quality ball use by foot. This puts McGovern Docherty Williams and especially Boyd in the picture. Boyd's use by foot is exceptional albeit he hit a rough patch last year, but when on song it is not merely elite in my view, it is all time elite for precision. I just think we are missing huge trick not setting up to have him be our launcher from defence or alternatively delivering inside forward 50 - whichever get the ball to him in space and he will hit the target better than anyone. Plus he has the versatility of playing in any third of the ground and playing an accountable role if that is what the situation calls for.

At this stage I have 1 definite non-starter round 1 being the injured Cincotta, another 9 I can't see pushing themselves in if we have a complete list to choose from (yes I know, pipedream) Fantasia and Pittonet who I think are now depth/injury cover/give TDK a game off types, the Irish boys in Monahan and Duffy and the developing types in BC, LC, HOK, HOF and Charleson who would have to have a huge preseason to push into contention ahead of others. Just ahead of them I have Lemmey and Wilson as types we would love to get into the side, but would need impressive preseasons to get ahead of others.

At the other end I have Weitering, Saad, Acres, Cripps, Walsh, Curnow, McKay and TDK as entrenched. Newman would have to have his form fall off a cliff to be overtaken whilst Haynes is a genuine second/third tall interceptor down back and better in that role even at his age than those we have had in the role (primarily McGovern and Kemp) and Smith is just too good to have running around in the 2s assuming he keeps showing what he has in the early preseason. He is very slight but he has shown he can play against men and we can ease him in to the midfield via controlled minutes and time off either half-back (extra number to be used on the way out) or half-forward (either at the feet of the big boys or more likely pushing up as an extra mid) either of which he would excel at. That's 11 of the 23. That leaves 19 players contesting 12 spots.

Newman Weitering Haynes
Saad KD SD or MD
Acres Cripps Walsh
SF or MF Curnow Smith
McKay 3rdTF SF
TDK IM IM
BENCH

On the bench we want a 7th defender, a 7th forward and then 3 players that can cover injuries and/or provide midfield minutes.

The 19 candidates seem to me to fall into the following groups:

Tall utilities
Young
Silvagni
McGovern
Kemp

of whom Young is the one really tall option, Silvagni can relief ruck and has had limited trial as a run-with big mid, the other 2 can play forward or back as 3rd tall or tall flankers or at a pinch cover a 2nd tall role in an emergency (moreso forward than back) and Kemp is untried as a mid but has his fans there.

Small utilities
Ollie Hollands - mainly a mid, being trained off half back over summer after impressing back end of last year and can play off a forward flank pushing up.
Jordan Boyd - mainly defender but has been played in all thirds of the ground. Elite ball use his one wood.
Lachie Cowan - mainly a defender but clearly mid capacities. Not sure about forward but expect he could do the high half forward role.
Sam Docherty - true utility, perhaps best as a defender coming off another knee, more straight line running.
Zac Williams - traditionally a defender, our hopes of him being able to transition to midfield not working out. Then last year pushed forward and proved a surprise packet. Could play either end with maybe short bursts as an outside mid.

Mids
Binns - outside mid - only just starting to show AFL traits, very slight but huge endurance and racks up possessions in VFL
Cerra - inside/outside mid - class act if his body is right
Hewett - veteran inside mid - lacks toe, but they tried dropping him last year and we saw how we missed him
Lord - newbie inside mid - still developing but seems to be improving rapidly and in ripping physical shape.

Medium forwards
Cottrell - huge endurance and top speed heart and soul type.
Elijah Hollands - flanker who can run through the midfield, real touch of silk.
Ashton Moir - still very green but x-factor galore can hurt you in the air or on the ground and do the freakish. Low endurance but another preseason may make a significant change. Far more an aerial presence than either of the other 2 presents a point of difference.

Small forwards
All of whom can run through the mids to a greater or lesser degree -
Durdin - if his body is right I am a fan. Quick skilled brave and versatile.
Fogarty - defensive minded, clever footballer but limited hurt factor
Motlop - seems to be the coaches favourite of the fringe small forwards at the moment, shows flashes of class.

For the sake of the exercise I exclude from consideration any potential SSD pickup, though I think Ethan Phillips might well be the best option we have as a second KPD if we get him on the list.

