Training 2025 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion

Great report Newmo.

Appreciate that selection preference can change depending on who the opposition is, conditions, and game style you want to bring, but do you think Ward remains just a touch behind Mackenzie in the midfield pecking order?

Which was my view (and probably most people’s) at the end of last season - notwithstanding Ward’s outstanding elimination final performance that you highlighted.

The vibe I’m getting from this and other reports is that Mackenzie is having a genuine standout preseason while Ward’s is still really really strong. Regardless, our midfield depth looks great.

Thanks

Great report Newmo.

Appreciate that selection preference can change depending on who the opposition is, conditions, and game style you want to bring, but do you think Ward remains just a touch behind Mackenzie in the midfield pecking order?

Which was my view (and probably most people’s) at the end of last season - notwithstanding Ward’s outstanding elimination final performance that you highlighted.

The vibe I’m getting from this and other reports is that Mackenzie is having a genuine standout preseason while Ward’s is still really really strong. Regardless, our midfield depth looks great.

Thanks
Mackenzie has better inside evasive skills and Ward is probably busier outside of the contest. Both looking very good. HH is also pencil deep in this conversation. Looking fantastic with probably best inside hands at the club. Learning to get more involved around the ground.

If you're the Hodges even if you want him to go to Hawthorn surely you keep that under wraps and make the most of being at Brisbane's academy until you need to make a decision.

FWIW Brisbane are confident.
We should be rioting that he even has the choice. It is simply blatant favouritism to allow Brisbane priority access to someone like Cooper Hodge.

Newmo can disagree that’s fine, it’s a forum

I was early on Meek being the number 1 last year

Reeves shows out in club sims because he is aware of our plans and situational requirements of the other ruckmen

In a game he just taps it wherever and is easily read

Anyone who watched the dogs practice match last year would be aware of this
Literally none of what you just wrote has anything to do with how Reeves has performed this preseason. It honestly just sounds like you've clearly written him off and nothing he does will change your mind.

Mackenzie has better inside evasive skills and Ward is probably busier outside of the contest. Both looking very good. HH is also pencil deep in this conversation. Looking fantastic with probably best inside hands at the club. Learning to get more involved around the ground.
HH was doing extra's at the end of training with David Mackay and Sam Mitchell. There's no doubt he's trying to get the best out of himself.

It is simply blatant favouritism to allow Brisbane priority access to someone like Cooper Hodge.

Unless there has been a change to the rules I am unaware of - I don't think Brisbane get priority access if he is in their academy - they would just have equal access and it would be up to Cooper to nominate either us or Brisbane. Frustrating, yes. Favouritism, not so much.

There hasn't been a change to the rules but there damn well should be. Northern academies were established and funded to source talent that wouldn't otherwise be exposed to footy. Having direct access to the son of a champion footballer is a f$&king rort.

Don’t disagree at all.

Literally none of what you just wrote has anything to do with how Reeves has performed this preseason. It honestly just sounds like you've clearly written him off and nothing he does will change your mind.
If you look at what my original comment was
You’ll find the recent thoughts
👍

I also don’t rate the Reeves style of ruckman in modern football, until it’s 5 on the bench, we won’t be playing both

Last pre season I said that I didn't think the gap between Mark and Reeves was that big and that Meek was in with a shot at becoming our number 1 ruck.

This pre season the gap is quite large in Meeks favour but I am very interested to see how Reeves is developing.

If he could just improve his contested marking that would help him become a more valuable player so I hope they have been working on that with him a lot this pre season.

Rang earlier, "Shortly after 9.30"
Thanks kawker, we got there at 9:30, the boys where already on the ground.
They didn't come off till 11:30-12:00

All players signed autographs and tock photos with who ever asked and where really receptive today, we did notice the documentary cameras where filming the boys coming off the ground and the players did know where the camera was :)

Highlights for me:
Wizards Mark
Seeing the 3 young lads (father sons)
Mitch Lewis getting k's in his legs.

How did the F50 look with Ramsden and Chol? A couple of questions

Who played the deepest? Did they share the role or did one generally play higher up? How much time in the ruck if any?

One thing i loved about Dear he always provided a contest. 2nd /3rd efforts were top notch for a young fella.

If our running and kicking game gets shut down we will need the talls to stand up in the contest and get the smalls into the game.

Mackenzie definitely has a better evasive side inside, Ward is more of a win it and a straight line speed out of the stoppage, but with his clean hands at ground level and creativity he is able to impact by hand or foot. The separation is as you say, Wards spread and endurance, two way running is a POD to a lot of the mids, whereas Mackenzies evasiveness and deft touch is a key cog.

Ward looked good today from what I heard from a mate who went. Very busy and looked strong at the contest. From the picture he’s definitely grown into his frame a lot, looks big. Same with Mackenzie and what I’ve heard about his endurance improvements. Really impressive and good for the group with two highly talented players pushing for locking in spots and breaking out within the competition.

Last pre season I said that I didn't think the gap between Mark and Reeves was that big and that Meek was in with a shot at becoming our number 1 ruck.

This pre season the gap is quite large in Meeks favour but I am very interested to see how Reeves is developing.

If he could just improve his contested marking that would help him become a more valuable player so I hope they have been working on that with him a lot this pre season.

#JusticeForSimonCrawshay

Whoever the groundskeeper is, is hopefully getting a few bottles of blue label for his birthday. It looks spectacular
Probably worked out the fertiliser is kept on the top shelf and the weed killer below.

Training 2025 Off-Season & Preseason reports and discussion