AFL Player #31: Zach Reid

How many good 25 year old players missed all of the footy between 18-22 years old?
I was going to say me due to the amount of boozing and other "extra-curricular activities" I did when at uni, then I realised you said "good" which ruled me out instantly.

Make enough predictions and you're bound to be right at some point #ITK

I agree with Ant entirely here.

Reid needs to get stability in his body then a solid run of conditioning both in the weights room and on the park, plus play a bit of footy and only then will we start to see the rewards. To become good rather than a run of the mill player will likely need exposure to playing on quality AFL standard KPFs for a bit of time too. 24/25 years old sounds about right.

Make enough predictions and you're bound to be right at some point #ITK
Yep . I like the throw a lot of darts method followed up by the ignorance is bliss stand :cool:

How many good 25 year old players missed all of the footy between 18-22 years old?
and how many of those missed a whole year's football due to a pandemic and grew several inches to 6'8" ...not many i'd think. He's just turned 21 ...has played a few games and has another whole year until 22 so your question probably not valid at this stage

Not all of it but I reckon Hawkins and Moore missed a bunch of time early.

Hawkins had played 34 AFL games by 21 years of age (finished the season well and truly in the premiership 22). Moore 26 games.

Gawn played 0 in his first year, 4 in his second, 0 in his third, 9 in his fourth.

Reid is ruckman height at 202cm - similar height to Phillips (201), Bryan (203) and Wright (203). Even Draper is only slightly taller at 205cm. He's extremely tall.

Yes. And I have family who are club legends who have heard the same thing.
It is total rubbish. The surface is as good as you will get anywhere. We are getting no more injuries than we got training at WH.

Sometimes you just have to trust that skinny kids that grow rapidly are going to take time and this kind of thing is unavoidable.

If he is indeed 205 as has been mooted there are less than a dozen players taller than him playing at the top level and none of them played any significant footy as teenagers or in their early 20s.

He’ll literally be the tallest key defender ever.

I’m more than happy to dump on our strength and conditioning program though, absolute dumpster fire.

We've used this excuse since Gumby, at what point do you go "geez, we should change things up?"

Gawn played 0 in his first year, 4 in his second, 0 in his third, 9 in his fourth.

Reid is ruckman height at 202cm - similar height to Phillips (201), Bryan (203) and Wright (203). Even Draper is only slightly taller at 205cm. He's extremely tall.
Reid was mentioned by Scott as being 205cms the other day - so.. yep

We've used this excuse since Gumby, at what point do you go "geez, we should change things up?"

I’d agree with you except Gumby was almost 15 years ago and we’ve changed things up more times than I can count in that time.

I got half way through doing this and then got bored and gave up.. been sitting in my drafts.

I think there’s a pattern emerging though

All players listed at 200cm+ in the league atm (sorted by tallest)

