Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc

Or a sign of what happens when Voss leaves the country...
Voss: "Righto Ash and Luke...you guys just hold the rudder and keep the ship heading in the same direction while I'm away watching soccer."

Hansen & Power: 'Yeah sure...as if that's gunna happen.'

A few people around the club reckon Ben will play early next year.
I'd be shocked if that ended up unfolding but would be a great story. High IQ footballer with one key flaw in his game. Really think he could end up a top level defensive mid at the next level if things go well, he was a fantastic foil for Draper this year as that gritty ball winner who busts his gut to get back and help.

Bit of freshening and changing up. I have no issue throwing him in every so often to mix it up

I hope its a sign of Voss being more flexible with the side and players roles
Rather than him actually playing midfield or wing, it might be to get a bit of improvement in him for defensive stoppages close to goal, an area we've had a few significant and notable errors the past couple of years.

Took a punt and headed over to LaTrobe Bundoora this morning and after spotting a person in Carlton training gear crossing the road in front of me, turned out to be Newman, I knew I was in the right place. There were a few players milling around and quite a few coaches and helpers setting out all types of cones and equipment. While I parked the car the players all went up stairs into a room where you could hear the occasional round of applause.

When they came out on to the ground and started warming up, I spotted most of the new draftees and some of the train on players I knew from last year - Sam Durdin, Matt Carroll, Liam McMahon and Will White. There were four I wasn't sure about, three young blokes in Carlton singlet's but no numbers, I think they were NGA players Tyson Gresham, Jack Ison and Mingara Clark, heard players call the little one Gresh and another Jack (so I made the assumption). There was a very tall player wearing number 49, thought it was Mirkov when I first saw him, but while tall I don't think it was him. Maybe it was Grainger-Barass or the other ex-Hawk Ethan Phillips, but I don't think they are as tall as this bloke.

Corey Durdin and Matt Cottrell were both wearing yellow hat's, which we were told earlier in the week means don't tackle. Fantasia didn't really join in the warm up and Cottrell, Acres and McGovern did all the initial warm up, but had broken away to the goal square before the first lot of drill's began. They were asked to swap into singlet's and their training tops were given to the three NGA boys. As the training session went on, this little group grew to include Corey Durdin, Silvagni, Curnow, DeKoning and I think the new Irish player Duffy.

Similar to last year, they created three main groups to complete the drills, then swap to the next. These included handball keeping's off, kicking from behind a mark, at least one was forcing the players to use left foot, kicking and following up to receive a handball back and kicking again, etc. They even did a drill near the goals where the small forwards were trying to read the ball off a contest and kick the goal (an area I feel we need to be better at). They progressed through the drills, until they ended up with most of the players doing match sim on most of the ground. Eventually the players swapped took off their footy boots and put on runners and began to run half laps of the ground within set time limits and with set recovery times. This is about the time I left.

Probably focused on the draftee's and identifying players I didn't recognise. Of the draftee's, the bits I saw of Jagga were impressive, one grab and hit his target's. Ben and Lucas didn't seem out of place, but they did pull Ben out of the main group for some running on his own. Harry O'Farrell was getting some individual coaching when they were completing the whole ground match sim. I think they took all of the draftee's out early before the big match sim drill was finished.

Took a punt and headed over to LaTrobe Bundoora this morning and after spotting a person in Carlton training gear crossing the road in front of me, turned out to be Newman, I knew I was in the right place. There were a few players milling around and quite a few coaches and helpers setting out all types of cones and equipment. While I parked the car the players all went up stairs into a room where you could hear the occasional round of applause.

When they came out on to the ground and started warming up, I spotted most of the new draftees and some of the train on players I knew from last year - Sam Durdin, Matt Carroll, Liam McMahon and Will White. There were four I wasn't sure about, three young blokes in Carlton singlet's but no numbers, I think they were NGA players Tyson Gresham, Jack Ison and Mingara Clark, heard players call the little one Gresh and another Jack (so I made the assumption). There was a very tall player wearing number 49, thought it was Mirkov when I first saw him, but while tall I don't think it was him. Maybe it was Grainger-Barass or the other ex-Hawk Ethan Phillips, but I don't think they are as tall as this bloke.