The first question is what types do we need filling in the spaces. It seems we need:
1. a KPD,
2. a SD or MD,
3. 2 SF or a SF & MF
4. a 3rdTF
5. a couple of inside 2xIM and a couple of outside mids 2xOM and ideally 1 in/out mid 1xI/OM for balance.
6. A 7th defender; and
7. A 7th forward.

KPD
We need a KPD, and although we have no specialist in the 19 we do have the 4 tall utilities. Of these only Young is genuine KPD size, and is first and foremost a defender but can relieve in the ruck or up forward. Against that he is a confidence player who can really stink on a bad day and seems to have been programmed to slow the game down whenever he gets the ball. That has been trained into him and should be trained straight back out. His disposal is mediocre but that is where a smart player and smart coaching can offer the easy handball or dump kick preferably to someone who does use the ball well. For me the spot is his if he is in reasonable form, albeit that against a lot of opposition we may not need that 2nd genuine KPD in which case he may well be the seventh defender role and used to pinch hit wherever we need height. Against some opposition we may simply go for the extra run, but I am sick of seeing pedestrian second key forwards get a hold of us because Weitering has to play on their number 1 and Kemp and/or McGovern are outsized, so for me in reasonable form Young gets this spot.
Silvagni is the other that can relief ruck, he is a clever wholehearted footballer and give you all he has. The Japanese used to call Wayne Gardiner "Mr 110%" and though logic says there can be no giving 110% that is what it looks like with JSOS. On the down side he lacks speed for the quicker opponents and size against the bigger ones and smarts and heart can only make up for so much.
McGovern and Kemp are the old and young bull third tall swingmen. McGovern has that elite kick on him, Kemp has the scope for improvement. Either of these or Silvagni is also a third tall forward option, not so much Young unless one of the big 2 forwards is not down there.

SD or MD
Again we don't have any of these in the 19 but we do have utilities. McGovern or Kemp can certainly play the medium defender role. Boyd, Cowan and Williams small defender is probably their one wood, maybe Docherty also post another knee. And Ollie Hollands took to the role well in a small sample end of the season. Plenty of options here. In a tough call I am going McGovern for his experience, versatility and disposal.

SF x 2 (or 1 and 1xMF)
Of the 19 only Moir seems to me exclusively a forward, the others can all run through the midfield.
The smaller forwards have as a class been a real weak spot for us for some time and it is as much as a structural decision as anything else that will see who gets these spots. Want gut run - Cottrell, x-factor - Moir, silk - Hollands, grunt - Fogarty, speed - Durdin, exposed ability to hit the scoreboard - UMMMM - Motlop once, Williams a couple of times. Whilst I am a fan of Durdin I give the nod to Williams for the start of the year at least. After considerable hesitation I have decided to go a MF rather than a second SF and give that spot to Elijah Hollands as being further advanced than Moir at this stage.

3TF
Third tall forward again is one where we really only have Moir or the 3 tall utilities of whom Silvangi and McGovern have a decent sample size of offerings and Kemp a very small sample size. Subject to Moir getting his tank up to an AFL level all are AFL calibre. In a tough call I am going with JSOS ahead of Kemp but really it could be either with the other on the bench.

IMx2
To my mind the inside mid spots would have to go to Cerra and Hewett but we probably don't want them both in there at the same time as Cripps too often, so need a bit of juggling to avoid this. Lord is rapidly improving and may well force his way in anyway, but I think the solution is to shift Cerra to an OM spot giving the second IM spot to Lord.

I/OM
As per above Cerra

7th Defender

Tough call, plenty of good options. Ultimately going with the old head Docherty

7th forward

Tough call, but more for lack of quality options. I like all of Cottrell Durdin, Fogarty, Moir for different reasons, but ultimately I have gone with the versatility of Ollie Hollands

That then fleshes the 23 out as:

Newman Weitering Haynes
Saad Young McGovern
Acres Cripps Walsh
E Hollands Curnow Smith
McKay Silvagni Williams
TDK Hewett Lord
Boyd Cerra Docherty O Hollands Kemp

EMERG: from Binns Cottrell Cowan
Durdin Fogarty Moir Motlop Pittonet

with Cincotta on the injury list,

leaving a reserves line-up something like

Charleson Lemmey* O'Farrell
L Camporeale Monahan Wilson
Binns B Camporeale Cowan
Cottrell McMahon* Fantasia
Moir O'Keeffe* Motlop
Pittonet Fogarty C Durdin
Duffy SSP1 SSP2/VFL VFL U23guest

*if we pick up a KPD SSP then they go to FB
Lemmey to CHF, McMahon to FF and O'Keeffe
to the bench

True, but it was clear in his 2 cameos last year he didn't have the tank for a full game in the firsts even in that forward role.

