3 of Bones, Gaspar, Matera, Lynch, Braun and RoJo will play. Who will make it in?

Gunnar Longshanks

Suspended
Veteran 10k Posts
May 9, 2005
London, UK
Drummoyne Dirty Reds
A lot will depend on the fitness of Braun and Matera.

If both are fit they should play. No question.

Then it gets really tough. Any of the other four could play, although I don't rate RoJo very highly at all.

A lot will depend on whether Hall plays or not. That could decide how many talls we need to take in.

For mine, I reckon Gaspar offers us more than Bones, RoJo or Lynch.

Poor Lynchy. I love that guy.

Bones / Matera / Braun

If they chuck Ball or Jolly down back we can cover them with Staker or Hunter. The Swans forwards are quick medium sized players, not suited to Gaspar at all. As much as i rate the guy, Gaspar doesn't have a match up and therefore will feel the pain of the selection axe.

• Banned
Milenko said:
Bones / Matera / Braun

If they chuck Ball or Jolly down back we can cover them with Staker or Hunter. The Swans forwards are quick medium sized players, not suited to Gaspar at all. As much as i rate the guy, Gaspar doesn't have a match up and therefore will feel the pain of the selection axe.
I reckon Gaspar is the guy to take Ball or Jolly. That's the perfect match-up for him, and the one we might struggle with if Gaspar gets dropped.

Gaspar is more effective than Staker as a key defender, and Hunter would be giving away 4 inches in height to Ball and Jolly.

If Hall gets rubbed out, why would we need Bones when Glass can take O'Loughlin?

Bones is pretty suspect close to goal under a high ball. I don't reckon he should be played on O'Loughlin, and if he doesn't get that spot then I'm not sure what he contributes.

Having Gaspar in the side releases Hunter to do the things Bones has been doing most of the year.

Gaspar, Braun and Matera for mine.

• Banned
Milenko said:
Bones will play on O'Keefe (Bones killed him last time) and Chick on O'Loughlin.
Not sure about that.

I reckon if we have the option of playing Glass on O'Loughlin and having Banfield and Wirrpunda crowd his leads, then Chick should get O'Keefe.

Chick has struggled on O'Loughlin a few times. If O'Loughlin suddenly becomes Sydney's No.1 forward, then we should play our No. 1 defender on him.

Gunnar Longshanks said:
Not sure about that.

I reckon if we have the option of playing Glass on O'Loughlin and having Banfield and Wirrpunda crowd his leads, then Chick should get O'Keefe.

Chick has struggled on O'Loughlin a few times. If O'Loughlin suddenly becomes Sydney's No.1 forward, then we should play our No. 1 defender on him.
Thats asumming Hall gets rubbed out which means Gassy probably will aswell. In reality neither should go.
FWIW I reckon bring in Bones + Matera for Rones + Braun. If Brauny is fit then your gunna have to drop a tall and I reckon Buffy might go, he got killed by Hentchel on the weekend for the 2nd time this year and was just getting pushed of it too easily. Playing on a much bigger forward (Ball/Jolly) Gaspar is a much better option and you still have Hunts to go forward if need be.

Bones must play if fit as Sydney have an abundance of medium forwards of which he could nulify at least one.

• Banned
otis_david said:
Thats asumming Hall gets rubbed out which means Gassy probably will aswell. In reality neither should go.
FWIW I reckon bring in Bones + Matera for Rones + Braun. If Brauny is fit then your gunna have to drop a tall and I reckon Buffy might go, he got killed by Hentchel on the weekend for the 2nd time this year and was just getting pushed of it too easily. Playing on a much bigger forward (Ball/Jolly) Gaspar is a much better option and you still have Hunts to go forward if need be.

Bones must play if fit as Sydney have an abundance of medium forwards of which he could nulify at least one.
I think the outcome of the Hall situation will be the first domino to fall.

If he goes then Glass gets O'Loughin and all our defensive match-ups get rejigged.

I reckon you're a bit hard on Staker. He was one of our best players in that 3rd term. He set up a couple of goals with long, raking kicks from the wing. He won't get dropped.

I also reject the idea that Gaspar is in as much trouble as Hall.

The umpire saw the Gaspar incident and didn't report him. That counts for a fair bit. Gaspar will also have the benefit of a clean record and his incident is more likely to be graded as reckless of negligent while Hall's strike must be graded as intentional.

Gunnar Longshanks said:
I think the outcome of the Hall situation will be the first domino to fall.

If he goes then Glass gets O'Loughin and all our defensive match-ups get rejigged.

I reckon you're a bit hard on Staker. He was one of our best players in that 3rd term. He set up a couple of goals with long, raking kicks from the wing. He won't get dropped.

I also reject the idea that Gaspar is in as much trouble as Hall.

The umpire saw the Gaspar incident and didn't report him. That counts for a fair bit. Gaspar will also have the benefit of a clean record and his incident is more likely to be graded as reckless of negligent while Hall's strike must be graded as intentional.
Yeah we'll have to wait to see what happens with Hall. But I think Gassy might be in trouble- remember the umpire didnt report Hunter for punching Williams but it still went to the match review. Grading it he would get negligent, high contact, behind play, low impact which is 2 games and then he would be able to get it downgraded to 1 but still miss the GF. The real contentious point is whether it was high contact because McGregor ducked into it. Heres to hopiong he gets off.

