Preview 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda - Metricon Stadium, Friday 9th October, 7:50PM AEDT

Who Wins?

• Tigers

Votes: 52 48.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 55 51.4%

I believe there are still tickets available (for those in the region) so if you have been equivocating as to whether you would like to travel down to Metricon and endure the late night drive back to Brisbane - it might just be worth it to say "I was there helping our boys beat Richmond by doing my bit in the stands". The umpires are not used to crowd noises this year. The Saints crowd will demand free kicks when they are there and firmly boo the frees paid when they are mistakes. Richmond have been giving a few 50's away recently - a sign of a lack of respect for their opposition. If they didn't respect Brisbane, then that arogance would most probably extend to how they view us. In their eyes we are a minnow club who scraped into the finals who were lucky enough to find their opponent was another minnow club. We just scraped a win and now have lost significant personnel. Of course they are going to be overconfident.

This is going to be a real tough game. Nothing new in saying that. Doubt one unbiased person will pick us and fair enough. Doesn’t mean we can’t win as I doubt any unbiased person picked the Pies last week. However there is probably more chance of a reasonably big loss than a win. All I ask is if we do happen to lose we don’t jump on the players or the club. I’m sure the club know we aren’t a finished product. The last thing we need to do is say we have had enough of this job or the management is the problem or game plan etc. we are missing 2 of our top 5 players from last week plus long who was also ok. Let’s face it if they didn’t play last week we most likely lose and that’s against a side not as good as the tigers.

I will be yelling and screaming with a mate tomorrow and then might do the same watching the footy. I will be blaming players and umpires during the game as most on here will in the match tread but once the game is over and if the worst happens please try to think how good the year has been before you bag people or the club in the autopsy thread. Let’s stick together whatever the result It’s been an A grade year. That’s all you can ask for. Common you saints. Let’s dream.
Well said. Whatever happens, it has been a huge step forward for the club this year. In any year it would have been great to make finals and win one, but in a year with lockdown and everything that goes with it, the saints‘ wins have given some of the best times.

I just hope we don’t get obliterated, it can’t be good for the confidence heading into next season. Need to put in a four quarter effort. I actually think we are a chance to be at least in this game for three & a half quarters. We match up well & apart from against the Cats & Pies we have performed admirably against all opposition. Our wingers & small forwards excelled against the Tigers earlier in the year. They play fairly loose between the arcs & back their backline to cause turnovers & score on the turnover. As long as we are smart with our entries into the forward 50 I give us a chance to put in a competitive effort.

I think we definitely go with a defensive forward this week.

1st option is obviously Marsh or Battle to go to Grimes

2nd for me would be Geary going to Short.

Is it too much to do both?
I reckon you can do both. Geary and Battle/Marsh can still get offensively dangerous as defensive forwards. I’d probably prefer to send Geary to Vlaustin. Their rebound is built on intercepting and Vlaustin is great at it. He’s bigger than Geary but Geary is good in the air and would do ok I think. Short is quality too though.

I think we definitely go with a defensive forward this week.

1st option is obviously Marsh or Battle to go to Grimes

2nd for me would be Geary going to Short.

Is it too much to do both?

Going off SS’s training notes I think we will see a record number of entries going to King. A lot of play will be through him, as such, I’m expecting a predictable game plan that will suit our small forwards. They will always know where to be. The Tigers better be on their game. However, Marsh & Geary will be critical in drawing their opponents out Max’s leading patterns & providing blocks.

This is going to be a real tough game. Nothing new in saying that. Doubt one unbiased person will pick us and fair enough. Doesn’t mean we can’t win as I doubt any unbiased person picked the Pies last week. However there is probably more chance of a reasonably big loss than a win. All I ask is if we do happen to lose we don’t jump on the players or the club. I’m sure the club know we aren’t a finished product. The last thing we need to do is say we have had enough of this job or the management is the problem or game plan etc. we are missing 2 of our top 5 players from last week plus long who was also ok. Let’s face it if they didn’t play last week we most likely lose and that’s against a side not as good as the tigers.

I will be yelling and screaming with a mate tomorrow and then might do the same watching the footy. I will be blaming players and umpires during the game as most on here will in the match tread but once the game is over and if the worst happens please try to think how good the year has been before you bag people or the club in the autopsy thread. Let’s stick together whatever the result It’s been an A grade year. That’s all you can ask for. Common you saints. Let’s dream.
You're medicated again.

I like this plugger.

Great post. Completely agree.

I just hope we don’t get obliterated, it can’t be good for the confidence heading into next season. Need to put in a four quarter effort. I actually think we are a chance to be at least in this game for three & a half quarters. We match up well & apart from against the Cats & Pies we have performed admirably against all opposition. Our wingers & small forwards excelled against the Tigers earlier in the year. They play fairly loose between the arcs & back their backline to cause turnovers & score on the turnover. As long as we are smart with our entries into the forward 50 I give us a chance to put in a competitive effort.
In all honesty there is a good chance of a 5+ goal loss. That’s unfortunately a realistic outcome. They are a great team and we are missing key players this week.

A big loss means nothing. We have come from being a cellar dweller to winning a final.

The experience needs to be the driver. I think it will.

If we are to win however. It will be about winning the ball from between the centre and half back whilst Richmond transition. There is space behind that line once we do. Hence why I advocated for Hind. A pacey mosquito fleet this week.