He would have struggled to see out a game, but a qtr a game is difficult to judge a level of endurance

First full preseason, body in good shape, looking forward to what he can do

Interesting watching Moir in those training videos, I really do think he will cement a spot this year and will surprise many
I am sort of following up on the points made by ianh, Arr0w.

But my genuine question would be as to whether a player can be expected to progress from blowing up during VFL games, to playing 2 x one quarter cameos as sub, to playing full AFL games on the basis of just a full single offseason (taking last offseason as modified)?

I was excited by what he offered in his cameos, but am cautious on what we might be able to expect in 2025.

I am sort of following up on the points made by ianh, Arr0w.

But my genuine question would be as to whether a player can be expected to progress from blowing up during VFL games, to playing 2 x one quarter cameos as sub, to playing full AFL games on the basis of just a full single offseason (taking last offseason as modified)?

I was excited by what he offered in his cameos, but am cautious on what we might be able to expect in 2025.

Club took its time with Moir after a misdiagnosis of his hip in his draft year

Since then his body shape and fitness levels have changed for the better

While he would still need a couple more preseasons, he would currently have adequate fitness to play as a forward this year

Great to hear, because he has more x-factor than anyone on the list.
I think Charlie might have him covered- even Charlie doesnt know what he is going to do when he does it or something else..

Appreciate everyone's efforts in selecting a best 23 and what I'm loving is the variations in sides and opinions. Tough knowing at this stage who will start round 1, but gee, if the fitness stays, we've got to be in with a chance.

What I'd like to see is players picked on performance and form and not reputation as per last season. We now have a great range of depth and talent across all lines, it's now up to the coaching staff to place the best team on the park to nullify the opposition and play to our strengths.

So with a little bit of luck and planning, this really is a season where we can make some real in roads to being a premiership contender. I'm over the talk and the, living in the past glory days, it's time for this group to stand up and be counted.

Last attempt before it starts ramping up after Christmas. I’m trying to include players that are either locked and important cogs or players that have had a high amount of mentions in the off season.

HB: Hollands Haynes Newman
C: Acres Cerra Smith
HF: Durdin McKay Kemp
F: Williams Curnow Motlop
OB: TDK Cripps Walsh

INT: Cowan Hollands Hewett Lord
SUB: Doc

I think we will start to use the sub similar to hawks in 2024 - experienced players that can add a spark in multiple positions. Doc/cotterell/fogarty will be very popular here.

Unlucky: Fog, Cotterell, Binns, Moir, JSOS, Boyd, Wilson and young. But all are handy depth and will be in and out of the side. JSOS will be in as soon as he plays a good game in the vfl backline. Cotterell once in won’t give his spot back as usual. Moir binns boyd and Wilson will be putting heaps of pressure on.

Amongst all of this a couple of things strike me. The first is the need for speed - not necessarily blistering pace like Wilson but better than average pace. Brings Cincotta, Cottrell, Durdin, Williams and Wilson into the picture although all have different question marks on them and Cincotta is out for a while anyway. Wilson looks good but still very green, the others its probably more about body.

The other thing that stands out to me is ball use. This is what holds back a number of our players and there are too few with real quality ball use by foot. This puts McGovern Docherty Williams and especially Boyd in the picture. Boyd's use by foot is exceptional albeit he hit a rough patch last year, but when on song it is not merely elite in my view, it is all time elite for precision. I just think we are missing huge trick not setting up to have him be our launcher from defence or alternatively delivering inside forward 50 - whichever get the ball to him in space and he will hit the target better than anyone. Plus he has the versatility of playing in any third of the ground and playing an accountable role if that is what the situation calls for.

