Expansion 3rd Sydney AFL side prediction

...Personally I think the Giants will drop the "GWS" at some stage and just become the Sydney Giants, with no geographic attachment.
Great idea, well apart from the fact that there's already a team called Sydney who have been here for more than 30 years and have already been pushed into a specific geographical location. So no, f@@k off with that idea!

The Giants (which has an AFL appointed management) want nothing to do with the senior football clubs in Western Sydney, other than offer token raffle prizes when asked.

It's an odd approach. You would think if you were trying to win over an area you would engage with the various stakeholders in that area
What do you mean? They actively support senior clubs in their heartland - just look at the partnership they set up with the Manly Warringah Wolves/Giants. Oh, wait...

Great idea, well apart from the fact that there's already a team called Sydney who have been here for more than 30 years and have already been pushed into a specific geographical location. So no, f@@k off with that idea!
I'm not saying I agree with it, I just think it will happen given what I have seen so far.

I'd actually prefer them to be what they said they would be, ie a Western Sydney club.

What do you mean? They actively support senior clubs in their heartland - just look at the partnership they set up with the Manly Warringah Wolves/Giants. Oh, wait...
Yes, apparently the definition of Greater Western Sydney has been expanded to include the northern beaches. :D

And Canberra...............:rolleyes:

They have also supported new clubs in Bathurst, Griffith, Concord in Sydney and Kew in Melbourne.
None of which are senior clubs in Sydney.

If you are going to promote yourself as a Greater Western Sydney club, why would you ignore virtually all the senior clubs in your own supposed area, only to turn around put financial resources into a senior club on the Northern Beaches?

If you are going to set yourself up as a Greater Western Sydney club, why would you ignore virtually all the senior clubs in your own supposed area and put financial resources into a club on the Northern Beaches?

FMD. Not this s#*t again.

We all know how you feel. We all know you don't want any club anywhere to call themselves the Giants. We all know you have absolutely no idea about our engagements with footy clubs across western Sydney and across the world.

Give it a F#%^en rest.

FMD. Not this s#*t again.

We all know how you feel. We all know you don't want any club anywhere to call themselves the Giants. We all know you have absolutely no idea about our engagements with footy clubs across western Sydney and across the world.

Give it a F#%^en rest.
I wasn't talking to you. I was talking to someone else.

Don't be rude by intruding and starting arguments.

If you don't like what I post, don't reply. It's not rocket science.

:)

And PS - don't lie. The bolded is patently untrue.

If you are going to promote yourself as a Greater Western Sydney club, why would you ignore virtually all the senior clubs in your own supposed area, only to turn around put financial resources into a senior club on the Northern Beaches?

That, i cannot answer, but it is possible that if one club in WS was named and sponsored by the Giants it may raise claims of favoritism.

That would be the Auburn Giants ladies' side. They barely acknowledge the other senior ladies' sides in their area.

It's not that difficult a concept to implement or understand. Support all the clubs in your own area, and support them (to whatever level) relatively even handedly. They are currently doing neither (in relation to senior football at least).

Swans look to be bigger than most NRL clubs, can Giants in time overtake a few of them to?

Current membership (May 9):

Wests Tigers: 13,477
Manly: 12,874
Cronulla: 12,713
GWS: 12,537
Sydney Roosters: 12,000
Newcastle: 11,819
Titans: 9,078

Bearing in mind that the NRL season starts earlier, they're going into round 10 after a week off for representative football, we're only up to round 8 - and the Roosters have been around since the foundation of the league in 1908 and Cronulla are celebrating the milestone of 50 years with all the associated hoopla and Manly killed off the bears to be the only club north of the harbour and have a history of success and Wests Tigers are actually two clubs (who don't like each other) joined together and Newcastle is a one team town (of 620,000)

We're doing alright for a brand new club in frontier territory. In an AFL sense, we'll probably never be bigger than niche, but we'll certainly be bigger than quite a few of the league sides.

Current membership (May 9):

Wests Tigers: 13,477
Manly: 12,874
Cronulla: 12,713
GWS: 12,537
Sydney Roosters: 12,000
Newcastle: 11,819
Titans: 9,078

Bearing in mind that the NRL season starts earlier, they're going into round 10 after a week off for representative football, we're only up to round 8 - and the Roosters have been around since the foundation of the league in 1908 and Cronulla are celebrating the milestone of 50 years with all the associated hoopla and Manly killed off the bears to be the only club north of the harbour and have a history of success and Wests Tigers are actually two clubs (who don't like each other) joined together and Newcastle is a one team town (of 620,000)

We're doing alright for a brand new club in frontier territory. In an AFL sense, we'll probably never be bigger than niche, but we'll certainly be bigger than quite a few of the league sides.

