Preview 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda - Metricon Stadium, Friday 9th October, 7:50PM AEDT

Who Wins?

• Tigers

Votes: 52 48.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 55 51.4%

Carlisle confirmed out is the thing that worries me. If Battle's available, I'd bring him in for Carlisle. If not, either Roberton or Austin. Savage for Long. I'd bring a midfielder in for Ryder, one of either Dunstan or Bytel. This is going to seriously test our depth. I don't see us winning this.

Instead of focusing on plugging holes in the defence we need to win the midfield battle. Restrict their forward entries & quality of entries & we can win. If Battle is unavailable we should go for Marsh & Dunstan/Bytel for Paddy & Jake. Sav if Long misses.

I reckon that Savage for Long is the like for like choice and if we are replacing Jake probably has to be Marsh so we can throw him around if needed. That's a bit of an each way bet. Paddy out probably could means we could bring in Dunstan to give us an extra ball winer in close.

Sinclair played 90% of that game off the backline, and he looked pretty good there.
If they wanted to play him as a back they could put him there and bring in one of the young mids.
Plenty of options.

Roberton may come in, given he's been named emergency the most, but i've never liked him as a key defender, and against Martin or Riewoldt i think he'd be ineffective.
No I wouldn't be playing Robbo as a key defender

That's why I said Wilkie plays on Riewoldt and Robbo plays Wilkies role.

Im expecting Chol to be dropped for Lynch. Howard to Lynch.

Robbo and Coff intercepting.

I've never been a fan of playing Wilkie as a key defender but I doubt Battle gets up and Austin isn't up to it.

No doubt Kent did a couple of nice things mate, but he had 5 touches in a final.

Out of those 5 touches 2 were direct turnovers.

I wouldn't he dropping him, but he might be lucky we have 3 forced changes.

I know what you're saying but I think he looked better to the eye than he did on the stats sheet. I reckon the review wouldn't look as bad as he did on paper. I can remember one really smart tap on to a team mate and a few times he got around his player in traffic using his pace. He took the game on at least.

Can't see Austin getting a look in now but: he played a pretty ripping match against Richmond a couple of years ago, 23 touches @83 %, 8 marks, 8 spoils, 5 rebound 50's.

I reckon we could do worse than having him on the books next year, particularly if Carlisle gets moved on.

He's another who isn't really a KP, he's more a rangy tall interceptor. He plays really loose so he leave space exposed behind him. He's got heaps to work with but for some reason multiple coaches haven't given him another go. Makes you think his papers are stamped. He probably would have suited a tall wingman or something even. One of those guys that missed his opportunity I think. He could go back to state leagues and dominate and get another go maybe.

Can't see Austin getting a look in now but: he played a pretty ripping match against Richmond a couple of years ago, 23 touches @83 %, 8 marks, 8 spoils, 5 rebound 50's.

I reckon we could do worse than having him on the books next year, particularly if Carlisle gets moved on.
Howard would get so frustrated playing alongside Austin - who hates actually defending - that he would go into full beast mode and singlehandedly take two key forwards at once fuelled by how pissed off he is.

I think Austin could go okay with a director next to him. Howard likes to speak up and send players where they belong. It might actually work okay IMO, Austin can play but seems oblivious to the defensive parts of the game.

Ben Long got suspended????

Macrae threw his head around so that it looked like a car crash. I reckon he was trying to get a high contact free and flopped his head like he was in a car crash. It makes it look vicious.

I know you always say this but in his first couple of years he was in the elite range for spoils per match, pretty difficult if you're not actually defending.

He does look like he enjoys running off players though, you'd think if his career was in the balance he could try to tighten up at the request of the coaches.

We haven't seen him for 2 years, so who would know. I feel like we could be very light for tall defenders next year so unless we have our eye on some mature talent to bring in then we may need to hang on to one two that we're not 100% on.

On long, the mrp would have (correctly IMO) said he chose to bump and caught (at least a little) of the head. The biggest issue I see with the suspension is that macrae was fine, no concussion, played out the game, the mrp has placed so much value on how the impacted player is injured that I can’t see how they justify this, and I actually think the long bump probably does warrant a week. We should challenge it as I think he’s really important to the way the back 6 play. If he does play I hope the mrp stuff doesn’t alter his attack.

I do (to a degree) see this game as a free hit, with Ryder, Carlisle out, no Gresh, possible no battle, I don’t think there is much expectation we can beat them, I certainly don’t have any. As opposed to the dogs game which I felt quietly confident going into. I’ll hope against hope and I’ll ride every kick with the boys but the reigning premier, in this season, missing possibly 5 best 22 players. It’s a huge ask.

Tiges under immense pressure to win and underestimating us generally and especially with our outs. Their discipline has been terrible, so rattle them on-field.

On the other hand, a young team riding a wave of belief and confidence, and seemingly not overawed by any challenge thrown at them recently. We beat them previously without Paddy.

Big ask, I know, but stranger things have happened.

You wouldn't be confident with Robbo playing on reiwoldt or Martin in his second game if the year in a final would you.

Hope battle gets up so Wilkie can shut down Martin.

On SM-N985F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Robbo has never been a good one on one defender. He was more a running rebound distributor. Ratts seems to like having a West Coast aerial dominance style backline. If you aren't a good intercept player you don't get a go. He doesn't seem to rate guys who can run and carry as much as clean kicking distributors that make ground through their kicking. Long is the only guy given much licence to get around guys and break lines with the ball in his hands. Hunter, Paton and Coffield can get out of trouble with the ball in hand but they look as though they are instructed to move the ball out by foot to options up field. All use it above average.

A bit weak from Carlisle tbh. He can have more kids ffs

Especially after we all melted so hard to get him back in the team - that’s all the thanks we get! 😉🤣

Just want to say I fully support Carlie's decision and the way the club has approached it. As a relatively new dad (and twins on the way) there are more important things in life sometimes. I'm sure it wasn't an easy decision for the big fella nor an easy decision to miss a semi final considering the number of setbacks he's had in his career.

This type of public support will also go a long way to raising the desirability if the football club with players welfare front and center. Hawthorn have always been known as the family club (because they are so pedestrian and boring :) ) and the saints will become more attractive as a result.

In saying that, huge loss. Hopefully Lynch is still underdone.

Out: Ryder Carslie and Long (will be a scapegoat)
In: Battle, Marsh and Roberton. Not sure of Robbo.

Need big bodies.
I want to echo a lot of this.
My first is due in a few months.
No amount of money or experiences will or would convince me not to be by my wife’s side and meet the little guy. Carlisle is making the right choice.

as for us? Yeah we are climbing a mountain, but we knew that before the first bounce on Saturday.
Come first bounce on Friday night, we are even and all you can ask is for 22 men to give everything for 2 hours for our jumper.