At this stage I have 1 definite non-starter round 1 being the injured Cincotta, another 9 I can't see pushing themselves in if we have a complete list to choose from (yes I know, pipedream) Fantasia and Pittonet who I think are now depth/injury cover/give TDK a game off types, the Irish boys in Monahan and Duffy and the developing types in BC, LC, HOK, HOF and Charleson who would have to have a huge preseason to push into contention ahead of others. Just ahead of them I have Lemmey and Wilson as types we would love to get into the side, but would need impressive preseasons to get ahead of others.

At the other end I have Weitering, Saad, Acres, Cripps, Walsh, Curnow, McKay and TDK as entrenched. Newman would have to have his form fall off a cliff to be overtaken whilst Haynes is a genuine second/third tall interceptor down back and better in that role even at his age than those we have had in the role (primarily McGovern and Kemp) and Smith is just too good to have running around in the 2s assuming he keeps showing what he has in the early preseason. He is very slight but he has shown he can play against men and we can ease him in to the midfield via controlled minutes and time off either half-back (extra number to be used on the way out) or half-forward (either at the feet of the big boys or more likely pushing up as an extra mid) either of which he would excel at. That's 11 of the 23. That leaves 19 players contesting 12 spots.

Newman Weitering Haynes
Saad KD SD or MD
Acres Cripps Walsh
SF or MF Curnow Smith
McKay 3rdTF SF
TDK IM IM
BENCH

On the bench we want a 7th defender, a 7th forward and then 3 players that can cover injuries and/or provide midfield minutes.

The 19 candidates seem to me to fall into the following groups:

Tall utilities
Young
Silvagni
McGovern
Kemp

of whom Young is the one really tall option, Silvagni can relief ruck and has had limited trial as a run-with big mid, the other 2 can play forward or back as 3rd tall or tall flankers or at a pinch cover a 2nd tall role in an emergency (moreso forward than back) and Kemp is untried as a mid but has his fans there.

Small utilities
Ollie Hollands - mainly a mid, being trained off half back over summer after impressing back end of last year and can play off a forward flank pushing up.
Jordan Boyd - mainly defender but has been played in all thirds of the ground. Elite ball use his one wood.
Lachie Cowan - mainly a defender but clearly mid capacities. Not sure about forward but expect he could do the high half forward role.
Sam Docherty - true utility, perhaps best as a defender coming off another knee, more straight line running.
Zac Williams - traditionally a defender, our hopes of him being able to transition to midfield not working out. Then last year pushed forward and proved a surprise packet. Could play either end with maybe short bursts as an outside mid.

Mids
Binns - outside mid - only just starting to show AFL traits, very slight but huge endurance and racks up possessions in VFL
Cerra - inside/outside mid - class act if his body is right
Hewett - veteran inside mid - lacks toe, but they tried dropping him last year and we saw how we missed him
Lord - newbie inside mid - still developing but seems to be improving rapidly and in ripping physical shape.

Medium forwards
Cottrell - huge endurance and top speed heart and soul type.
Elijah Hollands - flanker who can run through the midfield, real touch of silk.
Ashton Moir - still very green but x-factor galore can hurt you in the air or on the ground and do the freakish. Low endurance but another preseason may make a significant change. Far more an aerial presence than either of the other 2 presents a point of difference.

Small forwards
All of whom can run through the mids to a greater or lesser degree -
Durdin - if his body is right I am a fan. Quick skilled brave and versatile.
Fogarty - defensive minded, clever footballer but limited hurt factor
Motlop - seems to be the coaches favourite of the fringe small forwards at the moment, shows flashes of class.

For the sake of the exercise I exclude from consideration any potential SSD pickup, though I think Ethan Phillips might well be the best option we have as a second KPD if we get him on the list.

The first question is what types do we need filling in the spaces. It seems we need:
1. a KPD,
2. a SD or MD,
3. 2 SF or a SF & MF
4. a 3rdTF
5. a couple of inside 2xIM and a couple of outside mids 2xOM and ideally 1 in/out mid 1xI/OM for balance.
6. A 7th defender; and
7. A 7th forward.