As supporters, this is a free hit. The injury ravaged underdog. One of the youngest sides in the comp. up against the reigning champ. The strides we have made this year is incredible. We beat some of the best sides this year. We played exciting footy. Anything can happen, but we shouldn’t be upset regardless of the result. We have come a very long way in 12 months.

I hope that a player from another team bumps an opponent in a similar fashion, this weekend. I’d love to see how they’d try to grade it after serving up this nonsense.

If you were a conspiracy theorist....Richmond get umpired out of last game, complain to the AFL so they then do as much as they can to hamstring their opposition. Expect a firestorm of umpiring coming our way too.

Brisbane have to get through to the GF to make the Queensland hosting work financially and benefit from the publicity of it. I'm not saying that it's fact but they aren't exactly wholesome.

Probably just the AFLs two tier system where stars can't be rubbed out but everyone else have rules.

I honestly Think a big loss would have zero effect on next year. The players would know where they are at and they would also realise we are missing at least 2 vital players. We will be fine next season if we continue our good recruiting

If you were a conspiracy theorist....Richmond get umpired out of last game, complain to the AFL so they then do as much as they can to hamstring their opposition. Expect a firestorm of umpiring coming our way too.

Brisbane have to get through to the GF to make the Queensland hosting work financially and benefit from the publicity of it. I'm not saying that it's fact but they aren't exactly wholesome.

Probably just the AFLs two tier system where stars can't be rubbed out but everyone else have rules.
Why do you bother watching the game even if it only slightly gets into your brain.

Mate , you think you have seen melts in the past well you better buckle up , if we lose im going to go off tap like never before , all players will be sacked , Ratts can go back to Carlton and i will be reinstating Richo to his rightful post .
It wont stop there either , everyone from the boot studder to the Pres is in my sights and they will feel the full wrath of the Captain like never before .

In all seriousness i never gave us a chance of making the finals this year , i was more thinking next year so no matter how it ends up you have got to be proud of the whole club , not just the players but everyone how they have conducted themselves and not being turds like a lot other other clubs.

Its going to be super tough to win tomorrow night but i still feel we can get it done

Go Saints

It will depend on our mind set I think. If we go in with a bit of belief and don't panic it will go along way to being competitive. Could easily crack with the age of our list but Ratts seems to keep them pretty level. Hopefully we get away to a fast start, otherwise we panic and stop taking risks. When ever we lose quarters or matches it's through stopping playing front foot footy. We need to keep taking risks.

I know this is a horrible mindset but I truly see this game as a free swing, no one expects us to win, we’re down on key personel and arguably played our grand final last week.

It might be more a protective thing for my mental health (I nearly imploded in the 4th last week) but honestly I don’t see any way we win this game. I’ll hope and pray and wish for a win but I’ll be okay if we don’t win. So much has been achieved this season and so much potential for the future looks good, the structure and brand of footy, the development of guys like Battle, Clark and Coff etc is so exciting.

Agree entirely. A great point regarding us not being a finished product. I recall back in 2008 we snuck into the top 4. We got beaten by the Cats very easily (8 to 10 goals if I recall), beat the Pies pretty easily, then got our arses handed to us by the Hawks (again by 8 to 10 goals).

We were a long way behind the Grand Finalists for 2008, but we were the best team in 2009 and should have won the flag.

AFAIAC in 2020 we are still a fair bit behind the top four and the missing players don't help. I reckon we in all likelyhood lose tomorrow night, but we in all likelyhood should have lost to Port Adelaide after a short break and travelling twice to Adelaide, a ground we had never won before. it is a season of firsts and surprises.

To make finals and to win one is agreat achievement, but we are not done yet, I wont write the obituary until it is over but it will be positive for sure.
The wins against teams
The success under hub life
The players
The valuable experience
Finals

All can come once we beat Richmond then Port and whichever spud suck team dares to turn up to get flogged by us in the Granny :)

Not dead yet

Go Saints

WEATHER FORECAST NERANG FRIDAY NITE

Summary
partly-cloudy.png
Min 13Max 31Partly cloudy.Possible rainfall: 0 to 0.4 mmChance of any rain: 30%
rain_30.gif
Gold Coast area
Partly cloudy. Slight (30%) chance of a shower from the late morning. The chance of a thunderstorm in the afternoon and evening. Winds north to northwesterly 15 to 20 km/h tending north to northeasterly 15 to 25 km/h in the middle of the day then becoming light in the evening.

Ideal weather if wet for the training we did during the week, think Sunshine Sainter mentioned we did a bit of soccer & volleyball training. Saints in another heart stopper 5pts.

Come on guys, nobody expects us to win, but it is not a fait accompli, I am sure the players with bother to turn up to play tomorrow night.

It's a two horse race, Collingwood v Richmond PF 2018, Hawks v Geelong GF 2008, All the Bulldogs finals in 2016. It happens.

Lets not bury our team yet. They will give a good account of themselves, have done all year.

GO SAINTS!!!!!!!!!

The closer we get to the game the more excited I am becoming. Nobody outside the club gives us any chance and that's fine with me.

It's not going to be easy but we are a team that relies on an even team performance over individual brilliance. I just have a sneaky feeling we will give this a bit of a shake.

Also gonna help when Winx kicks 10