Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025

Agree that first half of 2019 was some of the best footy he has played for us
Doing all that defensive stuff but than going forward and making plays was a real weapon for us would be interesting to know if he was carrying something towards the end of the year that restricted him or if it was all just mental and he had some other stuff going on
Disagree his 2019 was no different to any other season he has given us.

KMac has some great tools, but really drifted down in production lasy year. If he can re-find his mojo and do those cute little kicks etc he will probably hold the wing. But if he stays at the second half of 2019 level he's toast. In the long run he's probably got too many quality guys coming past him. I can see a trade end 2020, unless he turns it up a lot.

Still I love the guy. he's such a competitor and has some genuine top end AFL traits.
Again disagree hardly any different to anything else he has offered up. His many short comings have always been there.

Name: Kamdyn McIntosh
Club: Peel Thunder
Height: 192cm
Weight: 78kg
Position: KPD
McIntosh is a close checking, disciplined defender who can play on all sizes whether it be tall, medium or small forwards to a high level. He finished the season really strongly and showed strong progress in his offensive game in the second half of the season showing an increased willingness to shift off his man and generate some drive. Ball use out of the back half is a highlight and for a tall uses it really well by both hand and foot. Also has really impressive closing speed and above average athleticism allowing him to stick with his man. Has excellent endurance and can go all day. Just one of those guys you can give a role to and he will complete it, no fuss and get the job done. Sometimes with defenders that’s all you need. Also late in the season showed some ability to push up onto a wing and play some good footy showing that he has a few different strings to his bow.
This is where the club got it wrong. Was never a kpd but a tall defender at peel.
Late in the season in his draft yr Peel gave him a couple of games on the wing and he did okay. That is clearly when someone from the club saw him. Almost from that point on the tigers have played him as a winger when right from the get go he should have been developed as a tall running third tall defender type.

IIRC he was played well back at VFL, out of the Back Pocket, for much of the second half of the season. Thought he may have produced some line breaking runs, up an back, but he seemed out of sorts, like a man going through the motions. Doing just what he had to do and no more. I'm sure it wasn't that simple, but that is how it looked to me.
Kmac playing backline is something that he has done to good effect. In a couple of games of VFL that I saw he made a couple of clanger kicks. And generally wasn't looking that amazing. However the MC did make him miss the VFL granny as depth in case Broad didn't get up.

KMac has some great tools, but really drifted down in production lasy year. If he can re-find his mojo and do those cute little kicks etc he will probably hold the wing. But if he stays at the second half of 2019 level he's toast. In the long run he's probably got too many quality guys coming past him. I can see a trade end 2020, unless he turns it up a lot.

Still I love the guy. he's such a competitor and has some genuine top end AFL traits.
saw-concut_wga_wayl36u1nxindksm.jpg

reckon most are missing one point here.
IMO Ellis wasnt keeping McIntosh out of the side it was Caddy. Caddy was a marginal improvement in areas McIntosh has been poor in. Neither imo should be on a wing both have glaring short comings for the role.

Ellis well we wont go there you either support him, or you cant stand him. he was another who had or still has glaring short comings.

Plain as the nose on a face, doubt anyone missed that Caddy replaced Macca. Whether Caddy was marginal in the eyes of the Footy Department remains to be seen. Final results indicate he's safe for the time being I'd suggest. One of Naish or Turner ought to be progressively tried in coming seasons.

It'll be interesting to see what the Match Committee do for wingers this season. You'd reckon Caddy has one side locked down.

Will the other side be a runner - Lambert, Kmac, Naish, Turner? Or try something a bit different - Edwards, Bolton, Stack, Rioli, Balta, Short?

I'd love to see Balta out there for a trial, in the early rounds, but there's some great options. Long-term, I think that spot is Naish's, leaving KMac to competing with Broad for game.
A good list of talented players there. When you can add George and Cotch (Ross or Graham to mid.) to the list of rotations as well it pushes Naish and Turner down the list. There is a lot of rotation of starting positions. Rotating small fwds or small backs through the wing gives them a chance to be not stifled all game. I like a team that has Josh Caddy in it. Skilled and tough. So Short/Baker/Stack/Egg rotating small backs. Bolton, Rioli & Balta as fwds rotating through there. I did like Chris Naish & the son looks like a very good footballer. Just a few ahead of him I think.