KPD
We need a KPD, and although we have no specialist in the 19 we do have the 4 tall utilities. Of these only Young is genuine KPD size, and is first and foremost a defender but can relieve in the ruck or up forward. Against that he is a confidence player who can really stink on a bad day and seems to have been programmed to slow the game down whenever he gets the ball. That has been trained into him and should be trained straight back out. His disposal is mediocre but that is where a smart player and smart coaching can offer the easy handball or dump kick preferably to someone who does use the ball well. For me the spot is his if he is in reasonable form, albeit that against a lot of opposition we may not need that 2nd genuine KPD in which case he may well be the seventh defender role and used to pinch hit wherever we need height. Against some opposition we may simply go for the extra run, but I am sick of seeing pedestrian second key forwards get a hold of us because Weitering has to play on their number 1 and Kemp and/or McGovern are outsized, so for me in reasonable form Young gets this spot.
Silvagni is the other that can relief ruck, he is a clever wholehearted footballer and give you all he has. The Japanese used to call Wayne Gardiner "Mr 110%" and though logic says there can be no giving 110% that is what it looks like with JSOS. On the down side he lacks speed for the quicker opponents and size against the bigger ones and smarts and heart can only make up for so much.
McGovern and Kemp are the old and young bull third tall swingmen. McGovern has that elite kick on him, Kemp has the scope for improvement. Either of these or Silvagni is also a third tall forward option, not so much Young unless one of the big 2 forwards is not down there.

SD or MD
Again we don't have any of these in the 19 but we do have utilities. McGovern or Kemp can certainly play the medium defender role. Boyd, Cowan and Williams small defender is probably their one wood, maybe Docherty also post another knee. And Ollie Hollands took to the role well in a small sample end of the season. Plenty of options here. In a tough call I am going McGovern for his experience, versatility and disposal.

SF x 2 (or 1 and 1xMF)
Of the 19 only Moir seems to me exclusively a forward, the others can all run through the midfield.
The smaller forwards have as a class been a real weak spot for us for some time and it is as much as a structural decision as anything else that will see who gets these spots. Want gut run - Cottrell, x-factor - Moir, silk - Hollands, grunt - Fogarty, speed - Durdin, exposed ability to hit the scoreboard - UMMMM - Motlop once, Williams a couple of times. Whilst I am a fan of Durdin I give the nod to Williams for the start of the year at least. After considerable hesitation I have decided to go a MF rather than a second SF and give that spot to Elijah Hollands as being further advanced than Moir at this stage.

3TF
Third tall forward again is one where we really only have Moir or the 3 tall utilities of whom Silvangi and McGovern have a decent sample size of offerings and Kemp a very small sample size. Subject to Moir getting his tank up to an AFL level all are AFL calibre. In a tough call I am going with JSOS ahead of Kemp but really it could be either with the other on the bench.

IMx2
To my mind the inside mid spots would have to go to Cerra and Hewett but we probably don't want them both in there at the same time as Cripps too often, so need a bit of juggling to avoid this. Lord is rapidly improving and may well force his way in anyway, but I think the solution is to shift Cerra to an OM spot giving the second IM spot to Lord.

I/OM
As per above Cerra

7th Defender

Tough call, plenty of good options. Ultimately going with the old head Docherty

7th forward

Tough call, but more for lack of quality options. I like all of Cottrell Durdin, Fogarty, Moir for different reasons, but ultimately I have gone with the versatility of Ollie Hollands

That then fleshes the 23 out as:

Newman Weitering Haynes
Saad Young McGovern
Acres Cripps Walsh
E Hollands Curnow Smith
McKay Silvagni Williams
TDK Hewett Lord
Boyd Cerra Docherty O Hollands Kemp

EMERG: from Binns Cottrell Cowan
Durdin Fogarty Moir Motlop Pittonet

with Cincotta on the injury list,

leaving a reserves line-up something like

Charleson Lemmey* O'Farrell
L Camporeale Monahan Wilson
Binns B Camporeale Cowan
Cottrell McMahon* Fantasia
Moir O'Keeffe* Motlop
Pittonet Fogarty C Durdin
Duffy SSP1 SSP2/VFL VFL U23guest

*if we pick up a KPD SSP then they go to FB
Lemmey to CHF, McMahon to FF and O'Keeffe
to the bench

Great analysis. IMO, I think you nearly nailed the team Ian.
I feel Cerra and Walsh on ball is the change I would make. Lord, Hewett and Cripps is like setting up the titanic to fail in a speed race. Doc and Ollie changing wing to accomodate the Walsh change. Motlop in the 22 for Lord and McGovern out for Cowan.
Better balance IMO.