Why is it that the Sydney Swans are bigger than all NRL Clubs and the Giants are heading in similar direction?

League is NSW #1 sport

Why is it that the Sydney Swans are bigger than all NRL Clubs and the Giants are heading in similar direction?

League is NSW #1 sport

AFL is a better live game than league. You don't need to be a member to watch it on tv. AFL is much, much better live so it pays to be a member to get game access.

You can also be a member of a Leagues Club (and feel like you're contributing) without ever becoming a member of the football club. Hell I'm a member of Panthers and I hate the team. My dad is a member of Easts (lives in Newcastle and goes there once a year to renew and put $10 through the pokies) but he's just a member of the leagues club, not a member of the football club. But that's his contribution, that's how he supports his team.

The AFL doesn't have anything similar - closest we have is the no games $50 member that gets you a hat and a good feeling. You look at the historical figures for the AFL and while they've always been higher that league they really spiked after that sort of "supporter" membership came in about 15/20 years ago.

NRL are only just, in the past few years, really pushing membership as a "thing". A few years ago, Penrith (with its massive leagues club and almost total dominance around the local area) only had about 6,000 members. Last couple of years you see membership ads on tv from the NRL and a big push from the clubs and the panthers are now up to 16,240 (they're also doing the whole 50 years thing this year as well)

So it's a combination of a lot of things, mostly historical, some of it structural, some of it cultural. That's why I think it's unfair to judge us by using the Melbourne clubs as a yardstick. Completely different.

Oh, and for what it's worth, the Storm in Melbourne (a frontier team in hostile territory - but with a fair amount of success and nearly 20 years under their belt and in an area more comfortable with the sort of membership we're talking about) has a membership of 16,014.

Does anyone really believe GWS has 12 thousand members?

Or that the "membership" is reflective of the level of support compared to NRL club memberships?

Mate, if we were going to fudge the figures you'd think we'd be saying we had more than 12K . You might not be considered a complete and utter troll if you started questioning how we suddenly went from 12 to 20,000.

Until then - get back in your little troll box and leave the discussion for the adults.

Does anyone really believe GWS has 12 thousand members?

Or that the "membership" is reflective of the level of support compared to NRL club memberships?
I don't have any reason to doubt the figures, I think that is a reasonable number.

I'd be interested to see the membership breakdown for western Sydney and Canberra if they exist. To see how the Giants are being received and are faring membership-wise in the two areas they are playing games.

I don't have any reason to doubt the figures, I think that is a reasonable number.
Depends how broad your definition of a member is I guess.

I'd be interested to see the membership breakdown for western Sydney and Canberra if they exist. To see how the Giants are being received and are faring membership-wise in the two areas they are playing games.
I'd be interested to see the actual membership package breakdown of all clubs. It would be interesting reading.

AFL is a better live game than league. You don't need to be a member to watch it on tv. AFL is much, much better live so it pays to be a member to get game access.

You can also be a member of a Leagues Club (and feel like you're contributing) without ever becoming a member of the football club. Hell I'm a member of Panthers and I hate the team. My dad is a member of Easts (lives in Newcastle and goes there once a year to renew and put $10 through the pokies) but he's just a member of the leagues club, not a member of the football club. But that's his contribution, that's how he supports his team.

The AFL doesn't have anything similar - closest we have is the no games $50 member that gets you a hat and a good feeling. You look at the historical figures for the AFL and while they've always been higher that league they really spiked after that sort of "supporter" membership came in about 15/20 years ago.

NRL are only just, in the past few years, really pushing membership as a "thing". A few years ago, Penrith (with its massive leagues club and almost total dominance around the local area) only had about 6,000 members. Last couple of years you see membership ads on tv from the NRL and a big push from the clubs and the panthers are now up to 16,240 (they're also doing the whole 50 years thing this year as well)

So it's a combination of a lot of things, mostly historical, some of it structural, some of it cultural. That's why I think it's unfair to judge us by using the Melbourne clubs as a yardstick. Completely different.

Oh, and for what it's worth, the Storm in Melbourne (a frontier team in hostile territory - but with a fair amount of success and nearly 20 years under their belt and in an area more comfortable with the sort of membership we're talking about) has a membership of 16,014.

Storm has a good following in Melbourne
I feel Rebels might too if had more TV exposure

Third team in NSW I think is premature. Best let Giants grow then see if the market accomodates another team

Why is this thread still open?

What's it doing on the main board?

Why has it not, at least, been moved to the industry board where it can die the death it deserves?

Ahhh, the TPS....
indeed.

what's the point of opinions and discussion if everything you disagree with is classified as trolling?

indeed.

what's the point of opinions and discussion if everything you disagree with is classified as trolling?
Shouting down differing viewpoints isn't really that engaging, I agree.

Expansion 3rd Sydney AFL side prediction