Past #21: Dom Tyson aka 'Tom Dyson' - delisted end '21 - 6 NM games/1 NM goal - 113 AFL games - good luck DomTom

The more and more I think about it he really is so similar to BJ. Their under 18 roles were identical as vic metros insideball winning mid. Their physiques and athleticism very similar. Both seem high IQ players Who know where the footy goes and first rounders. Now is the chance to clone him into BJ of our prelim sides and essentially give Tyson the week in week out clarity of a defined role to narrow focus like we did for BJ that allowed him to excel

I’d play him first game back tell him to run with the oppos best mid and then we will know if he will have a long future with us
Unless he's an elite tagger, we really can't afford another mid in there who doesn't hurt the opposition with skills.

We already carry Anderson, Ziebell, Simpkin and Dumont in there.

Unless he's an elite tagger, we really can't afford another mid in there who doesn't hurt the opposition with skills.

Well that’s what we need to find out and we won’t know unless we give him that role for say a month in a row as our designated run with player

Bloke has a heap of talent, pick 3, 110 games, bnf runner up, can play we just need to now see if he will suit our structure by actually playing him in a role we lack atm

Well that’s what we need to find out and we won’t know unless we give him that role for say a month in a row as our designated run with player

Bloke has a heap of talent, pick 3, 110 games, bnf runner up, can play we just need to now see if he will suit our structure by actually playing him in a role we lack atm
I think a heap of talent is pushing it. He's ok. I think that role may be too similar to Dumont, and a month is basically 6 weeks in a normal season.

Nah Dumont is the winger. Tyson would be the Jacobs role of the past which we know is a huge value add

Would have to come in for Jed and I think the role Tyson would play would be more beneficial to our structure than having jed

But if two or three of those are injured or fatigued- as may be the case with more games in a short space of time, we need depth.

Experienced depth too. With the lower leagues not playing, it will be harder for younger players to push a selection case and hone their game.

Strong, reliable and experienced may well be the order of the day this year.

Come on down Tom Dyson!

Nah Dumont is the winger. Tyson would be the Jacobs role of the past which we know is a huge value add

Would have to come in for Jed and I think the role Tyson would play would be more beneficial to our structure than having jed
We aim to play a physical style of play. I can't see Tyson replacing Anderson in that scenario.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

But if two or three of those are injured or fatigued- as may be the case with more games in a short space of time, we need depth.

Experienced depth too. With the lower leagues not playing, it will be harder for younger players to push a selection case and hone their game.

Strong, reliable and experienced may well be the order of the day this year.

Come on down Tom Dyson!
Yep, he's very good depth. And that may come in handy this season. Im not saying he's a bad player just not top flight. Every team needs ok players, but Im not sure what role is there for him, other than back up.

where does he fit in?
he needs to find a role

He can go in the mid rotations. Jack stays forward, and Cunners can get up there more often too.

The bloke does average 4 clearances a match, and that's after Melbourne stuffed him up by plonking him on a wing for an extended period.

Fit & firing, I reckon he would be good for 5+ clearances.

People keep thinking we’re a good clearance team, we’re not. We honestly need about six more blokes who can rotate within a game.

And if we’re to go anywhere in the short season, Dom will have to play a part. Another hard body in the midfield to protect the kids coming thru is going to be worth it’s weight in gold.

We "carry" Simpkin?

We're about a season away from him carrying the team.

Oh, and I'm another in the play Tyson camp. Good footballer.

There are so many players off contract, then theres this guy still with one year left. Serz the worst decision ever giving him a 3 year deal

I used the word incorrectly. I mean we carry his average foot skill because of all the good he does elsewhere. That’s fine if you have heaps of skilled mids but we don’t.

Average foot skill?

He’s a better kick than most in the midfield (which isn’t saying a lot tbh, but he’s solid off both feet.)

The more and more I think about it he really is so similar to BJ. Their under 18 roles were identical as vic metros insideball winning mid. Their physiques and athleticism very similar. Both seem high IQ players Who know where the footy goes and first rounders. Now is the chance to clone him into BJ of our prelim sides and essentially give Tyson the week in week out clarity of a defined role to narrow focus like we did for BJ that allowed him to excel

I’d play him first game back tell him to run with the oppos best mid and then we will know if he will have a long future with us

Don’t you think the coaching group would know whether he can tag or not? I mean it’s not like they train, play practice matches, etc. etc.

A senior game is not the place to simply tell him to run with the opps best mid if he is not up to it. And we would know internally if he is or he isn’t.

Don’t you think the coaching group would know whether he can tag or not? I mean it’s not like they train, play practice matches, etc. etc.

A senior game is not the place to simply tell him to run with the opps best mid if he is not up to it. And we would know internally if he is or he isn’t.
No doubt but you get the true picture from competitive games at the highest level

Hopefully upon returning tomorrow we give him these 3 weeks to train as one as doubt he has trained in this role much then come June 11 he’s ready to go against the best mid

He gets the pill. End of story.

Jacks plays predominately forward now.

There's nothing wrong with Jy's skills either.

Average foot skill?

He’s a better kick than most in the midfield (which isn’t saying a lot tbh, but he’s solid off both feet.)

There's a few folks around here who write off blokes unless it's obvious to the entire freakin' world that they're stars.

The same folks also have this notion that we should just go out and pick up 3 x Darren Jarman's.

His career stats are on a par with Dion Prestia and he's a football season younger that Prestia:

Tyson

1589703679447.png
1589703626146.png

Note the shizen DE% season that Dom had in 2017:

1589704113660.png

This is where the claims about his disposal grew legs. Otherwise, he has been comparable to most other AFL inside mids.

Prestia

1589703745666.png
1589703713210.png

Was 7-9 weeks way like Perez and Turner just after round 1. So strengthening and fitness I would guess.

He probably won't get the match fitness he would obviously require after the layoff. It's a shame. I hope we extend him another season.

Past #21: Dom Tyson aka 'Tom Dyson' - delisted end '21 - 6 NM games/1 NM goal - 113 AFL games - good luck DomTom