Saad Weitering McGovern
Cowan Haynes Hollands
Acres Cripps Smith
Williams Curnow Hollands
Moir McKay Motlop

TDK Cerra Walsh

Durdin Kemp Newman Lord

Docherty

Newman the defensive rotation
Lord the midfield rotation
Kemp the third forward rotation
Durdin the forward/midfield rotation
Docherty the jack of all trades : sub

Haynes as experienced partner for Weitering and McGovern in defence.

Smith will rack up possessions at will and deliver forward with precision from the wing.

Williams, Hollands and Moir add footy smarts forward to complement the 2 keys with Motlop crumbing and supplying pressure.

In Smith, we have the footy iq and weighted delivery forward that we’ve lacked.
Feel that in tandem with a fit and firing Cerra, they will bring the best out of our forwards who can become a very dangerous unit.

Albeit from limited exposure, impressed with the way Lord works with Cripps, releasing him with lovely hands to rampage forward from stoppages.

Overall, Hollands rebranded in defence with Smith, Lord and a splash of Durdin through the midfield and Moir forward, the team looks refreshed, sharp and dangerous.
The knockout blow would be the ascension of the “King” to elite AFL ruckman status …

Boyd Young O’Farrell
Charleson Silvagni Wilson
Binns Hewett Camporeale
Fogarty Lemmey Cottrell
O’Keefe McMahon* Fantasia

Pittonet Cincotta Camporeale

Duffy Monahan Carroll*

*SSP x 2

If Jagga and Lord can become bonafide mids, I’d like to see Sam Walsh looked after a bit better and played on the wing. Will help protect his back and prolong his career. He’d rack up All Australians that’s for sure..

Should be there now I feel. Between Hewitt, Cerra & Lord we have enough 'Grunt' and disposal.
We also potentially have C.Durdin, Williams & Elijah to help out.

Walsh is a midfielder - one of best in the league when he is fit - even half fit he is better than most players who play his position. I don’t he can play wing or that the coaches should play him there. Wing is a specialist position now unlike in years past where it was seen as somewhere to squeeze in another midfielder. Acres is a winger. Doc and Ollie can play there. Binns and Cottrell too. That’s plenty of options. Wingmen can be out of the play for long periods. If I were a coach against Carlton and Walsh lined up on a wing I’d be delighted. I’d play through the opposite side of the ground and instruct his opponent to take him away from the contest. Walsh is an end to end gut running midfielder. He starts in the middle alongside Cripps and Cerra with Hewett (and possibly Jagga) in the rotation off the bench and Elijah changing off half forward. I can’t see any universe where Walsh gets pushed onto a wing to accommodate Lord.

The biggest questions I feel about our best line up is the third defender and the third forward role. It’s been interesting to see so many people including myself immediately default to McGovern as a lock in most best line ups. I actually think Haynes is well ahead of him, so Gov might find himself fighting it out with Sos for the third defender role. It’s ironic that not that long ago Gov and SOS would have been duelling for the third forward role and Kemp was in line for the third defender role. Now that’s been completely flipped on its head with Kemp likely to get first crack at the third forward role alongside Charlie and Harry, and SOS trialling down back. I think the coaches have made the right call on all fronts. Hopefully it works because last night year both spots were a weakness.

Walsh is a midfielder - one of best in the league when he is fit - even half fit he is better than most players who play his position. I don’t he can play wing or that the coaches should play him there. Wing is a specialist position now unlike in years past where it was seen as somewhere to squeeze in another midfielder. Acres is a winger. Doc and Ollie can play there. Binns and Cottrell too. That’s plenty of options. Wingmen can be out of the play for long periods. If I were a coach against Carlton and Walsh lined up on a wing I’d be delighted. I’d play through the opposite side of the ground and instruct his opponent to take him away from the contest. Walsh is an end to end gut running midfielder. He starts in the middle alongside Cripps and Cerra with Hewett (and possibly Jagga) in the rotation off the bench and Elijah changing off half forward. I can’t see any universe where Walsh gets pushed onto a wing to accommodate Lord.

