Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received

Players like Ross and Graham get ****ed around so much. Play AFL on a flank then get dropped to pure mid and dominate VFL. Must be hard on them.
When does Graham get dropped to the VFL?

Its not like he hasnt played high level footy before so he deserves to see what a new coach can do with him. We also missed the boat twice when his value was much higher so its a no brainer that he stays on. Maybe its to play pure mid in the VFL and come in when called upon.

Players like Ross and Graham get ****ed around so much. Play AFL on a flank then get dropped to pure mid and dominate VFL. Must be hard on them.
Ross yes, JGTI no.

I agree with all this until i re-watch the 2017 season where he was excellent as a pressure, goal kicking forward & managed to snag 3 in a GF. Townsend played the same role and did it well and has about the same skill,speed set etc.

Graham probably requires the same treatment Dan got when his career started to spiral. He needs to be told "this is going to be your role, or you have no role" & given time in the Pre-Season, VFL then AFL to prove he is capable of that role.

He can;t play out his entire career off the bench like he is. he is getting too old to be that, he is literally taking games off Sonsie when he does that as those roles are perfect for your young players, not your peak age blokes
JGTI was different to Townsend as he doesn't have his leap or strength in the air overall. JGTI is a low Centre of gravity player bc of his weight in his arse and legs. This is why he's now redundant bc he's lost that extra gear in his legs bc of injuries to feet/foot.

Obviously not often or much, but when he did go back to VFL he played pure mid.
And I also recall him playing as a pure mid in the senior team, probably 4 years ago or so, when Cotchin was out injured. He played his best football in that role and found plenty of the ball. Unfortunately, injuries have pretty much stopped him from being an effective midfielder now. He just doesn't find enough of the ball anymore.

I agree with all this until i re-watch the 2017 season where he was excellent as a pressure, goal kicking forward & managed to snag 3 in a GF. Townsend played the same role and did it well and has about the same skill,speed set etc.

Graham probably requires the same treatment Dan got when his career started to spiral. He needs to be told "this is going to be your role, or you have no role" & given time in the Pre-Season, VFL then AFL to prove he is capable of that role.

He can;t play out his entire career off the bench like he is. he is getting too old to be that, he is literally taking games off Sonsie when he does that as those roles are perfect for your young players, not your peak age blokes
No footy marathon on TV any more so I just rewatched the 2017 prelim.. I'd forgotten how good Graham was in a very good team. Peak Lambert, Edwards, Cotch dan Rioli. Broad, Graham nank and Caddy great starts to their careers atpunt road.
Not many passengers.
Townsend peaked, Dusty was next level. Castagna also great marking, great football.
also Saw George at the other end of his career. He should have gone back to the VFL for a reinvention.

Graham was almost a mid in 2017 and he rotates through there still. None of the remaining players are quite as good.
Grimes, Prestia Kmac Graham and Nank all lost a yard over the years.
Graham has had injuries but is never dropped never plays VFL anymore
I hope the new selectors clean the slate . Select on form not on reputation..
RFC cop an injury to the main KPF and Jack R had a tough year with a cast of thousands rotating through there.
We get through preseason with Lynch and kosi in tact. Get the middle functioning and we should improve.

(Be nice to have another Caddy at the club)

And I also recall him playing as a pure mid in the senior team, probably 4 years ago or so, when Cotchin was out injured. He played his best football in that role and found plenty of the ball. Unfortunately, injuries have pretty much stopped him from being an effective midfielder now. He just doesn't find enough of the ball anymore.
With Cotch uninjured and tarranto and Hopper into the side I couldn't believe Graham played at all.

Jack Graham - 26 votes

Players in the 25-26 vote band

Cotchin - 26 votes
Trent played one less game than Graham and Jack still couldn’t outpoll this champion geriatric in 2023

Hopper - 25 votes
Jacob played 5 less games than Graham, and was extremely disappointing when he did play bar maybe 2 strong performances?

Grimes - 25 votes
Dyl did play 2 more games than Jack in 2023, but gee, this is a low bar for Graham to comfortably beat given his age and games profile

Jayden Short - 25 votes
Missed 4 more games than Graham

Tyler Young - 25 votes
First season, subbed out about 5 times, played 1 games less than Graham did but still managed about the same votes

How did Ross not poll more votes than Graham, Mansell, Pickett, even MacIntosh and quite a few others. They mark some players harder than others.
They have far more insight than you and I Mate on whether the player has played his role as instructed and they vote accordingly

I'm sure the role they do, but one has to question the assignment of roles. I would say we have been a bit stuck in our game plan, particularly our defensive structures philosophy forward of the back half for a while. We have finished 13th twice in 3 years, so something is not quite working. Our coach quit half way through a season citing that he had run out of ideas effectively.