Corey Durdin and Matt Cottrell were both wearing yellow hat's, which we were told earlier in the week means don't tackle. Fantasia didn't really join in the warm up and Cottrell, Acres and McGovern did all the initial warm up, but had broken away to the goal square before the first lot of drill's began. They were asked to swap into singlet's and their training tops were given to the three NGA boys. As the training session went on, this little group grew to include Corey Durdin, Silvagni, Curnow, DeKoning and I think the new Irish player Duffy.

Similar to last year, they created three main groups to complete the drills, then swap to the next. These included handball keeping's off, kicking from behind a mark, at least one was forcing the players to use left foot, kicking and following up to receive a handball back and kicking again, etc. They even did a drill near the goals where the small forwards were trying to read the ball off a contest and kick the goal (an area I feel we need to be better at). They progressed through the drills, until they ended up with most of the players doing match sim on most of the ground. Eventually the players swapped took off their footy boots and put on runners and began to run half laps of the ground within set time limits and with set recovery times. This is about the time I left.

Probably focused on the draftee's and identifying players I didn't recognise. Of the draftee's, the bits I saw of Jagga were impressive, one grab and hit his target's. Ben and Lucas didn't seem out of place, but they did pull Ben out of the main group for some running on his own. Harry O'Farrell was getting some individual coaching when they were completing the whole ground match sim. I think they took all of the draftee's out early before the big match sim drill was finished.
Thanks and great job.

Thats awesome. Thanks for heading down. Anything interesting regarding positions during match sim? Was Ollie behind the ball again?

Our most talented small forward. Just needs a full pre season. Only early but signs are positive
Yep, some people are stars on the track and not on the field and some stars on the field and useless on the track. No doubt he needs to get fitter and improve his repeat and defensive efforts, but smart, instinctive and talented players don't need to be as fit. Like Betts and Fevola back in the day. Same rule for Moir. Moir is a player who will not have to cover much ground but will do a lot of damage same with Motlop. Cottrell is the opposite, will cover 4 times the ground and have a quarter the impact on the game.

I think we need to wait and see what happens in the matches. Sometimes you need to turn a blind eye to fitness and time trials and just take notice of performances.

Bit of freshening and changing up. I have no issue throwing him in every so often to mix it up

I hope its a sign of Voss being more flexible with the side and players roles
Just like his dad did. He's a good athlete and a solid build. I can see this.

It's important things like this happen for the development of the players and for the team's ability to get through a long hard season.

Kemp confirming that he'll be training forward. Has leaned down for the role. Doesn't need the size he did in defence playing on the big boys.
I'm looking forward to this. I just hope we aren't tactically inept when it comes to how we go about this. Kemp's role can't be about keeping out of the road of Curnow and McKay like McGovern's was. Teams pick up on this immediately in modern football and use it against you. The better teams don't do this. Brisbane's other forwards who are strong in their air for example. Daniher and Hipwood were the key forwards but Brisbane were about best option. Not about keeping out of the way of Daniher and Hipwood and going mostly to them. They were about going to the forward with space or the one on one. Sometimes that was the talls but when it wasn't others were used.

We need to go through Kemp quite a bit because he will get free. Same with Moir. Let McKay and Curnow take the crowd and go through the other forwards at times. We haven't been able to do that because out other forwards are so weak in the air and don't present and position well because they aren't natural forwards. Now this will change.

I really really hope Kemp and Moir are in the side. They are tallish and strong in the air but both have good ground level games. Moir has is pretty much a genuine small forward when the ball is on the ground. I really hope Motlop can get going because he has the talent and the smarts and so does Durdin but he's lost a lot of it.

The truth is that the other side of the coin is that our small forwards are playing for their careers. If Motlop and Durdin don't fire they will be gone. I think we will look to offload a lot of small forwards end of next season and we will be chasing those sorts really hard.

