Player Watch #37 Kaelan Bradtke

When are these kids ever going to be ready then?

He's a big unit and he moves well, i'd be giving him some game expierence real soon whilst we have injuries because he'll be one of our future replacements for tom and jack when they retire.
He's a big lump...
Slow...
Just watching 'im he looks like he has low footy IQ...
Reckon he's good for lower Footy Leagues only!

He's a big lump...
Slow...
Come off the grass he’s been in VFL 2 games and kicked how many 7-8 goals . He needs plenty of footy under the belt work on his craft

2.98 second 20m sprint would suggest otherwise.
Slow to get involved in the general play...no urgency...no zip...no dash...no fire...no arm pushing of his defender...no physical imposition on his oppo...and going by his size he has done no physical injury to his oppo...if anything he cops injuries...
Prolly sprint really well to come off the ground and then do a hammy!
But otherwise I canna see it with this lump of a lad...his movement reminds me of CCJ...

Slow to get involved in the general play...no urgency...no zip...no dash...no fire...no arm pushing of his defender...no physical imposition on his oppo...and going by his size he has done no physical injury to his oppo...if anything he cops injuries...
But otherwise I canna see it with this lump of a lad...his movement reminds me of CCJ...
Bit too soon mate imo

He's a big lump...
Slow...

Odds say that Bradtke is more likely to not make it than to make it.

That said, from what I have seen he’s someone that reads the ball in the air very quickly on dirty balls. Not so quick on clean entry.

To me that says he has some footy IQ (at least something to work with) the other says that his understanding of the game plan isn’t there yet.

Think he is quick enough off the mark, and from all reports stacked on a lot of muscle quite quickly. Probably needs some time before he understands how to use it.

Personally I’d be surprised to see him play at all this year. Hoping a solid year in the VFL with lots of learning. A strong pre-season and hopefully features in the pre-season matches next year.

His coach (ex-AFL player I can't recall), said he was in the top 5 athletes he's ever coached. So might have to give him more than 2 games to make a judgement.

5 vfl games in. 7 goals in his 2 full games this year. Early call.

Athleticism is meant to be his strength.

I think you’ve gone pretty early ol mate the fact that he’s transitioned from
Country footy to vfl kicked 7G in first two games injured in his third , looks like your searching/clutching for reasons

I think you’ve gone pretty early ol mate the fact that he’s transitioned from
Country footy to vfl kicked 7G in first two games injured in his third , looks like your searching/clutching for reasons
Just on my first initial reaction of watching KB...ready to concede I may have gone pretty early if indeed KB comes good!
We will see! :thumbsu:

1689749811743.png

There is a bit of a leap there, encouraging sign. Listed at 195cm, but your footballing height really has less to do with how high your head reaches and more to do with how far the top of your shoulders are from the ground. So a player like this that doesn't have an especially long neck is going to play taller than his height when measured to the top of his head. I am going with 197-198cm equivalent. Also strongly built and starting to resemble an AFL footballer's physique, and he can shift a bit when he gets wound up.

I have loved his output over recent weeks and getting quite bullish on him now. He is just turned 22. Things I would like to see improve, just his agility and maybe the normal improvement you would expect to see from a full time player in his disposal touch and accuracy and decision making. It will be really good if the club gets a chance to give him a game or two at least this season, then more games next year and 2025 he could be a chance to claim a permanent spot in the AFL team.

You just know the brains trust will be loving his recently developed ferocious attack on the ball.

1689750183084.png

Get him in the bloody side
Nowhere near it mate. He’s not fully fit as well as knowledgeable in his kpf role. Rarely leads to right spots and caught out of position. Lazy to even lead at times and goes half hearted. Below the knees he’s terrific, but it’s the major skills that are lacking from a KPF. He’s getting better , but just let him develop at VFL level as he’s still serviceable at this level. He needs to start monstering and owning games.

Player Watch #37 Kaelan Bradtke