Fixture 2025 draw any news or leaks? (Fixture released today)

This idea that the AFL trots out whenever it suits them, that prime time/marquee slots are earned, is the most infuriating thing in footy.

It's never been the case, and they've made that particularly obvious with this draw.

Getting a Friday night flight, after work, and then finding that the team plays the Thursday or Friday; or flying back on the Sunday and finding the team plays on the Sunday could make a difference.

Even without that distance, it makes a difference. Sunday games are a no-go even from here because flights to Canberra - even months out - after about 2pm on a Sunday are ridiculously expensive. And without knowing the fixture early, it can easily add $200 to the cost of a round trip (often an extra $400 if it was to mean a Sunday night flight back on a few weeks notice).
When trying to make a shorter, more affordable trip, knowing the fixture as far in advance as possible is vital. I won't even look at trying it with floating fixtures, its simply going to be too expensive. As it is I usually go via surface travel at least one way, on the rare occasion I get to a game at all.
Sundays are basically a write off though. even if you get the 1.10 game and a red eye you're still going to be rushing getting back to the hotel/your mates'/your parents' then the airport.

I am coming at it from a WA lens and you'd just take Friday/Monday off work anyway. if you miss the Thursday game then you just accept it.

Because what happens if you do get the Thursday game? you don't bother at all or you take Thursday and Friday off and come home Sunday anyway...

So Carlton get handed yet another piss-easy draw, while we get another draw from hell, what a surprise.

Said no-one ever.

And I thought our start to this year was bad, and pretty much ensured that our season was going to be over before it started:

-5 of our first 9 games interstate or in Geelong
-Only 2 games at Marvel in the first 9, with both of them against co-tenants
-ZERO legitimate home ground advantage games in the first 9 rounds!
-At least one and possibly two 5 day breaks in the first 9 weeks

And our start to next year looks even worse!

Cats play double ups v(by premiership odds):

1st favourtite
5th fav
10th fav
14th fav
15th fav
18th fav.

Median double up oppo is 10.5th favourite for the flag.

Median for all other teams is lower than 9.5th flag fav.

It is the usual soft Cats draw masquerading as a fair(or even tough) draw for a top 6 team.

Yet you are here moaning like the top class sook you are.

Oh so it’s based on odds 😂😂
See I thought it was based on an algorithm of where opponents finished in large part once you remove things like rivalries etc.

But no it’s based on betting trends.

What’s really funny is that you jumped straight into the default ‘typical Geelong fans moaning as usual.’ I haven’t seen any Cats fans whinging. I think it’s fair bordering on slightly favourable.

What I did notice within milliseconds of the draw being released, however, was a succession of Tigers fans going back to Darryl Cullinan’s couch for another session. One even suggesting that the timing of when the Cats play their home games is why we make the finals.

Yeah because that’s why we are the most successful travelling team in the comp.

Grow a spine, boys, if you can locate where it’s supposed to generate from.

So Carlton get handed yet another piss-easy draw, while we get another draw from hell, what a surprise.

Said no-one ever.

And I thought our start to this year was bad, and pretty much ensured that our season was going to be over before it started:

-5 of our first 9 games interstate or in Geelong
-Only 2 games at Marvel in the first 9, with both of them against co-tenants
-ZERO legitimate home ground advantage games in the first 9 rounds!
-At least one and possibly two 5 day breaks in the first 9 weeks

And our start to next year looks even worse!
I feel for you mate , unless you’re Geelong nothing really gets handed to you easily. Very frustrating

Lucky we fought so hard for the Centenary Game to be played at the MCG, as we only get 1 other game at our final's home ground.

Hard to complain about anything else though - only 6 trips outside Victoria and most of our travel done by midseason, lots of prime-time games, and a fair spread of teams as our double ups.

Bring on 2025.

Wow,
Here is Freo's under that same metric.
Equal 2nd Favourite
Equal 6th Favourite
9th Fav
10th Fav
13th Fav
17th Fav

Pretty similar but I'd still rather have theirs and we didn't make a prelim.

Freo's draw is clearly tougher than Cats according to current flag odds. Freo's draw is bang on AFL average degree of difficulty. Cats draw is basically each double up opponent is one rung below Freo's on the expected ladder on average. It should be the other way around.

Geelong also get to play us at home in round 1, coming off an opening round game while we will be rusty. That's two years in a row we have copped that disadvantage. Cats kissed on the D again, although not in the same league as Carlton.

Stick Around Bob Ross GIF by Originals

haha can't make it up, travel to Adelaide 3 times in 5 weeks

Play Adelaide teams in Adelaide and none at home

Haven't hosted Adelaide in Melb since 2019 (COVID year on GC)
hosted Port @ Marvel twice since 2012

Doubles against the Cats, Dogs, Dees, Dockers, Tigers & Giants.

and somehow both giants games are at away venues
Saints can always choose to stay in SA after their round 4 match in Adelaide for their round 5 Gather Round match the following week. So no need to travel twice 🥴

St Kilda aren't the only team required to travel interstate 3 times in the first 5-6 rounds.

Geelong also get to play us at home in round 1, coming off an opening round game while we will be rusty. That's two years in a row we have copped that disadvantage. Cats kissed on the D again, although not in the same league as Carlton.

Cats & Blues draw the same degree of difficulty according to 2025 Premiership odds. The main difference is Cats draw can be falsely sold as a difficult draw. Funny that.

Getting Lions opening round no accident either. Lions will obviously follow a similar prep to what worked for them last year & will be an easy kill rd 1.

I see Purple Salt.

This idea that the AFL trots out whenever it suits them, that prime time/marquee slots are earned, is the most infuriating thing in footy.

It's never been the case, and they've made that particularly obvious with this draw.

Exactly right. The fact of the matter is the scheduling actually serves to enhance the economic disparity that already exists between the rich clubs and the poor clubs. If every time young kids living in Melbourne turn on the telly they see Collingwood or Carlton, well they're gonna barrack for those teams.

So the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

The AFL needs gets to the point where if Gold Coast v GWS is 1 v 2 on the ladder it gets the same treatment, Friday night lights, whatever, as if Carlton v Collingwood is 1 v 2 on the ladder. Until that happens, the industry has a LOT of maturing to go through, and the current custodians (Dillon, Kane, Bowler etc) are doing nothing to help this happen.

The fixture is the biggest issue facing the sport. I mean, obviously it's probably not because there's nothing anyone will do about it and the sport is so good that we'll watch regardless, but the integrity of the comp is a joke.

An example is, how hard is it to just have the teams playing Round 0 play each other in Round 1? For the sake of fairness, surely that's an obvious one? But it's not perfect in a marketing sense so they don't do it.

At some stage they have to throw out this idea of making the most money possible to actually have a fair fixture, don't they?

Who am I kidding.

Anyone who thinks you can guess how hard a fixture is before the season is a casual, no idea, imagine end of 2023 you got Collingwood 1st, Melbourne (top 4 end of regular) and saints (finalist) twice…..you would have been worried.

Here they said Brisbane had the “worst” draw and they had all the teams that slid.

Pies fixure is good i would much prefer not to feature in round zip and start the season round 1 at the MCG tho.
Apart from round zero the rest is good.
And we play the cats at the MCG too.
Play dogs mcg as well only play marvel once v north the wce game to be moved to mcg as well
Play carlton twice beat them twice so too essendon beat them 2 times as well.
Looks good as long as theres mcg games.
Love the mcg games.

Fixture 2025 draw any news or leaks? (Fixture released today)