I would think training up a few players like Newman to play in the midfield is about improving our midfield depth. Our onball depth isn't quite as deep as we would like it to be so we have players we can use in there for rotations and incase we have too many out with injury.

Playing too many players who should have missed and not always having enough midfield rotations has been an issue. If we can increase the numbers who can go through the middle then that's great for us.

That's wild man...........oh errr
Good on ya mate :thumbsu:

I'm looking forward to this. I just hope we aren't tactically inept when it comes to how we go about this. Kemp's role can't be about keeping out of the road of Curnow and McKay like McGovern's was. Teams pick up on this immediately in modern football and use it against you. The better teams don't do this. Brisbane's other forwards who are strong in their air for example. Daniher and Hipwood were the key forwards but Brisbane were about best option. Not about keeping out of the way of Daniher and Hipwood and going mostly to them. They were about going to the forward with space or the one on one. Sometimes that was the talls but when it wasn't others were used.

We need to go through Kemp quite a bit because he will get free. Same with Moir. Let McKay and Curnow take the crowd and go through the other forwards at times. We haven't been able to do that because out other forwards are so weak in the air and don't present and position well because they aren't natural forwards. Now this will change.

I really really hope Kemp and Moir are in the side. They are tallish and strong in the air but both have good ground level games. Moir has is pretty much a genuine small forward when the ball is on the ground. I really hope Motlop can get going because he has the talent and the smarts and so does Durdin but he's lost a lot of it.

The truth is that the other side of the coin is that our small forwards are playing for their careers. If Motlop and Durdin don't fire they will be gone. I think we will look to offload a lot of small forwards end of next season and we will be chasing those sorts really hard.
Yep I'm actually pretty excited that Kempy is forward.
With your comparison to Brisbane, I think Kemp and Moir will be our Rayner & Lohmann types.

I think Moir seems to be a bit like Lohmann in that he's and extrovert with confidence and a nice kicking action.

I'm hoping Kemp can (like you said) play his own game and have as many shots as he can get his hands on, without burning the 2 power forwards. He needs to just say F*** it and roll the dice on as many as he can if he's within range, and not worry about any misses.

Our lack of players taking set shots is more of a problem than misses in my book.

The difference is they have played midfield their entire career. If we're forced to play Newman in the middle we won't be going too well.

True about the first part of your post, but unsure about your assertion in the second.

Sydney used him across the wing and defence, and both clubs mention in his club profile that he is either an “all rounder” or able to play both defence and in the wing. Not out of question that he gets put on the wing again.

They may just be experimenting testing to see how he goes in the wing. Although, he is arguably our best defender, so I am unsure if making the defence any weaker is helpful. The club seems to be full of midfield talent.

True about the first part of your post, but unsure about your assertion in the second.

Sydney used him across the wing and defence, and both clubs mention in his club profile that he is either an “all rounder” or able to play both defence and in the wing. Not out of question that he gets put in the wing again.

They may just be experimenting testing to see how he goes in the wing. Although, he is arguably one of (if not) our best defenders so I am unsure if making the defence any weaker is helpful. The club seems to be full of midfield talent.
I think Newman is too slow to be anywhere near the midfield including the wing. Just my opinion.

Thats awesome. Thanks for heading down. Anything interesting regarding positions during match sim? Was Ollie behind the ball again?
I suppose the drill they did in front of me, practicing reading the ball off a forward contest and trying to snap a goal confirmed stuff we have been told.

Kemp and McMahon were alternating as marking forwards, McMahon took a few marks, while Kemp was making sure the ball hit the ground, which seemed the point of the exercise.

Williams, Will White, Gresham and there maybe someone I've missed were playing as small forwards, while Ollie, Saad, Billy Wilson and Boyd were the small defenders (two at a time).

So I think that confirms Kemp as a forward and Ollie as a defender. The big match sim, was more about moving the ball and while players started where you'd expect, they hand the ball to one side and they try and move it down the field, so positions aren't as clear.

I don't think they necessarily broke into groups, like forwards, backs, mids at any stage.

Training 2025 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc