Traded #25: Jake Stringer - 📦 Traded to GWS for Pick #53 - 16/10

fu** of with the have you watched him shit.
So what you looked at him. Like I said have you got the full story ?
No you do not . You do not know the circumstances so it is 1+1 = 5.
Players can gain weight and still be doing the right thing. Some players actually have to be training at 100% and playing to keep the weight off.

i'm not the only one saying he looks overweight and unable to cover the ground though? btw, i said all this BEFORE it was reported that he pinged his hammy

maybe some players have to be training at 100% to keep the weight off. maybe so - generally with inexperienced or ill disciplined players. and that's fine if they're out there performing and/or on low salary

Jake isn't inexperienced, he's 28, and he's getting paid well. he should be doing better.

And did he get better the next week and the next week and then play at least 6 games ? Has it been the same throughout his career ? I would say he is a bloke who needs a few games to get back up and running and is good enough to play a role while he does. Are you saying we should have played him 3 weeks in the VFL last year ?
They rushed it this year but you are barking up the wrong tree from last year.
Come on you’re being facetious 3 saying 3 weeks in the vfl. How about putting some hard training underneath him before bringing him back in, instead of the complete
the rehab, then complete 1 main training session and he’s back in.

i'm not the only one saying he looks overweight and unable to cover the ground though? btw, i said all this BEFORE it was reported that he pinged his hammy

maybe some players have to be training at 100% to keep the weight off. maybe so - generally with inexperienced or ill disciplined players. and that's fine if they're out there performing and/or on low salary

Jake isn't inexperienced, he's 28, and he's getting paid well. he should be doing better.
For a start I never said he was not over weight. He looks to be 3 or 4kg heavier than when I saw him in pre season.
The point is you saying he should be doing better. How do you know what he should be doing ? is there a standard ? does he need to find a scientist that can keep the weight of him while he can not train at more than 50% or play. Do you know he is not sticking to a diet ?
Like I have said some athletes have to be in full training and playing to maintain maximum weight. Maybe we just put him on a jockey diet and he can eat two leaves of lettuce a day.
Given you have no idea what he is up to day by day or have zero knowledge of his diet or physical make up you are really just having a guess.

Come on you’re being facetious 3 saying 3 weeks in the vfl. How about putting some hard training underneath him before bringing him back in, instead of the complete
the rehab, then complete 1 main training session and he’s back in.
Okay I give in.
Of course there have never been players who can have an impact and play themselves into fitness.
Did it hurt him coming in how he did after the Eagles game ? NO!
Players are different.
They did put more work into him last year compared to this year. Both times he was back to playing good footy and did not get injured straight away.

For a start I never said he was not over weight. He looks to be 3 or 4kg heavier than when I saw him in pre season.
The point is you saying he should be doing better. How do you know what he should be doing ? is there a standard ? does he need to find a scientist that can keep the weight of him while he can not train at more than 50% or play. Do you know he is not sticking to a diet ?
Like I have said some athletes have to be in full training and playing to maintain maximum weight. Maybe we just put him on a jockey diet and he can eat two leaves of lettuce a day.
Given you have no idea what he is up to day by day or have zero knowledge of his diet or physical make up you are really just having a guess.
Of course I’m speculating. As are you. He doesn’t look fit so I’m going to assume he’s not doing enough to keep fit. And that’s not good enough.

If you don’t agree with me, that’s fine. He’s well paid and his JOB is to be fit and play football. I don’t think he’s doing his job.

It also sets poor standard around the club. Do you think we are a club with high standards?

Of course I’m speculating. As are you. He doesn’t look fit so I’m going to assume he’s not doing enough to keep fit. And that’s not good enough.

If you don’t agree with me, that’s fine. He’s well paid and his JOB is to be fit and play football. I don’t think he’s doing his job.

It also sets poor standard around the club. Do you think we are a club with high standards?
I am just disagreeing with an uninformed opinion he is setting poor standards when you do not actually know if he is setting a poor standard or he actually is a bloke that will put on some weight when he is injured and can not train and play. I can draw from personal experience. Sometimes it is not as simple as he looks fat he must not be doing everything he can.
I think we have a coach that is trying to set high standards but he is fighting 15 years of bad culture.

Yep it’s hard on Jake, but he’s a leader and well paid. Sorry if I expect more. It’s also his 5th year here, and I don’t think it is new news that Jake might not look after his body all that well??

He can’t help us if he’s sitting on the sidelines.

Yep it’s hard on Jake, but he’s a leader and well paid. Sorry if I expect more. It’s also his 5th year here, and I don’t think it is new news that Jake might not look after his body all that well??

He can’t help us if he’s sitting on the sidelines.
If it's not new news it must be old news, and more than a little out of date.

Pretty extraordinary really….
I think the 2km in 7 years part was in the context of a discussion about how fitness is developed in the AFL. He was a guest on a fitness podcast back in January that I think... Mercurial89 might've posted here? But AFL is much more about repeat sprints than running around an oval four times in 12 minutes.

Like I'm sure I've seen some discussions around the place, articles and whatnot, about getting rid of the 3km time trial particularly in the context of the draft combine and now I think also the 2km because it's not a useful indicator of AFL fitness.

Doesn’t seem to be does it.
I think what generally happens is people are super invested in football, and they watch every game and they form opinions about things, like the professionalism of a 25 year old with three kids who got kicked out of his last football club under strange circumstances.

And then life stuff gets in the way, you stop going to games in-person, you catch every 4th game on the TV, see the odd bit of news media carry on here and there, and then next thing you know two years have passed.

Suddenly you're passing judgement on a 28 year old's injured body, based on some pretty sound observations that are 2+ years out of date.

What things seem like from that vantage point as compared with someone who has paid close attention for the last 2+ years evidently leads to some wildly different conclusions.

I think what generally happens is people are super invested in football, and they watch every game and they form opinions about things, like the professionalism of a 25 year old with three kids who got kicked out of his last football club under strange circumstances.

And then life stuff gets in the way, you stop going to games in-person, you catch every 4th game on the TV, see the odd bit of news media carry on here and there, and then next thing you know two years have passed.

Suddenly you're passing judgement on a 28 year old's injured body, based on some pretty sound observations that are 2+ years out of date.

What things seem like from that vantage point as compared with someone who has paid close attention for the last 2+ years evidently leads to some wildly different conclusions.
That’s a nice story. Some impressive assumptions and straw man work going on

However, it doesn’t change anything. He’s looked unfit since he came back from his preseason injury. Are you saying it’s the medical/fitness staff’s fault he gained weight and got injured twice again since? If not, whose fault is it?

Bad luck?

I think the 2km in 7 years part was in the context of a discussion about how fitness is developed in the AFL. He was a guest on a fitness podcast back in January that I think... Mercurial89 might've posted here? But AFL is much more about repeat sprints than running around an oval four times in 12 minutes.

Like I'm sure I've seen some discussions around the place, articles and whatnot, about getting rid of the 3km time trial particularly in the context of the draft combine and now I think also the 2km because it's not a useful indicator of

Like I'm sure I've seen some discussions around the place, articles and whatnot, about getting rid of the 3km time trial particularly in the context of the draft combine and now I think also the 2km because it's not a useful indicator of AFL fitness.
Yeah I just though it jarring that we want this guy to be our big bodied mid/forward hybrid and he’s not been running 2kms which most mids hang their hat on to smash in the preseason as a metric to determine their fitness. But granted the game is changing and he’s a power athlete. I mean whatever he was doing back part of last season is what we need more of!

That’s a nice story. Some impressive assumptions and straw man work going on

However, it doesn’t change anything. He’s looked unfit since he came back from his preseason injury. Are you saying it’s the medical/fitness staff’s fault he gained weight and got injured twice again since? If not, whose fault is it?

Bad luck?
I was responding directly to your comment about what things seem like to you, which clearly differs vastly from what they seem like to me and others who have been paying attention. If you had said it 2 years ago, everyone would be agreeing with you.

So I don't know how it happened that your information got to be two years out of date, and I'm completely speculating that the reasons for it may be good honest life-busyness related reasons and not being in a prison cell or something – I was trying to be generous here.

But whatever the reason is, it's been made abundantly clear from your own posting over the last three pages, no strawman necessary.

Yeah I just though it jarring that we want this guy to be our big bodied mid/forward hybrid and he’s not been running 2kms which most mids hang their hat on to smash in the preseason as a metric to determine their fitness. But granted the game is changing and he’s a power athlete. I mean whatever he was doing back part of last season is what we need more of!
Reckon that had a fair bit to do with “contract year”. I had hoped he would continue that trajectory despite “getting the bag”

I think he probably was until his preseason injury. I’d never seen him so fit, ever. Unfortunately, I think it went downhill for him after that.

I was responding directly to your comment about what things seem like to you, which clearly differs vastly from what they seem like to me and others who have been paying attention. If you had said it 2 years ago, everyone would be agreeing with you.

So I don't know how it happened that your information got to be two years out of date, and I'm completely speculating that the reasons for it may be good honest life-busyness related reasons and not being in a prison cell or something – I was trying to be generous here.

But whatever the reason is, it's been made abundantly clear from your own posting over the last three pages, no strawman necessary.
Yet I seem to have more people agreeing with me than you?

What gives you the right to say my opinion is 2 years out of date? Maybe you’re too close to the situation to see properly. Take the red and black jocks off and step back for a moment.

You probably should hang in your moderator badge if you can’t accept other peoples views as well. Last I checked this was a discussion forum. You don’t get too far with circle jerks

Yet I seem to have more people agreeing with me than you?

What gives you the right to say my opinion is 2 years out of date? Maybe you’re too close to the situation to see properly. Take the red and black jocks off and step back for a moment.

You probably should hang in your moderator badge if you can’t accept other peoples views as well. Last I checked this was a discussion forum. You don’t get too far with circle jerks
Oh dear.

That is not what I said at all.
My point is since they have had him training like a midfielder he has blown up and the weight is not the issue. The issue is he can not handle midfield work loads.
Think you would find he can keep the weight under control and play good footy if they modify what they are doing with him.
And I stand by saying his is not 10 kg over weight.
I will also say that being a person who can gain two kg by looking at a potato cake it is not always as simple as saying keep the weight off.
When I played and trained I was playing at 88-90 kg. When I did my knee and could not train I went up to 97 despite not eating anything sugar or fried and eating a lot of vegetables. It happens even if you stick to a strict diet for those who have slow metabolic rates. Anytime I could not train 100% I went up 6 or 7 kg and even after I stopped playing at 27 I put on 12 kg in the six months after despite still doing some bike riding and having a healthy diet.
That is why I said the weight issue is being over blown. Some people put on 3 or 4kg when they can not train at 100%.
It is not just black and white lose 5kg.
If you are saying he has a slow metabolism/issue then fair enough. If he's actually eating the potato cakes then that's not good enough. There would be zero surprises here if he dines like Charles Barkely.

Either way you'd probably agree he's one of our best assetts and the club needs to manage him accordingly. We don't need another 30 and out retirement - or 3 or 4 more injury wrecked years.

I can tell we're all a little worked up about this situation, so everyone relax a bit and let it cool off.

We'll all feel better in the morning.

Until we remember that our team is playing like a bunch of chooks

Traded #25: Jake Stringer - 📦 Traded to GWS for Pick #53 - 16/10