Discussion 2025 General AFL Discussion

They have 20 players in that 22 to 26 year age bracket where massive improvement kicks in.

We have 13 but a lot are really low potential, Clark, Dow, Stocker, Byrnes, Heath, Carroll etc.
Probably only Nas, King, Snags, Sharman, Henry are definite future best 22. O'Connell and Hall possibly.

We are really uneven with lots of old and young but not a lot in the middle. We need a few like Phillipou and Wilson to peak early, Sydney had a massive improvement when a few kids came good earlier than expected.
Agreed. Hopefully Keeler can show something this weekend.

We are miles off but this time last year hawks looked the same. It’ll hopefully click one day but still a while off
The hawks spent two years running and gunning and getting flogged but the coach knew there was light at the end of the tunnel if they got it right.
Were a bit the same.
No pain no gain.

The hawks spent two years running and gunning and getting flogged but the coach knew there was light at the end of the tunnel if they got it right.
Were a bit the same.
No pain no gain.
If you’re seen to be playing fast, exciting football players will come to you even if you aren’t near the top of the ladder. That’s what got players to teams like Hawthorn, Adelaide and Brisbane (Neale, Cameron) when they were near the bottom. Nobody wants to play in 5 goal games.

What’s considered fat exciting footy?

Because in our last 10 games we averaged 12 goals a game.

Remove Adelaide in the west and Brisbane at marvel and we averaged 14 goals a game in the run home.

That would represent the above in my eyes.

Remove Adelaide in the west and Brisbane at marvel and we averaged 14 goals a game in the run home.

I think we were definitely playing that way towards the end of last year. It was almost as if a pressure point had lifted and the boys were given the freedom to play.
I was hoping we’d continue on where we left off.
Maybe we will.
I think we will.

Like it or not it's also club related, those you named for eg;

Adelaide is #1 SA club, bells whistles and all you get is some pressure internally.
Hawks are brilliant backroom, forward planners and use systems to advantage, so if you need support and fit in their moulds they gotchu, even to courts.
Brisbane are #1 QLD, GCS are the shit kid, so when you're in you have a state behind you to succeed and stipends up the wazoo. They bled players in line with people scaling back support.

Clubs like us, North, Dogs, we have to fight for such things, so we have to up offers to then have considerations as more "hopes and dreams" aka risk assessments.

Dogs are then they can, just might take a while.
We're the shit kids that might get there but not fire a shot.
North are the once king now pauper that everyone wants punted to the background.
GWS & GCS are the AFL baby suckling at teats to be relevant, so time limited.
Freo are always 100% secondary to Eagles.
Port at least have local to Crows, but it's always a punch up "lookit moi!" with them.

Same reason Cats, Pies, Blues, Dons and co just "get it done" as for all their problems and issues, as a club they have connections and relevance to say if anything happens we can buffer, as opposed to say us and north where your face is front page news for a week with "that guy is a right twat, imagine waking up on the left hand side of the bed FML" editorials.

So you can play the most exciting brand of footy imaginable, but if you have a basket off field you will still struggle to draw anything worth a damn.

They have 20 players in that 22 to 26 year age bracket where massive improvement kicks in.

We have 13 but a lot are really low potential, Clark, Dow, Stocker, Byrnes, Heath, Carroll etc.
Probably only Nas, King, Snags, Sharman, Henry are definite future best 22. O'Connell and Hall possibly.

We are really uneven with lots of old and young but not a lot in the middle. We need a few like Phillipou and Wilson to peak early, Sydney had a massive improvement when a few kids came good earlier than expected.

Look at the ages of the hawks team. Or any other team that’s doing well right now. They have a bunch of players between 19-22 that have all been playing together at the level and all are hitting that 50 games mark where players start to be stars. And they are all mates who love playing together.
Brisbane has been able to do it too while winning a premiership.

Our list has a players who are that age (or more) but aside from a couple, the games experience is bugger all. You see the young saints fellas and their best mates are the VFL players. There’s no cohesion or consistency in what they do.

Hawks recruited good kicks

To me it’s their ability to do it under pressure that stands out. Plenty of good kicks can’t replicate it under game conditions. Sincs, Wilkie, Nas can all kick well even under pressure. Hill the opposite. Really nice in open space but the moment he gets heat on him he gets messy.

For me it’s the stuff that only comes from playing together. Their handball chains from the back half to the forward line, knowing where your team mates gonna be and gonna run, knowing when your teammate is gonna tap it on or knowing when to block for your forward.

Look at the ages of the hawks team. Or any other team that’s doing well right now. They have a bunch of players between 19-22 that have all been playing together at the level and all are hitting that 50 games mark where players start to be stars. And they are all mates who love playing together.
Brisbane has been able to do it too while winning a premiership.

Our list has a players who are that age (or more) but aside from a couple, the games experience is bugger all. You see the young saints fellas and their best mates are the VFL players. There’s no cohesion or consistency in what they do.
Owens windy Naz ?

Pou is injured

Love watching teams that play like it's an elimination final or prelim.
Wish we could play with that sort of ferocity, toughness, and skill.
It just makes me sad when I watch us.
Sad Ben Affleck GIF
Why do you bother then? Nobody makes you. Seems you don't enjoy it, go do something else then.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hahah the yank went down like a bag of shit. Couldn't have happened to a bigger flog.

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I want to see more slow mo of the goggles just riding up to "I'm blind, F- Me" as he goes down with surprise pikachu face.

Discussion 2025 General AFL Discussion

Write your reply...