Player Watch #29: Will Phillips [Part II] - Extends to End of 2025

There are 3 certainties in life
  1. Death
  2. Taxes
  3. Junk yard bagging the shite out of Will Phillips at every opportunity.
Will Phil could cure cancer and bring about world peace. You would complain he did not do it quick enough šŸ˜Ž
Where in that post did I bag will phillips? Just the fool who posted the rubbish I was quoting. If will makes it, it won't be as a tagger. Just amazed at the stupidity.

WillPhil will have marked his 2025 calendar to tag Treloar out of the opening match of the season against them Doggies. If there is one side that has the wood on us, itā€™s this mob. Time to change that with a win. I am sure Daniel will provide the group with all the intel on Beveridge and his game plan etc.

Treloar got the 2 votes last time so not sure it is the greatest idea. Think Will would be better as an inside mid with a clearance focus. Not sure he would be first choice come round 1 but a lot of water to go under the bridge.

There are 4 certainties in life
  1. Death
  2. Taxes
  3. Junk yard bagging the shite out of Will Phillips at every opportunity.
  4. Junk yard Bagging any BF poster who shows any positivity towards Will Phillips.
Will Phil could cure cancer and bring about world peace. You would complain he did not do it quick enough šŸ˜Ž
It is pretty tiresome and I hope that Will makes it, but I agree that comparing him to LDU is a bit daft, as they are obviously different types of player, and that he shouldn't be a tagger in the longer term. He did pretty well at it this year, but it doesn't utilise his strengths and he doesn't have the tank or height to follow the best mids all over the ground.

Didnā€™t someone see him at chaddy after heā€™d been drafted and called him arrogant based on nothing more than his clothes and sunnies.

Classic Bigfooty
Mate don't be ridiculous.

Nobody on here would be shallow enough to judge a footballer's personality on the clothes or accessories he was wearing when at a shopping centre with friends.

It was his haircut.

He's a tagger again! **** I love the pre season! Where on earth do you come up with this shit? Tagged for a block of about four games in his career. ****ing spare me.
I think he stamped himself as that defensive mid weā€™ve been crying out for. Whether heā€™s sweeping the CBAs, putting blocks on for our other mids or tagging our offensive beasts from in the midfield, then thatā€™s his role? Youā€™re the one on here daily who is shit canning him for doing any of these

He did get dropped after playing that game for a few weeks so I wouldnā€™t go as far to say he stamped himself in that role.

I think Will himself would be going into the preseason with higher ambitions then the defensive tagging role.

He did get dropped after playing that game for a few weeks so I wouldnā€™t go as far to say he stamped himself in that role.

I think Will himself would be going into the preseason with higher ambitions then the defensive tagging role.
I agree though the thing I like about him is his mentality and team focus. He would happily tag each week if it helped us win and helped his teammates.

We can debate about his ability but not his attitude and thatā€™s always nice to see.

Didnā€™t someone see him at chaddy after heā€™d been drafted and called him arrogant based on nothing more than his clothes and sunnies.

Classic Bigfooty
Just saw Will Phillips in Chadstone with some of his mates. Let me just say he looks like a pretty arrogant private school boy. May not be a bad thing for his career necessarily but there was something odd about it given the North club culture.

Put it this way - he looked like a Hawthorn player. If he captains us to 3 flags I wonā€™t be complaining of course
It's an all-timer.

What? He stamped himself when he kept Daicos to a handful of kicks up until half time, and then he came off for the remainder of the game and Daicos won Collingwood the game off his own boot. Phillips also followed it up by keeping Clarry to 14 touches the following week.

Subbed off after the third, didn't go with him once he moved out of the middle after half time and was cooked. If it was so successful why did we abandon it after three games? He will never be a tagger. His athletic profile lends him to being an inside mid or bust, there's reasons why he doesnā€™t play forward or back. It's pretty clear cut.

It was 2 good weeks playing as a tagger, he was dropped again 2 weeks later.

