- Jul 8, 2015
- AFL Club
- Port Adelaide
I hate how the AFL is splitting round one.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
It sucks playing 16 games in your home state…..I dislike how teams like Sydney and Brisbane are guaranteed to play their first game of the season at home every year
It sucks playing 16 games in your home state…..
Your team was gifted home ground advantage, despite finishing lower, in two grand finals in a row I reckon you're still going ok on the home ground bias stakes.Or being gifted one more home game than every other team because you host Gather Round.
I don't mind aspects of Round 0 - season starting earlier (on a long weekend for many - good travel options), season starting not with that Carlton / Richmond slop, being a showcase of games in non-traditional states. But you could do that and still have the full slate of 9 games easily.
Also call it Round 1 because **** me what a load of wank giving it this stupid name because apparently Carlton and Richmond must play at the MCG in "Round 1".
So hot right now.Does this mean Hawks are the hottest hype side since Carlton 2024?
so... Basketcase?So are we just going to ignore that Engie Stadium is hosting Green Day on Mon 3 Mar?
FIVE day turnaround for what's already among the poorest playing surfaces in the comp after a concert?
No.
1. It's a problem that's impossible to fix. Those 8 teams are going to get extra byes.My main issue with Opening Round is that it gives 8 teams 2 byes whilst the other 10 only get the one. Will the AFL attempt to fix this advantage or leave it as it was last year
Easy fix when Tassie comes in is make it a 18 round competition where you play everyone once and then the year after flip the draw. Fixture equality, rest for players and can start the season around Easter every year.1. It's a problem that's impossible to fix. Those 8 teams are going to get extra byes.
2. When Tasmania come in, there's going to be 1or 3 teams having byes every week all year so disjointed ladders is something we all have to get used to.
Which teams supposedly have an advantage?My main issue with Opening Round is that it gives 8 teams 2 byes whilst the other 10 only get the one. Will the AFL attempt to fix this advantage or leave it as it was last year?
That wouldn't fix anything. You are still going to have byes each week?Easy fix when Tassie comes in is make it a 18 round competition where you play everyone once and then the year after flip the draw. Fixture equality, rest for players and can start the season around Easter every year.
On the small sample size, both 2024 Grand Finals teams played in opening round.Which teams supposedly have an advantage?
Not sure how Brisbane were "advantaged" by starting earlier than everyone else and then having a "bye" in Rd2 after playing 2 games.
Much rather not be involved in R0 and just have regular continuity of the season compared to starting early and then have a week off after 2 games that just stuffs any momentum you are trying to build.
Chris Scott bitched and moaned about it all year and now Geelong are part of it so I’m sure he’ll be sooking about something else soon enough!On the small sample size, both 2024 Grand Finals teams played in opening round.
And another "won" the spoon.
In short I have no idea.
Thanks for reading.
SameOpening round sucks, I am so disappointed we are part of it.
Thanks for the input. How's Ross doing?Chris Scott bitched and moaned about it all year and now Geelong are part of it so I’m sure he’ll be sooking about something else soon enough!
2024 Opening Round had GWS biggest non Derby crowd, GABBA and Suns also had a sellout.Same
Nobody wants Opening Round
Speak for yourself. Many of us think it's a good idea.Same
Nobody wants Opening Round