Player Watch #27: Miller Bergman - BFNAAK - Extends to end of 2025 - returns to the team against the Eagles

I like this kid too, but I’m not sure where he stands with Fisher and Stevens coming in. I guess if anything it means if he becomes a regular best 22 player - he will have earned it.

Along with Arch, he is one of the few decent small-medium defenders we have.

Add to that, he is smarter than Arch and a better kick.

Fisher will be playing as an unaccountable, distributing 7th defender. You still need players capable of guarding the oppo’s best smalls.

Smalls surrounded by a tall up forward looks like trending more and more. Richmond (without Riewoldt), St kilda, West Coast, North, *ssendon, Hawthorn will all look to capitalise on having a range of medium and small forwards kicking the majority of their goals in 2024.

I like this kid too, but I’m not sure where he stands with Fisher and Stevens coming in. I guess if anything it means if he becomes a regular best 22 player - he will have earned it.

I think you're overrating Fisher slightly there, mate. Bergman has some tricks. Can kick long, can carry the ball, and has neat/intelligent disposal. Fisher has a lot less penetration on his kicking. I have good confidence that Bergman will carve a way into the team, as long as he has the necessary size not to be a complete liability going the other way

Obviously he is still young and has plenty of time but if he is going to make it at AFL level, he has to improve a few things outside of his weight.

His one on one defending isn’t fantastic, particularly on the quicker types. If he isn’t going to be a good general defensively minded defender then he needs to find a way to accumulate the footy more so that he can be a damaging attacking defender.

Obviously he is still young and has plenty of time but if he is going to make it at AFL level, he has to improve a few things outside of his weight.

His one on one defending isn’t fantastic, particularly on the quicker types. If he isn’t going to be a good general defensively minded defender then he needs to find a way to accumulate the footy more so that he can be a damaging attacking defender.
Reads like ‘can’t defend, can’t attack’!

I reckon he can actually do both but I wonder if he isn’t just struggling to find the right balance at AFL level?

Of course, a bit more size will certainly help his one on one work and a bigger tank will see him accumulate more offensive footy.

I really rate him and hope he takes another step this year.

Reads like ‘can’t defend, can’t attack’!

I reckon he can actually do both but I wonder if he isn’t just struggling to find the right balance at AFL level?

Of course, a bit more size will certainly help his one on one work and a bigger tank will see him accumulate more offensive footy.

I really rate him and hope he takes another step this year.

My criticism was probably a bit harsh because I really rate the kid.

He can definitely attack, he hasn’t shown it a great deal yet, but his run and carry game is fantastic especially when you combine it with his genuine elite field kicking. Believe me I want the ball in his hands. I’d much rather 20 kicks from Bergman than 20 from McDonald.

I’d say finding the balance would be part of the issue but he also just doesn’t strike me as a natural accumulator who can rack up those cheap touches that the best half backs can.

Really interested to see his development this year.

Just like this thread, this dude has slipped way off the radar, thought i saw him deliver a few nice passes in the praccy, but certainly didn't appear to accumulate too many posesssions
Let’s see how he goes in the two remaining practice matches. Preseason he’s one who I thought would really step up

My boys delivery by foot last game was the worst I had ever seen.

But these are just practice matches I’d rather him miss a target with the intent to play the way we wanna play.

Player Watch #27: Miller Bergman - BFNAAK - Extends to end of 2025 - returns to the team against the Eagles