DThis is where the club got it wrong. Was never a kpd but a tall defender at peel.
Late in the season in his draft yr Peel gave him a couple of games on the wing and he did okay. That is clearly when someone from the club saw him. Almost from that point on the tigers have played him as a winger when right from the get go he should have been developed as a tall running third tall defender type.
The club has him listed at 191cm, there’s very few key position players getting around at his height.He’s shorter than Rance, Grimes, Astbury, Broad, Garthwaite, Balta. Since the retirement of Troy Chaplin we’ve almost always played with three defenders over that 192/193cm frame. I don’t think we can afford to have a player of his size as the fourth tallest defender.

The only pure defensive position that he’d be capable of playing under our current structures is the Vlastuin “general defender” role.

I don’t feel McIntosh never would’ve been suited for that role though, his best trait is his engine and running capabilities. We wouldn’t be able to maximise his strengths if he was spending the majority of his time in the back fifty. I’ve got no doubt the club has used and developed him correctly.

He’s played 90 games of football since making his debut at the start of 2014, that’s an average of 18 games a season over an incredibly strong period for our club. He’s never going to be an All Australian or win the clubs BnF but he’s a very consistent player and works as hard as anyone. We’re never going to have a team full of Martin, Cotchin and Riewoldt’s. Every successful team needs to have these kind reliable players at their club. It’s important we’re able to appreciate that and respect the importance of squad players!

The club has him listed at 191cm, there’s very few key position players getting around at his height.He’s shorter than Rance, Grimes, Astbury, Broad, Garthwaite, Balta. Since the retirement of Troy Chaplin we’ve almost always played with three defenders over that 192/193cm frame. I don’t think we can afford to have a player of his size as the fourth tallest defender.

The only pure defensive position that he’d be capable of playing under our current structures is the Vlastuin “general defender” role.

I don’t feel McIntosh never would’ve been suited for that role though, his best trait is his engine and running capabilities. We wouldn’t be able to maximise his strengths if he was spending the majority of his time in the back fifty. I’ve got no doubt the club has used and developed him correctly.

He’s played 90 games of football since making his debut at the start of 2014, that’s an average of 18 games a season over an incredibly strong period for our club. He’s never going to be an All Australian or win the clubs BnF but he’s a very consistent player and works as hard as anyone. We’re never going to have a team full of Martin, Cotchin and Riewoldt’s. Every successful team needs to have these kind reliable players at their club. It’s important we’re able to appreciate that and respect the importance of squad players!

*Debuted 2015, listed in 2014 from memory.

I suspect strongly the role McIntosh most relates to is Broad’s despite them being 5mm either side of the arbitrary line you have observed at 191.5 cms for the purpose. Can you clarify whether you mean for a third or fourth tallest defender? You seem to have mentioned them both. Certainly for a fourth tallest defender, McIntosh’s 191cm would normally be adequate. I could agree that for the third tall this could be a bit shaky but Broad seemed to cope easily at 192cms when both Grimes and Astbury also played.

Vlastuin is a possession winning interceptor in whom you are confident with his usage. I don’t really think the junk yard dog McIntosh would be suited to that role as a Sherrin distributor.

I suspect strongly the role McIntosh most relates to is Broad’s despite them being 5mm either side of the arbitrary line you have observed at 191.5 cms for the purpose. Can you clarify whether you mean for a third or fourth tallest defender? You seem to have mentioned them both. Certainly for a fourth tallest defender, McIntosh’s 191cm would normally be adequate. I could agree that for the third tall this could be a bit shaky but Broad seemed to cope easily at 192cms when both Grimes and Astbury also played.

