Player Watch #3: Dion Prestia Re-Signed for 2025

Todays stats. More reliable than random innerwebz opinions.

Prestia starting to get his motor going. 16km today follows15.5km last week. Fastest average speed in defence and second quickest in attack

Sent from my iPad using righteous man power
lol sorry capt because I find you a good person, however collectively they are the most insignificant stats I have ever seen..

His work rate is non existent. A brisk walk can cover 8km/h , so in two hours most players will be around 15-16km especially mids.
He's often jogging by himself and waiting for a turnover so he can get a cheapie. His work rate at the stoppages and contest is what is important and it's substandard. If that km stat is what you're preaching to pump him up above ball winning and disposal then youre barking up the wrong tree. He hasn't even got a sprint on him and is a witches hat waiting to be spotted. He needs to lift as he's a joke for what the reviews on him were.

I not overly impressed with Dion or the trade but most mids don't do 16km a game. Looking at the stats only 6 other players ran 16+ km over the entire round.

In fact most mids don't get over 15km.

I not overly impressed with Dion or the trade but most mids don't do 16km a game. Looking at the stats only 6 other players ran 16+ km over the entire round.

it's not a marathon , it's a footy game where winning the contested footy and using it the best, results in scoring the most goals or points which is the sole decider on whether you win or lose.

imposter is spot on. I watche him closely today, 3rd qtr not to bad but he jokes around the contest. Does not force an issue. Fails to man up and he only runs one way. Turnover merchant in first qtr. 2nd no good. I dont know what the hype is with this bloke and if someone again says give him a pre season I will streak at punt rd. The bloke was taken at 6 to be a ready made player with class, guts and nous. Not there yet.

TigerImposter said:
His work rate is non existent. A brisk walk can cover 8km/h , so in two hours most players will be around 15-16km especially mids.
He's often jogging by himself and waiting for a turnover so he can get a cheapie. His work rate at the stoppages and contest is what is important and it's substandard. If that km stat is what you're preaching to pump him up above ball winning and disposal then youre barking up the wrong tree. He hasn't even got a sprint on him and is a witches hat waiting to be spotted. He needs to lift as he's a joke for what the reviews on him were.

it's not a marathon , it's a footy game where winning the contested footy and using it the best, results in scoring the most goals or points which is the sole decider on whether you win or lose.

Gee thanks all this time I'd been hoping we'd start recruiting in Kenya. :rolleyes:

Agree, I was watching him pretty well all day this week and last week and more often than not he's just jogging up and down the ground by himself. Now any bloke( athlete) can do this at an average speed of 8km per hr. I'm more interested in him doing damage with the ball or winning the ball which we've had a handful of glimpses over his 15 games.
Also the reason the other mids didn't clock up the 15km mark is that they weren't given the same percentage game time and some were playing different roles.

lol sorry capt because I find you a good person, however collectively they are the most insignificant stats I have ever seen..

That's ok. There's a fair disconnect by a few of us over this bloke. Clearly some don't rate him, some do. And i get the feeling we are gonna be debating Prestia for a while yet.

Sent from my iPad using righteous man power

I agree, and it's mainly supporters who only watch on the telly that don't appreciate his massive workrate. He reminds me of BEllis last year, just keeps going and going and...
I've watched him live for two weeks now and I can tell you he looked better on TV as the TV hides most of his deficiencies except for clangers . He's been very ordinary and that's being nice.

Prestias average moving speed was 10.8km/h highest on the ground, to give an idea Matt White averaged 10km/h yesterday against Melbourne in perfect conditions. His average speed in attack was 9.5km/h ranked 2nd and 9.2km/h in defence ranked first, but apparently he has a poor work rate and only runs one way. It is this sort of motor that will allow Prestia to come into his own. Many of us spoke about him needing fitness, now that it is starting to come good we're getting to see the hard gut running that made Prestia so good at the Suns. For a bloke to be doing that on the back of a reduced preseason is a fair effort even more so when you consider how heavy the track was.

One of the best 2 way runners in the comp.

It's no seret I'm a fan but his disposal is the worst in our team by a mile.

The good news is it wasn't like this at the GC so I'm confident it will be tidied up moving forward. That said, it doesn't make sense that it's so bad all of a sudden

Not talking about his clangers, they are there for all to see (just like Dusty's) I'm talking about his huge workrate.
What work rate ? Jogging on his lonesome self? Cmon mate his work rate would only come into calculation if he was hurting the opposition. Now he had one score involvement. I reckon the opposition don't even bother manning him up bc he's so ineffective and easy to negate even with ball in hand. I think you need to watch the game with a pair of binoculars as your eyes are playing tricks on you bc He has near zero hurt factor.

People who bag this bloke have no idea about football. End of story.
They just don't like him period, and when they do watch him they only focus and remember the negative.
Before the ball is even bounced they are just waiting for his first clanger so they post it here on BF for the "I told you so" moment.

People who bag this bloke have no idea about football. End of story.
Thanks professor as nobody here is bagging him , but commenting on the trash he has dished up. Now blame Prestia for it as he's given us the trash to judge him on. If you're happy with the football he's given us then I suggest you have nfi about football and you should keep your narrow minded judgements to yourself.

What work rate ? Jogging on his lonesome self? Cmon mate his work rate would only come into calculation if he was hurting the opposition. Now he had one score involvement. I reckon the opposition don't even bother manning him up bc he's so ineffective and easy to negate even with ball in hand. I think you need to watch the game with a pair of binoculars as your eyes are playing tricks on you bc He has near zero hurt factor.
Sorry but haven't you taken any notice of his actual workrate stats posted above? They are legit and not made up

Sorry they are useless stats which anybody could do if they are allowed to run free for two hours. He was often leading wide or deep into pockets looking for easy touches. His 19 touches suggest he wasn't working hard enough where it counted bc if he got into so much space for a gun he would of got double the touches and impacted more score involvements rather than the paltry one.
If this is the new stat in mode to hide a players inadequacy then maybe Kenyan marathon runners will be in vogue.

Dont think people should get caught up on pick 6. Its not like we give up a pick 6 every for the duration of his contract. Pick 6 does not guarantee a gun.
However, as a midfielder, he should find more of the pill.

Just goes to show that the so called fitness issue shouldn't be used as an excuse for his shit disposal and lack of ball winning
His lack of full training early on has ended hence his improvement in the last two weeks, this actually highlights the importance of pre season training and training full time during the year, expect a big improvement next year if he can stay reasonably injury free.
Obviously a lot better player than many here give him credit for, very important for the team.

I'll look more closely on the replay but I thought he went to Shiel a far bit of the game after quarter time - could be wrong, but noticed him close checking him a bit.

Player Watch #3: Dion Prestia Re-Signed for 2025