I personally donā€™t define that as stamping yourself.

He hasnā€™t quite stamped himself. Heā€™s shown enough in patches that he belongs in the AFL. His significant health issues have absolutely set him back. Heā€™s arguably 2 years behind where he should be.

He has looked on the surface turning up to day one in good nick. Lets see how he turns up after Christmas.

It was 2 good weeks playing as a target, he was dropped again 2 weeks later.

Daicos had 29 and 2, treloar 22 and 2. The only job he did well was on Clayton. It was a lesson for him and a way to get him in to the game but it was never sustainable, he was useless after half time against the pies and subbed himself off in the third. If we had an injury we would've been left one down because Will couldn't compete. He's come back in better nick but the running capacity required to tag the best mids in the game is not in his wheelhouse.

Mate. North destroyed collingwood for best part of three quarters of footy. Its a team sport and Phillips did a tremendous job. It wasnā€™t only Will that let that game slip. It was a combination of monumental failures from multiple people from the top down.

And Will learned a lesson that day and I reckon he has taken it on the chin and thats why he has turned up in the best nick he ever has since being drafted

Mate. North destroyed collingwood for best part of three quarters of footy. Its a team sport and Phillips did a tremendous job. It wasnā€™t only Will that let that game slip. It was a combination of monumental failures from multiple people from the top down.

And Will learned a lesson that day and I reckon he has taken it on the chin and thats why he has turned up in the best nick he ever has since being drafted
And proved he's nowhere near being able to tag for a full game which is my point. Glad he's come back in better nick and hopefully he can put together some good footy. Hopefully he can get 30+ in the two's, run out a game, spread defensively and get involved in chains. I'm sure he'll be a lot better than last season, how much better? We'll know early on.

Well thats somewhat positive. Quietly, I reckon you are in for a surprise.

It was 2 good weeks playing as a tagger, he was dropped again 2 weeks later.

He played as the defensive mid (when he was attending CBAs) for the rest of the season I believe? Not solely tagging oppo mids but putting on blocks for the likes of LDU, George and Harry.

I donā€™t think heā€™s ever going to be played as that high disposal getter that you and junkdog are dreaming about.

He played as the defensive mid (when he was attending CBAs) for the rest of the season I believe? Not solely tagging oppo mids but putting on blocks for the likes of LDU, George and Harry.

I donā€™t think heā€™s ever going to be played as that high disposal getter that you and junkdog are dreaming about.

I never said I had dreams of him being a high disposal mid.

I purely disagreed with your idea that heā€™d stamped himself. You canā€™t have stamped yourself if you are still on the fringe relying on availability and form of others to be in the best 22.

He played plenty of two's footy and was unaccountable. Was also not racking up good numbers himself and not resting anywhere other than the bench. Hopefully he's improved his fitness enough to play inside mid because it's nowhere near the level to play as a defensive one.

Whatā€™s wrong with Star Trek! It has gone downhill but it was a pretty good show back in the 90s!
It's life Jim, but not as we know it :cool:

A lot of angst in this room.

From what I can see Will has come back to pre-season in the best nick of his career and under no illusions as to where he stands in the pecking order (hence one year extension).

Had a lot of almost games last year. Clearly loves the club, possesses elite disposal and footy IQ. If he gets his fitness levels up over the summer then Iā€™m extremely bullish for Mr Phillips.
Not a lot to be gained with any negativity in late November before the Christmas break.

A lot of angst in this room.

From what I can see Will has come back to pre-season in the best nick of his career and under no illusions as to where he stands in the pecking order (hence one year extension).

Had a lot of almost games last year. Clearly loves the club, possesses elite disposal and footy IQ. If he gets his fitness levels up over the summer then Iā€™m extremely bullish for Mr Phillips.
Not a lot to be gained with any negativity in late November before the Christmas break.

Elite feels overly generous.

Player Watch #29: Will Phillips [Part II] - Extends to End of 2025