And the fact that one player plays the fat side of the ground is a bit of a made up position. That is fine when we have the ball, but we have no control of which side is fat and which isn't when the opposition have it. MacIntosh was dropped for the final week and new kids added, 90% on here were in agreement. And collectively the footy IQ on here is not to shabby, give or take the polarising few, (and Groupie, who is in a bit of a category of his own.)

How did Ross not poll more votes than Graham, Mansell, Pickett, even MacIntosh and quite a few others. They mark some players harder than others.
The Mini boys club got favoured all season. Shows how unprofessional we’ve been since 2020 and even the JD award last night was an amateur production. It was just a bum slapping exercise not genuine in celebrating good work and professionalism

Kmac got 30...

Tells me theres either a flaw in the voting system or its about time we changes our coaching group as they were rewarding the wrong things
So change the whole clubs B&F voting system because you and other supporters don’t agree with results? Lol

Jack has gone from definite future captain to Mr Invisible. Still reckon he is a damn good player, but he either plays the majority in the guts or we trade for a win-win scenario.

Apparently we gave the voting card to the umpire who gave Lachie Neale all those dodgy threes in the Brownlow.
He likes Graham too.
Not a chance any of Graham, K-Mac or Pickett was better than Ross this year.
Richmond Boys Club alive and well.

Kmac got 30...

Tells me theres either a flaw in the voting system or its about time we changes our coaching group as they were rewarding the wrong things

I tell you what it is.
Given we finished 13th this year, 12th two years ago and were first out of the finals in 2022, THE ROLES ARE ALL F***** UP.
It's pretty simple to the plain eye that the likes of Graham, K-Mac and Pickett were poor last year.
But if being poor gets you votes, the roles are either outdated or to the detriment of the team.
Which is a big part of the problem.
The rest of the league has moved on from 2017 to 20, we are stuck in a time warp.
Our game plan is easier to read than a Little Golden Book as we are resistant to change and are living off past glories.
For all I care, Graham and KMac can keep playing roles that win them pats on th back from their mates in the coaching box, but those roles don't win us games.

I tell you what it is.
Given we finished 13th this year, 12th two years ago and were first out of the finals in 2022, THE ROLES ARE ALL F***** UP.
It's pretty simple to the plain eye that the likes of Graham, K-Mac and Pickett were poor last year.
But if being poor gets you votes, the roles are either outdated or to the detriment of the team.
The rest of the league has moved on from 2017 to 20, we are stuck in a time warp.
Our game plan is easier to read than a Little Golden Book as we are resistant to change and are living off past glories.
For all I care, Graham and KMac can keep playing roles that win them pats on th back from their mates in the coaching box, but those roles don't win us games.

Simon Cowell Wow GIF by America's Got Talent

Agree with all this. Gameplan was the major reason we were shit and rewarding shit roles that meant absolutely nothing.

Happy we now will go in a new direction and hopefully the end of this crap.

Simon Cowell Wow GIF by America's Got Talent's Got Talent

Agree with all this. Gameplan was the major reason we were s**t and rewarding s**t roles that meant absolutely nothing.

Happy we now will go in a new direction and hopefully the end of this crap.
I trust in Yze to end the shenanigans.
Early noise is encouraging that we will be an attacking side.

So change the whole clubs B&F voting system because you and other supporters don’t agree with results? Lol
of course not, what I was saying is we are rewarding the wrong things

Like if the system says every player gets a vote between 1-5 every game based on their performance, someone like Kmac who, IMO, was getting selected on the back of poor form, only had to play 22 games and he automatically has 22 votes.

It's not the system itself, but more the selection of players, the role they play, and the game plan we are trying to play.

I tell you what it is.
Amen

I tell you what it is.
Mini lost all my support the minute he admitted in a press conference that he was calling Dimma for advice. Why would you call someone who admitted he couldn’t cook the snags another way or take the team further? It’s like calling a serial killer asking for advice on how to appropriately use a meat cleaver. The whole of the clubs FD was incompetent embarrassing, unprofessional and disrespectful to their stakeholders this year with the events that took place.

Player Watch #34: Jack Graham - MOVED TO WCE - PICK 42 Received