Although Buffy did well later on in the game and I am a big fan of him as you know :p, I still think on balance Gaspar has more to offer the team. That is taking the resting ruckman which is somthing Staker would'nt be able to do. Hypothetically lets assume Hall and Gaspar get off;

Glass-Hall
Chick- Oloughlin
Gaspar- Ball/Jolly

Bones/Banners/Wirra - Davis/Okeefe/Shcnider

That leaves Hunter to go forward if need to or give us another option down back if we're getting killed in a matchup. Staker atm has been playing best as a wingman HFF and we have plently of blokes who can do that. Gaspar would be playing as a true KP defender whilst Buffy doesn't have a designated role. That's why I reckon for balance I'd have Gaspar over Staker but I doubt the coaches will do somthing like that.

question, if their not 100% fit do they play?
We cant afford any underdone 70% fit, only playing because its the GF players.
Like essondon in 2001.

Gunnar Longshanks said:
A lot will depend on the fitness of Braun and Matera.

If both are fit they should play. No question.

Then it gets really tough. Any of the other four could play, although I don't rate RoJo very highly at all.

A lot will depend on whether Hall plays or not. That could decide how many talls we need to take in.

For mine, I reckon Gaspar offers us more than Bones, RoJo or Lynch.

Poor Lynchy. I love that guy.

Yep cracks me up every week..................GAWN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Enough is enough and I'm thinking that's what Mr Worsfold said to him on Thursday night......

Ruddiger said:
Gaspar - if he is cleared, he will definitely play
Butler - should come in if Braun is out

That would be all.
What has Butler done to get a game ahead of Matera and/or Bones?

You've got some weird ideas about footy.

Gunnar Longshanks said:
What has Butler done to get a game ahead of Matera and/or Bones?

You've got some weird ideas about footy.

Bones is injured, you moronic journo.

Much as he is a great player Matera is a) injured and b) can't work in the same forward line as Sampi. Given Sampi is fitter, its better to keep him in as the crumbing forward and not bring an underdone Matera who may go out in the first quarter (e.g. Johncock in for Crows on Saturday).

Butler is a midfielder that can replace Braun if he doesn't pull up.

Ruddiger said:
Bones is injured, you moronic journo.

Much as he is a great player Matera is a) injured and b) can't work in the same forward line as Sampi. Given Sampi is fitter, its better to keep him in as the crumbing forward and not bring an underdone Matera who may go out in the first quarter (e.g. Johncock in for Crows on Saturday).

Butler is a midfielder that can replace Braun if he doesn't pull up.
If Bones and Matera are fit they'll both come in ahead of Butler.

I reckon at least one of them is a good chance and Braun seems to have pulled up OK.

I'd be looking to drop RoJo but I don't reckon Butler is much chance of a call-up.

Milenko said:
Bones / Matera / Braun

Gaspar doesn't have a match up and therefore will feel the pain of the selection axe.

I agree about Gasper unfortunately

No obvouis match up besides the resting ruckman (Cox can do the job if Roos tries that one which means he won't) and it can be a bit risky being too top heavy when playing Sydney with there gameplan

I pray that Braun and Matera are fit. Bones would be handy to have back aswell. But if both Matera and Bones are fit we need to drop two players? RoJo doesnt really deserve to be dropped because he played quite well and neither does Gaspar?

I think it may come down more to matchups than actual form?

Well lets put it this way, who is definitely in the side?

Cousins
Judd
Kerr
Embley
Fletcher
Stenglein
Selwood
Gardiner
Cox
Seaby
Wirrpunda
Glass
Hunter
Banfield
Chick
Sampi
Hansen

IMO barring any mishaps in training, that lot are in the side.

The following are maybe's.

Braun - injury, if fit will DEF play.
Gaspar - suspension maybe and matchup problems?
Staker - in and out all year, no guarantee with Bones and Lynch pressing.
Nicoski - Matera could come in or Bones? Pretty safe though....
R.Jones - has played well but with Matera and Bones pressing may miss out.

On the outer and pressing for selection.

Lynch - unlucky to be dropped and will no doubt put a huge week in on the track to push for selection.
Bones - injury kept him out, if fit will certainly press for selection.
Matera - will play if fit no doubt.
Butler - probably best placed for a midfielder to come in but it would be a stretch.

I dont think anyone else is really in the picture.

This is my hopeful side.

Wirrpunda Glass Bones
Banfield Hunter Chick
Embley Judd Braun
Kerr Hansen Staker
Matera Gardiner Sampi
Cox Cousins Fletcher

Seaby Selwood Stenglein Nicoski

In - Matera, Bones
Out - Gaspar R.Jones (super unlucky)

Glad im not making the decisions. And this may change during the week.

Agree with that, except i would have Gaspar instead of Staker. Both can play forward and back, Staker can play on a more agile type, ala Goodes, but im sure we dont need him to play that role, Hunter can play on him when/if he goes forward and Embley can take him when he plays wing/HB. Gaspar can take the resting ruckman, Jolley or Ball (if he plays). And can go forward and play as the 3rd or even 4th tall, which means he will take heaps of marks unless its wet. Rojo is the other unlucky one to miss out, just hasn't done enough IMO.

IN: Matera
OUT: RoJo

That's the only change I would be making unless injury or suspension forces Gaspar and/or Braun out.

Let's assume the worst case scenario for a second. Let's say that Gaspar gets rubbed out and that none of Matera, Braun or Bones are fit to play.

IN: ?, ?
OUT: Braun (inj) , Gaspar (susp)

Remember, I'm assuming that neither Bones nor Fido come up.

Who would we bring in? Butler? Lynch? Graham?

At this point it looks like Lynch and RoJo will get selected by default.

And we'll probably have to bring Butler in as well.

F*cking RoJo! How does this guy keep getting a game? I hate his ridiculous haircut.

Gunnar Longshanks said:

F*cking RoJo! How does this guy keep getting a game? I hate his ridiculous haircut.
The end is near.

Gunnar Longshanks said:

Rojo will play, Lynch will not.

IN Matera, Bones
OUT Gaspar, Braun

3 of Bones, Gaspar, Matera, Lynch, Braun and RoJo will play. Who will make it in?