Vlastuin is a possession winning interceptor in whom you are confident with his usage. I don’t really think the junk yard dog McIntosh would be suited to that role as a Sherrin distributor.
The MC didn't mind having 4 talls Rance, Dave, Grimes, Broad playing. Pray to Jehovah that Rance comes back but if he don't. I'd be happy seeing Kmac covering an injury back there. Wing might suit Kmac's physical attributes too, but I wouldn't mind seeing someone more skilled and more of an accumulator play there.

My apologies, he made his debut in 2015 and not 2014. He averages 18 games a season since making his debut, I put down the wrong year!

My comment on the three tall’s had nothing to do with McIntosh being a third third y’all was that we’ve essentially played with three tall’s since Troy Chaplin retired. There wouldn’t be many games since 2016 that we didn’t have three of Rance, Grimes, Astbury or Broad playing.

With Dimma obviously preferring to play the three taller defenders I don’t think there’s any room for a player of McIntosh’s style. I’d agree that his athletic traits and size are most similar to Broad. However I don’t think McIntosh has the same defensive mindset, ability to play one on one, read the play or intercept like Broad does.

The MC didn't mind having 4 talls Rance, Dave, Grimes, Broad playing. Pray to Jehovah that Rance comes back but if he don't. I'd be happy seeing Kmac covering an injury back there. Wing might suit Kmac's physical attributes too, but I wouldn't mind seeing someone more skilled and more of an accumulator play there.
Regardless of whether we have three or four tall’s I don’t think McIntosh has the traits to play as a defender.

We’d also be robbing him of the ability’s to use his endurance and running abilities.

My apologies, he made his debut in 2015 and not 2014. He averages 18 games a season since making his debut, I put down the wrong year!

My comment on the three tall’s had nothing to do with McIntosh being a third third y’all was that we’ve essentially played with three tall’s since Troy Chaplin retired. There wouldn’t be many games since 2016 that we didn’t have three of Rance, Grimes, Astbury or Broad playing.

With Dimma obviously preferring to play the three taller defenders I don’t think there’s any room for a player of McIntosh’s style. I’d agree that his athletic traits and size are most similar to Broad. However I don’t think McIntosh has the same defensive mindset, ability to play one on one, read the play or intercept like Broad does.

Regardless of whether we have three or four tall’s I don’t think McIntosh has the traits to play as a defender.

We’d also be robbing him of the ability’s to use his endurance and running abilities.
Well if Broad or Grimes get injured who gets selected?

I’d like to hope both Garth and Balta would come into the side.

Balta and Astbury taking the talls and Garth playing as the third tall, would obviously depend on our opposition though.

Without Rance our depth is certainly lighter than most of us would like. If we face an injury crisis McIntosh would obviously be looked at and that’s rightfully so. However, I’m not trying to say he shouldn’t ever play there, I’m saying that I don’t think he’s made out to be a tall defender and it’s not his suited position. In my eyes McIntosh is a good outside player/winger and someone I’d rank in the top 20-25 players at the club, obviously not an out and out superstar of the team but a player I’m glad we have on our books and a part of our squad.

reckon most are missing one point here.
IMO Ellis wasnt keeping McIntosh out of the side it was Caddy. Caddy was a marginal improvement in areas McIntosh has been poor in. Neither imo should be on a wing both have glaring short comings for the role.

Ellis well we wont go there you either support him, or you cant stand him. he was another who had or still has glaring short comings.
Slightly off topic but Caddy a minor improvement on mac/Ellis! I can't remember Caddy losing a one on one contest on his wing. He is clever and hard footballer who uses it well and sets up others. Of course lacks a yard in pace for a wingman, but his ability to do the right thing every time he gets separates him from the other two by quite some way. Good in the air as well which is very handy. I would think he will strap up this season a bit lighter to help his running game. Big year I reckon.

we have essentially played with 4 talls down back since Broad broke into the side. The only time this has changed is essentially when injuries or suspension have hit one or two of the four. Imo only two of the four are genuine KPD,S.

Kamdyn was drafted at pick 33 in 2012 and missed a lot of footy first two yrs with injury.