Player NameAge at debutAFL games played before age 22
Mate Colina--
Mason Cox25y0
Alex Mirkov--
Lachlan McAndrew--
Max Gawn19y26
Ned Reeves22y0
Jarrod Witts20y27
Rory Lobb21y2
Timothy English19y27
Samson Ryan20y1
Braydon Preuss21y4
Max Knobel--
Henry Smith--
Sam Darcy19y6 (so far)
Jordon Sweet23y0
Sam Hayes22y0
Ned Moyle21y2 (so far)
Toby Conway--
Sam Draper21y8
Kalin Lane--
Max Heath--
Ivan Soldo21y7
Brynn Teakle22y0
Lachlan Keeffe21y8
Nick Madden--
Jonathon Ceglar22y0
Sam De Koning20y24
Liam Reidy--
Darcy Cameron23y0
Harry McKay19y35
Darcy Fort25y0
Oscar McInerney23y0
Kieran Strachan24y0
Cameron Owen--
Scott Lycett18y21
Thomas Scully--
Brodie Grundy19y43
Lloyd Meek22y0
Max Ramsden20y1 (so far)
Shannon Neale19y2 (so far)
Sean Darcy19y17
Peter Wright18y49
Nick Bryan19y6 (so far)
Darcy Moore19y47
Tom De Koning19y16
Eric Hipwood18y74
Reilly O'Brien20y2
Nicholas Naitanui19y60
Harry Barnett--
Peter Ladhams21y5
Tom Hickey20y12
Max King19y53
Dante Visentini--
Jacob Edwards20y5 (so far)
Hamish Free--
Ben King18y53
Zach Reid19y8 (so far)
Marc Pittonet19y
Hudson O'Keeffe
Harris Andrews
Riley Thilthorpe
Bailey Williams
Rowan Marshall
Tom Campbell
Kyle Marshall
Todd Goldstein
Ben McKay
Tristan Xerri
Josh Schache
Matthew Flynn
Kieren Briggs
Mac Andrew
Alex Pearce
Andrew Phillips
Billy Frampton
Oscar Steene
Lewis Young
Joe Daniher
Callum Jamieson
Harry Edwards
Charlie Dixon
Callum Coleman-Jones
Ben Brown
Max Lynch
Mabior Chol
Rhys Stanley
Nikolas Cox
Harry Lemmey
Tom Fullarton
Elliott Himmelberg

I got half way through doing this and then got bored and gave up.. been sitting in my drafts.

I think there’s a pattern emerging though

All players listed at 200cm+ in the league atm (sorted by tallest)

Player NameAge at debutAFL games played before age 22
Mate Colina--
Mason Cox25y0
Alex Mirkov--
Lachlan McAndrew--
Max Gawn19y26
Ned Reeves22y0
Jarrod Witts20y27
Rory Lobb21y2
Timothy English19y27
Samson Ryan20y1
Braydon Preuss21y4
Max Knobel--
Henry Smith--
Sam Darcy19y6 (so far)
Jordon Sweet23y0
Sam Hayes22y0
Ned Moyle21y2 (so far)
Toby Conway--
Sam Draper21y8
Kalin Lane--
Max Heath--
Ivan Soldo21y7
Brynn Teakle22y0
Lachlan Keeffe21y8
Nick Madden--
Jonathon Ceglar22y0
Sam De Koning20y24
Liam Reidy--
Darcy Cameron23y0
Harry McKay19y35
Darcy Fort25y0
Oscar McInerney23y0
Kieran Strachan24y0
Cameron Owen--
Scott Lycett18y21
Thomas Scully--
Brodie Grundy19y43
Lloyd Meek22y0
Max Ramsden20y1 (so far)
Shannon Neale19y2 (so far)
Sean Darcy19y17
Peter Wright18y49
Nick Bryan19y6 (so far)
Darcy Moore19y47
Tom De Koning19y16
Eric Hipwood18y74
Reilly O'Brien20y2
Nicholas Naitanui19y60
Harry Barnett--
Peter Ladhams21y5
Tom Hickey20y12
Max King19y53
Dante Visentini--
Jacob Edwards20y5 (so far)
Hamish Free--
Ben King18y53
Zach Reid19y8 (so far)
Marc Pittonet19y
Hudson O'Keeffe
Harris Andrews
Riley Thilthorpe
Bailey Williams
Rowan Marshall
Tom Campbell
Kyle Marshall
Todd Goldstein
Ben McKay
Tristan Xerri
Josh Schache
Matthew Flynn
Kieren Briggs
Mac Andrew
Alex Pearce
Andrew Phillips
Billy Frampton
Oscar Steene
Lewis Young
Joe Daniher
Callum Jamieson
Harry Edwards
Charlie Dixon
Callum Coleman-Jones
Ben Brown
Max Lynch
Mabior Chol
Rhys Stanley
Nikolas Cox
Harry Lemmey
Tom Fullarton
Elliott Himmelberg
That is interesting. A reason to be optimistic!

AFL Player #31: Zach Reid