Past #23: Ben McKay - gone to * as RFA - NMFC awarded Band 1 pick #3 compo

I’m hoping that he can return to his best. We need him to stay as we don’t have great depth in our key defensive stocks. If he decides to go and we get pick 3, sounds good but it would leave a huge hole down back.
Logue would be our only recognised key defender as we can’t rely on Corr to be supporting him given he hasn’t been a regular this year.
If we then draft Curtin with one of the early picks, it would take him a number of years to be strong enough and reliable enough to play on the monster forwards.
We know what McKay can produce. He has beaten the best forwards in the past and there is no reason why he can’t return to his best, as long as he is invested.

His intensity was off. Just seemed like he was happy to be there Sunday.

This whole dialing in one week and then back it up next inconsistent bullshit is frustrating as hell.

Makes me more inclined to believe he’s gone.

It's half-way through June and no signature, reckon he's gone.
you have to consider that he started the season late and probably wants to put together a run of good form before signing anything to make sure he gets the most value. since he hasn't really done that yet, seems just as likely to me that he gets to round 22 or thereabouts and agrees to a slightly smaller deal than he would've hoped for

It's half-way through June and no signature, reckon he's gone.
The reason there is no signature, I believe is abundantly clear. He wants a bigger contract, $$$ NMFC have said you arent worth it, you can’t get on the park consistently, they would have said if you want a consideration then you’ll have to show us you are worth it.

Nah we're playing checkers while */ Shitney play chess.

Our offer will be unders, Magoo will chat with his manager and another club will trump us. We get pick 3 and ****en win again.

If we get pick 3 for Ben then I hope he leaves.
I know what he offers & I understand the argument to want to keep him (Souup, I think? made some good points a few pages back), but I really do feel in 18-24 months time we will have more of a buzz about us & there will be a few half decent backmen out there that would love the combo of: more opportunity to get a game/play in their desired position in the backline, play under Clarko & play in a team entering their window of successful years (with the leagues best young midfield).

Sorry, that’s a long all over the shop sentence. I just think there will be a tipping point where players (agents) will start come to us. We can grab a few established key position players.

I’m happy if he re-signs. It shows both loyalty to the cause, but also great faith in what we’re doing & who we are doing it with.

However, if it is pick 3, it’s juicy.
Picks 2, 3 & 17 in a super draft is enticing. We’re not exactly losing consistent, integral piece of the puzzle in a team aiming for top 4 next season.

Also, if he wants out then that is fine with me. I’ve dealt with the JHF thing by basically just seeing it as what it is - a person hasn’t bought into what we are about & what we’re doing & they’d rather be elsewhere. That’s fine. Doesn’t really matter what the reasons are (money, family, opportunity etc). If they don’t want to be a Shinboner, seeya ****en later.

There’s pros & cons to whichever way this lands. Pick 3 makes it a lot easier to swallow than say pick 19 though.

Disappointed this guy didn't put up anything on his social media for Jy's contact extension and Wardlaw's Rising Star nom like heaps of other teammates did. And it's not like he just doesn't post - has enough time to promote that sh*t podcast with his brother.

I know it seems minor - but I think this is a huge sign of where he's at.

I've recently moved into the camp that thinks he'll go... I'm starting to give a lot loss of a f*** though.

Supposed leader stringing the club along and not even showing support to his teammates - don't know how this guy looks at Jy in the locker room or in the leadership meeting.

But wouldn't go down well given what was griff offered 700 for 5? Would expect at least that

Not based on form.

I would have Logue in a heartbeat over McKay.

You also have to pay to usually pry a player from a club, so $650 is more than fair for McKay.

If he can get $800k good luck to him, we will take our compo pick.

If he leaves we would have to get a PP on top oh his compo pick.
Losing him after judas left for a side that has won * all games over the last 3-4 yrs should be a given for a PP
No Doubt GIF by Big Brother

Disappointed this guy didn't put up anything on his social media for Jy's contact extension and Wardlaw's Rising Star nom like heaps of other teammates did. And it's not like he just doesn't post - has enough time to promote that sh*t podcast with his brother.

I know it seems minor - but I think this is a huge sign of where he's at.

I've recently moved into the camp that thinks he'll go... I'm starting to give a lot loss of a f*** though.

Supposed leader stringing the club along and not even showing support to his teammates - don't know how this guy looks at Jy in the locker room or in the leadership meeting.

Kinda at the same place. Whilst I rate him highly as a player, shits me that we're 3 months from the end of the year and he's still yanking our chain. All points to GONE.

And that's his right as a free agent. And it's my right as a supporter to rate him as a turncoat pissant who wasn't a leader's arseh*le if/when the time comes.

Kinda at the same place. Whilst I rate him highly as a player, shits me that we're 3 months from the end of the year and he's still yanking our chain. All points to GONE.

And that's his right as a free agent. And it's my right as a supporter to rate him as a turncoat pissant who wasn't a leader's a-hole if/when the time comes.
And if he re-signs what then? :think:

I'll support him wholeheartedly. I've been emphatic in my rating of him as a player.

But am disappointed it's gone this far with him OOC. All our good players will have their heads turned and some choose to back the club in asap and clearly he's not in that camp.

And that's his right as a free agent. And it's my right as a supporter to rate him as a turncoat pissant who wasn't a leader's a-hole if/when the time comes.
So 2 Bob each way,

I'll support him wholeheartedly. I've been emphatic in my rating of him as a player.

But am disappointed it's gone this far with him OOC. All our good players will have their heads turned and some choose to back the club in asap and clearly he's not in that camp.
I’d support him too if he signed for 550k x 5 years. I wont be on here slagging his footy because you get what you pay for

Past #23: Ben McKay - gone to * as RFA - NMFC awarded Band 1 pick #3 compo