Game Day 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda

This board if we get up tonight

And a present for the ones who wrote us off
tenor.gif

I know a lot of people are saying that the "house's money" mentality isn't one we should be hanging on to, but let's be serious, that's the exact situation we are in.

We are coming off the back of two do or die matches and are still alive. Sure there is a risk that this mind frame can make you concede defeat before the game starts, but on the other hand it can allow the players to go out there with a sense of freedom. There isn't anything to lose, but there is a hell of a lot to gain. You reckon if you win a few hands of blackjack at the casino, you wouldn't be pumped to win another?

I hope we absolutely smash them in the contest tonight. Every contested situation should be a game of inches, we should be getting the ball moving forward at all times, if a player is wrapped up in a tackle, I want to see them getting pushed an extra 5 metres Rugby style.

Richmond are going into this game down on form and down on momentum, with the idea that this game is a mere formality. They are ripe to be knocked off.

We beat Richmond earlier in the year, we beat Port, we were minutes away from beating Brisbane. We can match them.

This season has brought so much uncertainty with the hubs, reduced crowds, shorter quarters etc. Reduced certainty means increased variance and that is a very good thing for the underdog.

Expect Steele to smash their mids, Marshall to run Nank off his legs, King to be huge in the pack situations and our smalls to feast on the crumbs.

Ross and Wilkie will keep Martin contained, our defenders will expose Jack and Lynch's lack of accountability and dictate our offensive movements.

Saints by 25.

Some spud call James Gwilt kicked two goals. Huh, don't think he ever played again o_O
Forgot about that. The fro back then. Anyone got a pic?

Seroiusly if we are struggling to marks, we should just grubber the ball into the 50 give Butler Lones, Billings a chance against Geelong and WC I felt we should have tried to chaos ball a bit earlier.
True, we might struggle taking marks. Hands are still saw from all the marks we took last week

Pretty exciting to see our age profile for tonight. And one of the 150+ games players is Savage whose played 1 game before tonight.

The future is very very bright.

View attachment 980902
The 150+ also includes Gears & Hanners who haven't played a massive part in our season, not to say they haven't been important at times but it is great to see us leaning towards youth with loads of room for growth and still winning rather than more mature guys that have probably reached their peak.

Marsh will be the back up ruck - so he will probably play 80-20 forward where he has trained all year.

Battle probably links our sides transition through a wing or flank. He won’t sit forward and hasn’t been really used as a key back this year. Even when we dropped Carlisle.

I can’t remember against who. But in the last 5-6 games of the home and away matches Coffield played on a few talls. Got smashed in one match. Might have been Geelong?
I think it was the WC game. Coffield had a few contested marks taken on him inside 50 before Battle moved back at half time.

I'd be happy to see Wilkie play a key position but not Coffield. I don't think it suits him and also takes away his strengths.

The issue with that is, Wilkie is the ideal match up for Martin.

Well just finished work for the day. The challenge now is to not start drinking too early. Maybe slip down to the local bowlsy for a burger and a slowww pint of guiness or two. Who am i kidding, gonna be trashed by 4pm. Then, a bit like the saints last week, try to hold on to make it through to the end! Go Saints!!!

Pumped.

Home with my two young sons today for (hopefully) their last day of remote learning.

I'm usually really focused with helping them. Today.... 1+1 might equal "King kicks the winner after the siren!"... or something

Go Saints.... tear sh*t up

If King kicks 3 goals and Riewoldt kicks 3 behinds, how many points have each player kicked? :p

When we gave up a huge lead over an average side in Round 1 we totally stuffed our season.

We recovered; but when we gave up a huge lead over an ordinary Freo side playing outside of the comfort of WA, we totally stuffed our season again.

We recovered again, but when we lost a game in the middle of Australia against a disappointing and demoralised Demon side, we again totally stuffed our season.

Yet here we are in a Semi Final having won our first final in a decade.

How could you not be happy regardless of the outcome of tonight’s game?

Go Saints! 😇🔴⚪⚫
Exactly. Let's all remember that and the general vibe on here today about our season regardless of the outcome.

If we lose let's all try to keep that mood and drop any melts.

Exactly. Let's all remember that and the general vibe on here today about our season regardless of the outcome.

I won’t be melting. I’m so proud of what the entire group has been able to achieve in such a short time and looking forward to seeing how we go tonight. Win lose or draw it has been an exceptional season and it’s been a great journey too. Haven’t enjoyed footy like this for years which is ironic given I have been to zero games this year.
Bring it on!!!!

Well just finished work for the day. The challenge now is to not start drinking too early. Maybe slip down to the local bowlsy for a burger and a slowww pint of guiness or two. Who am i kidding, gonna be trashed by 4pm. Then, a bit like the saints last week, try to hold on to make it through to the end! Go Saints!!!
Just in case we win, better take out a marker and write your address on your backside where everyone will see it in the morning

When we gave up a huge lead over an average side in Round 1 we totally stuffed our season.

We recovered; but when we gave up a huge lead over an ordinary Freo side playing outside of the comfort of WA, we totally stuffed our season again.

We recovered again, but when we lost a game in the middle of Australia against a disappointing and demoralised Demon side, we again totally stuffed our season.

Yet here we are in a Semi Final having won our first final in a decade.

How could you not be happy regardless of the outcome of tonight’s game?

Go Saints!

We bounced back everytime we got doubted. That’s never been the case in the last 10 odd years.

We learnt from our mistakes, it showed.

According to Barrett's Sliding Doors we might as well fly back to Melb this afternoon.

"
IF ...
the 2020 season has been a very good one for the Saints, with a sixth place on the ladder and a finals win ...

THEN ...
it nevertheless will come to an end against Richmond. Would've loved to have seen what they might have been able to achieve with Ryder, Carlisle and Long.

Was good to shove it up Brucey and Peter Gordon for their comments earlier in the year

Now Let's shove it up this purple headed flog

A hidden bonus with our season this year is it makes us very much look like a destination club to potential recruits. Likely finalists in 2021 is a great lure. Won't be at all surprised if we land a big fish or two or poach a couple of young stars.

With little to offer in draft picks don't be surprised if we have to give up some players that supporters would prefer to keep. Like we did with Bruce and Acres last year. I can see Jake being a likely suspect if we do.

Tonight's game will either be a comfortable Tiger's win or a knife's edge game if we bring our A game. Hoping like hell for the latter and that my heart can stand us winning it in the last couple of minutes. Enjoy lads !

Bring on Port.

Talking of the Vibe , its a bit like the Castle tonight , the small back yarder going up against the big corporation , and we all know how that turned out

****ing brilliant

It's been a long time since I've posted but there is something about this side that brought me back. It really helped that I had the chance to watch most of the matches this year as all the Sports Channels in America were starving for content.

Plus it's great for us to have an ALFW side that plays at Linton St. From what I saw on the Saints site it looked like there were some pretty good crowds for their games. Well done.

Game is on at 4:30am my time so I'm going to turn my phone and computer off and fire up the DVR around 8am.