It's the main part of the episode that I'm quite confused about, especially since Twomey was adamant Aleer won't be at the Giants next year.Aleer makes no sense to the Lions he's not a forward and we're pretty set for defenders
Supercoach Round 3 SC Talk - Round 3 Trades ,//, AFL Fantasy Round 2 AF Talk - Round 3 AF Trades
It's the main part of the episode that I'm quite confused about, especially since Twomey was adamant Aleer won't be at the Giants next year.Aleer makes no sense to the Lions he's not a forward and we're pretty set for defenders
It's the main part of the episode that I'm quite confused about, especially since Twomey was adamant Aleer won't be at the Giants next year.
Thought the same thing.Aleer makes no sense to the Lions he's not a forward and we're pretty set for defenders
It's the main part of the episode that I'm quite confused about, especially since Twomey was adamant Aleer won't be at the Giants next year.
Gettable
- Dunkley a Tassie target
- Lions one to watch for Leek Aleer
- "Logan Morris one of the best draft picks over the last 3 years" - letting the season play out for a few weeks before gettng into contract discussions
Are we though?Aleer makes no sense to the Lions he's not a forward and we're pretty set for defenders
Are we though?
Payne and Harris are locks for years to come but then we have an Aging Lester, an injury riddled Gardiner and Doedee who the club may not have complete confidence will ever be the same player again?
Other than that maybe Lloyd as a third tall type and the only genuine tall depth in Zakka.
We are not as set as you might think.
LIONS FLAG HERO NOT YET THINKING CONTRACT
BRISBANE premiership hero Callum Ah Chee says he loves the Lions, but has his eyes set on playing great footy before he worries about inking a contract extension.
The 27-year-old is fresh off the best of his nine AFL seasons and is eyeing off a new deal, with his current contract expiring at season’s end.
Once moving permanently forward midway through last year, Ah Chee starred for Brisbane, kicking 27 goals, including four in the Grand Final win over Sydney.
He was named the joint Player of the Finals, so significant was his impact.
"I love it here, I love Brissie," Ah Chee told AFL.com.au.
"Queensland has been my whole life since I got drafted. I love my time here and want to do what I can for the team to get back there (premiership) again."
As reported by Inside Trading last week, a multi-year deal is expected for the former top-10 draft pick.
"I just let my manager take care of that. I just want to play the best football I can for the team and worry about that," Ah Chee said. – Michael Whiting
I'm born and raised in Perth, still live here but if I was to move, Brisbane or the Sunshine Coast would probably be the two places I would consider first. When visiting they both felt more familiar to me than Melbourne or Sydney.The fact that Ah Chee went from GC to Brisbane instead of trying to find a list spot in Perth/Melbourne tells me he probably genuinely does love it here; I’d not be too worried
I think the lions surrounded Dunkley with his brother and sister, a net baller, here in Brisbane and his girlfriend also played netball but for the Adelaide team. Dunkley may have even purchased a house in Noosa as well.Dunks very settled here, but would be the perfect captain for the Tasmanian team so see why they'd be keen.
ThisAre we though?
Payne and Harris are locks for years to come but then we have an Aging Lester, an injury riddled Gardiner and Doedee who the club may not have complete confidence will ever be the same player again?
Other than that maybe Lloyd as a third tall type and the only genuine tall depth in Zakka.
We are not as set as you might think.
Us: After Geelong you shifted over to St Kilda. How did that move come about?
Fletch: Well Couchy was the centreman at the Cats and a bloody good one so I wasn’t getting a start there. Blighty was happy to give me a heads up and find me the opportunity to play more regularly somewhere else. We made the finals at St Kilda the year I was there. We beat Collingwood at Waverley Park and that was a real highlight.
Us: It must have been an exciting year?
Fletch: It was brilliant. The Saints were up and going with Tony Lockett, Stewart Loewe, Robert Harvey, Daniel Frawley, so many great players. It was a fair outfit.
Us: So how come you were gone after such a great season?
Fletch: It was funny. I was signed up for the next year but I think they were trying to find some money to get Greg Williams in. They were trying to offload three or four of us to make some room for the March draft. I was going to go back to Tassie and play footy down there but I ended up playing a practice match for the Bears and played five seasons there.
Just in case anyones interested, this is why Jaspa Fletcher is a Brisbane FS and not St Kilda .
AFLPA website interview with Adrian Fletcher
Definitely has a buyer beware sticker attached to it.Looks like JUH will be available quite cheap. Will be interesting to see what happens
NEW DEAL STILL ON THE TABLE FOR WOUNDED LION
Brisbane has ruled out premiership defender Brandon Starcevich for at least a month – and perhaps longer – as he undergoes a battery of neurological tests following his third concussion in eight months.
A bump from Sydney’s Justin McInerney in round 1 saw Starcevich sidelined for the AFL’s mandated 12-day concussion protocol.
But he and the Lions have elected to take the conservative approach on his likely return to football to ensure he is right to resume.
The Herald Sun understands a two-year deal for Starcevich – who comes out of contract at the end of this season – remains on the table, though he had told the Lions before the incident that he was looking at exploring the restricted free agency options open to him before making a decision to recommit.
The man who took down Tom Papley in last year’s grand final had attracted plenty of interest from his native state of Western Australia about a possible return home.
But any decision on the 25-year-old’s future will now be put on hold until the results of those tests come back, ensuring everyone has a clear picture surrounding his playing future.
Starcevich played a role in last week’s 2024 flag unfurling at the Gabba alongside injured Lions Charlie Cameron and Kai Lohmann.
He has spent some time away from the club since the McInerney clash, but the Lions have been impressed with the way he has dealt with this latest setback following on from a pre-season concussion suffered against the Crows.
i live in the south west where juh is from. from what im hearing id be very hesitant in taking him on.Looks like JUH will be available quite cheap. Will be interesting to see what happens
I wonder if the Lions already know he will be heading back to WA and that is why they are trialling Dev as a half back. Could be a decent like for like replacement by the end of the year if he gets a good run at it. Starce was originally a midfielder too and he took a while to develop as a defender,so Dev might (hopefully) develop along the same lines.
This is going to be another Mitch Clark type situation I would stay away.i live in the south west where juh is from. from what im hearing id be very hesitant in taking him on.
best case outcome is probably a hogan, traded on the cheap but still takes 2-3 years to actually come good.
Freo jumper (temporarily) incoming ... or maybe a Saints one!This is going to be another Mitch Clark type situation I would stay away.
I think the worst thing the kid could do (if he wants to keep playing AFL) is stay in Melbourne. He'd just up with the same friends and influences he has now.Freo jumper (temporarily) incoming ... or maybe a Saints one!
The problem is that it isn't hard to make the same kind of friends in a new city if that is what you are looking for.I think the worst thing the kid could do (if he wants to keep playing AFL) is stay in Melbourne. He'd just up with the same friends and influences he has now.