Preview 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda - Metricon Stadium, Friday 9th October, 7:50PM AEDT

Who Wins?

• Tigers

Votes: 52 48.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 55 51.4%

Come on guys, nobody expects us to win, but it is not a fait accompli, I am sure the players with bother to turn up to play tomorrow night.

It's a two horse race, Collingwood v Richmond PF 2018, Hawks v Geelong GF 2008, All the Bulldogs finals in 2016. It happens.

Lets not bury our team yet. They will give a good account of themselves, have done all year.

GO SAINTS!!!!!!!!!

Agree. Must admit I don’t like this ‘free hit’ attitude. Hopefully it is only a supporter thing & not club. The players need to go into the match full of confidence knowing they can & have matched it against the top 3 opponents.
As I said earlier we match up very well against the Tigers. Our outside run & fleet footed smalls trouble them. I am expecting a hard fought contest.

For me, I'm proud of the Saints how we have gone this season. We have improved more than I thought and it has been so good to see our young players getting towards their potential. Really happy the club has got to finals and then winning 1 was a bonus.

In saying that we are every chance to beat the Tigers like we did earlier in the season. You gotta be in it to win it it!! And were in it!! Come out breathing fire Sainters!!

I have settled on the changes I think will occur. Ideally it’s Battle, Marsh & Hind. If Battle doesn’t get up, Savage.

Marsh to play forward regardless if Battle plays. If Battle plays he goes into defence, if he doesn’t Savage plays his role. We will go in smaller in the backline & back our rebounding defenders.

Hind to come in to add extra pace around the half forward line. All he needs is 6 possessions, 1-2 goals & plenty of pressure acts & he has served his purpose.

It has been a very successful year. We were aiming for finals (pass) but to show we are more than making up numbers with a finals win (A+). This week is about opportunity (we can win and pressure is all on Richmond). If we win - wow! If we lose (even by a lot) - we learn and builds hunger and belief for next year.

All boxes ticked for 2020. Next year players build further and finals become an expectation not aim.

GO Saint!!!!!!!

I’d like more physicality as opposed to speed Battle, Marsh and Jimmy. We are quick enough to break them down. We need aggression at the ball carrier

I reckon the only way we beat them is to spread fast and run. If it gets into an inside battle of strength it's going to be played on their terms. We have got to use our long kicking to space. If they get tackles on us they will clear the ball too fast for us to keep up.

Come on guys, nobody expects us to win, but it is not a fait accompli, I am sure the players with bother to turn up to play tomorrow night.

It's a two horse race, Collingwood v Richmond PF 2018, Hawks v Geelong GF 2008, All the Bulldogs finals in 2016. It happens.

Lets not bury our team yet. They will give a good account of themselves, have done all year.

GO SAINTS!!!!!!!!!
If we can start well then we are a huge chance. This year Richmond have been undisciplined on and off the field and they could unravel if things don't go their way. Also with 2 premiership medals in their back pocket there is no way that they are as hungry as us at the moment, I don't think it will be as one-sided as some think.

The players won’t have the free hit mindset, they beat the tigers convincingly this year and honestly our first three quarters last week (and the port game etc) mean we KNOW we can win.

I don’t think you can blame supporters for taking heart with our season right now knowing this is a massive mountain we’re trying to climb with one hand tied behind our back.

I’ll be wearing my saints jumper and riding every bump with them on Friday, but if we fall short at the final siren I’ll be proud and optimistic about the future, not bitter about a missed opportunity, that’s all.

I reckon the only way we beat them is to spread fast and run. If it gets into an inside battle of strength it's going to be played on their terms. We have got to use our long kicking to space. If they get tackles on us they will clear the ball too fast for us to keep up.
Force the fumble the cracks will appear. I like that Jono has speed and physicality

Absolutely, keep the ball moving forward and run them off their legs. Hopefully they keep Chol in the side in favour of a small running player.

Force the fumble the cracks will appear. I like that Jono has speed and physicality

Yep, like all sides, once you stop them playing their game the are vulnerable. Ratts is a very good strategy coach. Training with the soccer ball is what they do at some TAC squads to teach kicking skills. It's finding the sweet spot on a ball. Not using our hands in drills suggests we are going to go long at every opportunity. Try to crack them open.

Absolutely, keep the ball moving forward and run them off their legs. Hopefully they keep Chol in the side in favour of a small running player.

Keeping the ball moving is key. Really feel like this is the sort of match that Long could have thrived in, hitting them hard but keep the ball in motion.

Battle would be a great addition, I think we can beat them in the air, although not to the extent we did against the dog. But it will be speed and aggression, we need to come in with the hunter mindset, hit them hard, hit them fast, hit them often.

I'm not a huge fan of him but I would definitely be keen to see Marsh get a run.

Would probably like to see Battle, Marsh and Webster as the ins.

This is going to be a real tough game. Nothing new in saying that. Doubt one unbiased person will pick us and fair enough. Doesn’t mean we can’t win as I doubt any unbiased person picked the Pies last week. However there is probably more chance of a reasonably big loss than a win. All I ask is if we do happen to lose we don’t jump on the players or the club. I’m sure the club know we aren’t a finished product. The last thing we need to do is say we have had enough of this job or the management is the problem or game plan etc. we are missing 2 of our top 5 players from last week plus long who was also ok. Let’s face it if they didn’t play last week we most likely lose and that’s against a side not as good as the tigers.

I will be yelling and screaming with a mate tomorrow and then might do the same watching the footy. I will be blaming players and umpires during the game as most on here will in the match tread but once the game is over and if the worst happens please try to think how good the year has been before you bag people or the club in the autopsy thread. Let’s stick together whatever the result It’s been an A grade year. That’s all you can ask for. Common you saints. Let’s dream.
This is without a doubt the best post I’ve ever seen from you on here or on SS. Well said and I completely agree.

I think we need to remember that while Marshall did ruck one out against the Tigers earlier in the year, Nankervis got the better of him in that game or at least broke even. Paddy going down is unfortunately huge; our ruck one-two punch has been our greatest area of strength this year, now it becomes a weakness. I know Abbott was pretty useless against the Hawks this year but I wouldn't be completely shocked if he came in to play first ruck. Most likely option is Marshall though.

If Battle is fit I think he needs to play defensive forward again. Richmond's greatest strength is their intercept marking. Battle was awesome on Haynes, if we could get a similar result against one of their guys it would be huge. I also don't have great confidence that he can come in and play on Riewoldt or Lynch.

Geary will likely go back to cover Long, so that leaves one of Savage, Roberton or Webster to come in. I'd go with Robbo, proven gun and can take a good intercept grab. I think they'll choose Savage though. And then my guess it's Marsh to replace Paddy (or rather Marshall) and try to bust packs and play second ruck.

But like I said, I think the potential rabbit out of the hat is Abbott.

When will we know for sure if battle is fit to play? Like Long I just want to know if we rule him in or out?
Please tell me I don’t need to wait until 6:20 tonight...

Battle, Savage & Hind in IMO

Wouldn’t mind seeing Webster rate his hardness at the contest but been too long between drinks surely?
I wouldn’t mind seeing that but if battle can’t make it we have to bring in marsh.

Don’t mind that. I actually think Marsh plays better down back not a natural fwd IMO

Rather Battle up fwd & Marsh down back personally - if we go down that track

Don’t mind that. I actually think Marsh plays better down back not a natural fwd IMO

Rather Battle up fwd & Marsh down back personally - if we go down that track
I’d be happy with marsh down back if it came to that. Battle can just go wherever like always. Love his versatility.