The biggest questions I feel about our best line up is the third defender and the third forward role. It’s been interesting to see so many people including myself immediately default to McGovern as a lock in most best line ups. I actually think Haynes is well ahead of him, so Gov might find himself fighting it out with Sos for the third defender role. It’s ironic that not that long ago Gov and SOS would have been duelling for the third forward role and Kemp was in line for the third defender role. Now that’s been completely flipped on its head with Kemp likely to get first crack at the third forward role alongside Charlie and Harry, and SOS trialling down back. I think the coaches have made the right call on all fronts. Hopefully it works because last night year both spots were a weakness.

Whilst I agree with you about your praise for Washy, Lord pushing him out of centre bounces is not as silly as it first sounds.

Pushing Walsh to a wing (at the expense of anyone) I dont think will happen either. However, Walsh in 2023, I personally think was at his best when charging off the backline at Center Bounces. We typically played a defensive CB game with (generally) no mids playing forward of our ruckman, meaning if we won first possession we generally went backwards by hand (where our players are located). This meant we typically would sweep out and around the initial mid congestion (inside to outside) to where now a rampaging Walsh was becoming an option. Its just looked so good when it worked!

Having said all that, and for all the starting vs 2nd midfield rotations, lets not forget that less than 2 goals are scored on average every game, every year, for at least the last decade (maybe even 2 decades? I cant find the stats) even despite the 6-6-6 rule trying to change this. The bulk of scoring still comes from turnovers and then stoppages.

So while I don't think we can afford to be reckless at CB's, I do believe we need to trial Jagga and Lord (yes, sometimes even together) to see what it can do for us. Teams score less than 2 goals a game on average in this part of the game, so the risk does not outweigh the potential rewards by seeing what these new kids on the block might be able to do for us.

Outside of CBs and the 6-6-6 rule, lets not forget that every stoppage thereafter we can have as any midfielders around the ball as we like (bringing in experience and extra reinforcements). In this scenario, Walshy playing an outside mid role bursting forward is still a tantilising option and where I beileve he is at his best.

To conclude. Walshy is a gun.

Oh, and... I really dont think we need Washy to have high CBAs for him to have a massive year for us. Lets give Lord (and Jagga) the keys for a few weeks and see what happens

Lord was super impressive at covering ground around the stoppages and using his closing speed and desire to lay tackles and apply pressure. I am hoping this comes into serious account at selection and not Just players offensive output. Outside Walsh and Lord the defence, chasing and pressure was poor from our onball group. Big tackle numbers from Walsh consistently then not a great deal, Lord comes in and looked to do it easily.

I want to be a big ball winning team that can lay tackles and pressure when we aren't getting it. This has been our problem, we get smashed when the opposition are winning the ball.

Sticking with the side from just after the draft

Cowan Weitering Newman
McGovern Haynes Saad

TDK Hewett Walsh
O Hollands Cripps Acres

E Hollands Curnow Motlop
Williams McKay Moir

Boyd Cerra Docherty Smith

While there will be some shuffling of positions, I think we have a strong unit

Think Jagga will debut round 1, and there are others that will be staking a strong claim such as Lord, Durdin, Kemp, Jsos

As mentioned some time ago, Lucas might have more adaptable AFL traits compared to Ben, but both have a great work ethic

HOK and Pitto fighting for a 2nd ruck spot, if we decide TDK should have a partner

Just seems we have more competitive types, compared to a few years ago

Sticking with the side from just after the draft

Cowan Weitering Newman
McGovern Haynes Saad

TDK Hewett Walsh
O Hollands Cripps Acres

E Hollands Curnow Motlop
Williams McKay Moir

Boyd Cerra Docherty Smith

While there will be some shuffling of positions, I think we have a strong unit
Excellent line up arrow.

I have one player different - would like to see Kemp in and given time to develop as our 3rd forward target. Also, handy as defensive backup. Ollie as emergency would round out the team.

HB: Boyd Haynes Newman
C: Acres Cerra Docherty
HF: Elijah McKay Kemp
F: Williams Curnow Motlop
OB: TDK Cripps Walsh

IC: Jagga, Moir, Hewett, Cowan

Emerg: Ollie, Lord, Fogarty

Prediction 2025 - Best 23 + Emergencies - Rolling