Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy

Do you agree with the 'Watt' decision?

• Yes

Votes: 23 53.5%
  • No

Votes: 20 46.5%

he's not a defender....period....he is absolutely lost in the backline.....i haven't seen him as yet in the forward line but i reckon he'd be more value for money than our slow morrell and sav

i agree with you moti.... i thought watt did ok today. he was the only person not beaten by barker today. he hardly got any game time but he made no significant mistakes and contested well. i just wish pagan would play him. i also agree i think that he would do well in the forward line.

Originally posted by Dogs r Roos
watt will be a good player. However, Pagan must give him more game time. He will be a better option in the backline, than that ******* COLBERT!!

I am on a yellow card for calling Rohan a gutless wonder so I am sure you will appreciate if I simply tell you I don't subscribe to your particular theory on Colbert.

Moomba

Oh and **** OFF IDIOT

Cr@p!!

He has been here for 5 seasons now and has not improved from when he started. Has the physical attributes to make a footballer but just doesnt have the talent......sorry, Shannon.

I have finally run out of patience with him. I would like him to prove me wrong, but I feel its time to cut him free and try something new.

Oh well.

:( :( :(

'Talk is cheap'

rewboy,
what did he do wrong yesterday? i didn't think he made any mistakes and wasn't beaten by his opponent when he was on.
its pretty poor form if you critisise someone who really didn't do anything wrong. there were alot of other players yesterday who should get the blame for what happened.

I agree with rewboy that shannon watt better extract the digit if he wants to make a go at senior footy as i believe he is very much out of his depth " BIGTIME "
He was that slow it wasn,t even able to keep up with barker and he is not fast either.

If you anybody bags colbert look at hollands stats no more than 10 possesions that dosent represent good value for a CHF.

Murray game was carbon copy of the seniors let them get off to good start game over in ten minutes they fought it out but not good enough.

This week Teague for shore and maybe dylan smith , this all depends on the selectors .

Something that none of us are.

Go Roos

The smiling assasin

Originally posted by woosha

This week Teague for shore and maybe dylan smith , this all depends on the selectors .

Teague for shore? Is that North Shore? I thought they were aligned with the Bombers!

I dont see how anyone is able to make ajudgement on Shannon Watt, negative or positive. He just doesnt get a decent go. People could argue thats because he isnt up to it and doesnt deserve it, but i disagree. He just doesnt seem to fit into Pagan's plan (whatever that may be right now!!)

He does seem to struggle to read the play in the back half, but when you're on and off the bench and never get more than half a quarter's continuous gametime at any one time, its pretty hard for a young bloke who doesnt seem a naturally gifted footballer to get into the game.

Jonathan Hay is one who took 2 or 3 seasons (of consistent game time mind you) to adjust and develop. He looked lost for alot of that time. But with confidence and patience, he has evolved into one of the better backmen in the league. No reason Shannon Watt cant if given the same opportnities.

you are right on the money there carlos.

i was pretty suprised at how poorly watt was perceived after this week's game. how anyone was able to form an opinion on him was beyong me. give him a decent go and make your mind up then.

Jury's Out

I think the jury is still out on Watt.

Only after he has been kept in the same position for 100 minutes a week for 6 to 8 weeks can we know if there is anything there.

Sure, he has been there for 5 years, but wouldn't you hate to put the time and effort into someone and they go elsewhere and blitz.

Star

Originally posted by mighty mick
hes been a the club a while and has not progressed

shannon watt equals trade bait

Regardless of how long he's been at the club...how old do you think this guy is guy is?

He is just as old as any of the new recruits of 2000....we're giving them time to develop, why not Watt too?

Stop bewing too over critical. Constructive criticism is what we should be aiming for here!

I'm tagging you tashi! He's not that bad. Last year against the Bombers early and later in the Bulldogs game he showed he can play. It's not simple maths that he'll need another 3 years just because he's taken a few (he's only 21 now).. It's funny how everyone mentions the injuries of other players but I'm pretty sure Watt had a shoulder reconstruction at the end of last season- couple that with the fact he's not an automatic senior and it's not that surprising he hasn't burst on the scene this year.

Some guys just don't automatically become gun players when you stick them in the seniors. Some might respond to the pressure but others might need some faith to be shown in them to really start to show their stuff (eg-Peter Bell was given a fair run in 96 although he played some crappy games and responded to the faith in time.. before walking!)

Deserves a fair dinkum crack for a couple of months.

Leesten, Kinkori... menny peoples is think Damir is strikt father, is not true ****en. Some days, Damir like to seet at home, watch leetle bit creeket, leesten leetle bit musika (Deep Purple ****en), but no can do this if Jelena home.

Me seet at home on couch, can in one hand, kuratz in other, want to watch sport ****en but noooooooooooooo Jelena say " you is mi coach ****en, must go outside and prektis tennis f***ensh*t".

Me just want piss and quiet. Me just want to seet down, watch sport, and eat mi TWO PISSESS OFF FEESH! :mad:

Past #36: Shannon Watt - drafted at #14 in '97 ND - 155 games - 0 Brownlow votes - original whipping boy