Autopsy 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda

I reckon Zones was good for the first half a season but really average since. Ryder to me was only bettered by Steele. Butler if he'd kept his early season form late would have ben easily the best small forward in the comp.

I had Coffield in the 5. He went from looking like he wasn't AFL standard in our first couple of games to being close to to an AA quality defender.

He came second in marks in the whole comp this year, 10th in intercepts. He was low key the most improved player in the competition to me. He'd played 18 career games before 2020. ******* phenomenal year.

Clark looks like watching an electric eel on acid when he plays so gets all the love but Coffield was extraordinary. Paton doesn't do the flash stuff either but if you want to put the clamps on someone he locks on like a horny Jack Russell.
No doubt Jones' form in the 2nd half of the year wasn't as good as his first but output for the whole year he's quite easily in our top 5.

That's right. Hopefully we can get all them back for the start of pre season. Don't want a situation like Melbourne 2018 where so many players had fractured pre seasons.
The only one I would be worried about is Gresh. He's not the fittest player at the best of times, so not being able to train for an extended period of time could set him back a bit.

No doubt Jones' form in the 2nd half of the year wasn't as good as his first but output for the whole year he's quite easily in our top 5.

I couldn't fit him in myself. I reckon there are about 10 with claims on 5 spots though.

The only one I would be worried about is Gresh. He's not the fittest player at the best of times, so not being able to train for an extended period of time could set him back a bit.
Such a frustrating year for him. Four or five months in rehab between the leg injury and the back. Fingers crossed he can have a better run at it next year.

Avid reader, first time poster.
I'm genuinely happy with this season - 14th to a semi final is a huge leap for a club that hasn't seen much success in the last decade.
We have seen some huge growth this year within so many areas of the club/players and that is really exciting for us heading into the future.

Although it seems like everyone loves to praise players in a good win and then throw them on the trade table the week after a loss - I'd take all 5 inclusions this year any day over some of the players occupying our best 22 a year ago haha. Shit year, unusual circumstances but as the list plays together and continues to grow - geez it's gonna be flipping exciting. Curious to see who gets the chop but I'm sure it's all for great reason. No certainties in footy, but fingers crossed this is the start of a ripper journey for the mighty Sainters. 🤟

Anybody know when the MRP announce their justification for letting Lynch and Cotchin off for a fine?

Can’t wait to hear how they deal with potential damage (Long) rather than actual. Suddenly “potential” will be worse than “actual”? Wow. Guilty until proven innocent.

Wouldn't personally have Wilkie in. I thought he was better last year.

Considering impact, consistency and improvement I'd go
Steele
Butler
Clark
Coffield
Marshall

I think it's easy to under value Marshall's input. His 2019 season was better but the guy is a trojan and no one has given more effort to the club in the last two years. That should be recognized.

Anybody know when the MRP announce their justification for letting Lynch and Cotchin off for a fine?

Can’t wait to hear how they deal with potential damage (Long) rather than actual. Suddenly “potential” will be worse than “actual”? Wow. Guilty until proven innocent.
I don't see Cotchin getting off, there is too much media pressure now,

Ben Long last week opened up pandoras box for Michael Christan, Lynch will get a fine for the knee but might get looked at for the elbow to Paton

Brooke Cotchin & Wayne Carey called to the witness stand

Missing Gresh, Paddy, Carlisle and Long. All would have been huge yesterday. Bloody unlucky.
Missed those players, but our team defensive game was no good- and that's a coaching/ structural thing. I had a horrible feeling that they were taking a risk on Battle, and it didn't come off. We needed an extra ruck, and we did have Abbott for these situations, so points deducted from the team selectors.

Yep in hindsight Marsh didn't work. Would have preferred Roberton personally with Battle forward all game.

I feel like that’s very stiff. We lost to the best team of last four years by 30 points, and it was a margin that flattered them. We kicked terribly for goal. We probably should only have lost by a couple of goals.

The only area we structurally broke down was centre clearance and I don’t see how Abbott would have helped that. Marshall is a better ruck than Abbott. Centre bounces have been a good area for us this year. We got stiff losing Ryder, probably the player we could least afford to lose.

I don't see Cotchin getting off, there is too much media pressure now,

Ben Long last week opened up pandoras box for Michael Christan, Lynch will get a fine for the knee but might get looked at for the elbow to Paton
Its a big club in a prelim, of course they will

Curious what other sports in the world (outside of mma) would let off a knee drop during stopped play, even at low force

great year saints.
proud to finally be back in finals as a decent team.
keep this core crew together and we can have a crack for the next 5 years at least.

lost by 6 goals to the premiership favs with their best 22.
we missed long, would have stopped at least 1 bolton goal
missed Jake, would have stopped at least 1 w***er goal.
gresh would have snagged 1.
if battle could feel his foot would have got another.
umpire maggots do their job fairly we get another 2 from 50ms
paddy in the ruck stops dusty streaming out the middle 6 times resulting in goals.

in all seriousness though, we were well in that game.
the boys were just a bit uncomposed, and the better team on the night played with extreme composure and pressure and intent to hurt.
cant wait to see how our boys go at it next September!

So basically we won by 6 goals;)

The main things that hurt us...

Goal kicking
Centre clearances

Ryder was a huge loss in the end.

The development of players such as Clark, Coff and King will see us continue to improve. Interested to see how Bytel goes too

How do you help the midfield to improve? Big question facing the recruiters this trade period. Taranto would obviously be amazing. I'd look at Crouch too.

I loved the endeavour of the players, they never gave up. If the ball didn't go back to the middle after a goal we might have got a run on. But every time we looked like it they would get a huge centre clearance. It also helped them to get a big run on.
Trades and drafts aside - Clark putting on some muscle over the preseason and playing in the guts next year as well as Gresh back in and our midfield will look a lot better

Missing Gresh, Paddy, Carlisle and Long. All would have been huge yesterday. Bloody unlucky.

Missing four of the best 22 and Battle apparently playing with broken foot in the second - and losing the game by 25pts ( I’m disregarding the arc debacle) - we have to be very happy with that. Well, frustrated, but happy!

Autopsy 2nd Semi Final, 2020: Richmond v St.Kilda