Atm McIntosh primary role has been as a winger and as such is best described as a TALL mid.
As a junior he could best be described as a third tall defender with potential to play Kpd. I dont think players magically lose their traits to play the role they learnt their craft in.

If McIntosh were to now play as a defender he would be looking at Broads Spot imo.Third tall height and size with running power.
My personal opinion is McIntosh is not the one who should come into the back line but the taller and very big 100kg Balta to play as a genuine KPD in effect taking over from Rance.
Unless Mcintosh can significantly improve in several areas i dont think he should be getting a game wing or back.

genuine tall is a player at 190cm plus. like any of the categories there are short medium and tall. At 191 192cm Kamdyn Broad and Grimes would be in the lower end of the scale. they arent overly tall and they arent overly big.

Slightly off topic but Caddy a minor improvement on mac/Ellis! I can't remember Caddy losing a one on one contest on his wing. He is clever and hard footballer who uses it well and sets up others. Of course lacks a yard in pace for a wingman, but his ability to do the right thing every time he gets separates him from the other two by quite some way. Good in the air as well which is very handy. I would think he will strap up this season a bit lighter to help his running game. Big year I reckon.

I reckon Caddy on the wing was genius. In 2020 he should be even better. He will rag doll almost all other wings, and is very smart. He was out get out of jail free card quite often late in the season. If in trouble kick it to Josh and he'll deal with it. Most often he did.

McIntosh never loses a one-on-one. I reckon he could've stepped in and did what Caddy did on the wing no worries. He found himself in the twos to work on his versatility. Caddy had already done that.

At worst, nothing is lost if Kmac steps straight in to Ellis' role on the wing

I love Kmac, but I was disappointed with his VFL form in the back half of the year TBH....

But the big thing everyone is missing seems to be his visit to Warneys mates at Yeah Yeah!

So are you saying is top story renovation has affected his confidence?

McIntosh never loses a one-on-one. I reckon he could've stepped in and did what Caddy did on the wing no worries. He found himself in the twos to work on his versatility. Caddy had already done that.

At worst, nothing is lost if Kmac steps straight in to Ellis' role on the wing
Yes they are similar in their physical attributes, but Caddy is so much more rounded and efficient as a player. I'm disappointed Kmac hasn't really developed because his physical attributes are so strong.

I’d like to hope both Garth and Balta would come into the side.

Balta and Astbury taking the talls and Garth playing as the third tall, would obviously depend on our opposition though.

Without Rance our depth is certainly lighter than most of us would like. If we face an injury crisis McIntosh would obviously be looked at and that’s rightfully so. However, I’m not trying to say he shouldn’t ever play there, I’m saying that I don’t think he’s made out to be a tall defender and it’s not his suited position. In my eyes McIntosh is a good outside player/winger and someone I’d rank in the top 20-25 players at the club, obviously not an out and out superstar of the team but a player I’m glad we have on our books and a part of our squad.
Kmac not in my 25. 2019 flag team 21. Then squeezing him out of wing I'd like to see small fwds/backs/mids rotating through that wing: add Stack, Graham, Ross, , RCD, Balta. Then I'd be trying good disposers like Egg & Naish more. I reckon Kmac has hit his ceiling. He is probably 28th I reckon. For injury emergency use only. Which happened last year so I am not writing him off.

Major

Yeah, looked to me like he was under strict instructions to be a shutdown back pocket. Made me think the coaches wanted to see if he could shoe horn Broad out of the team. And he was very, very solid defensively. Just got little to no footy.
Not to shoehorn Broad out, to be back-up in case Broad went down. By the end of the year KMac was back-up for Broad and Caddy/Ellis. With Ellis gone there is a wing spot for the taking. KMac is most like for like in terms of hard running, but I suspect we'll see Lambert, Pickett or Bolton take the spot, with Graham and Ross ahead of KMac for a spot in the 22. He'll get games because he's experienced, big, strong and fit and we'll have injuries, but I think he's been shuffled down the order. He's very cheap insurance, no doubt we signed him to a deal weighted heavily to match payments.

Player Watch #33: Kamdyn McIntosh Re-Signed until 2025