List Mgmt. #4 Dustin Martin Contract Talk - 7 MORE YEARS

The only person on here that seems to have a good source is Tiger71
Even though he never reply's to private messages anymore :'( I do trust what he says
And he has been quite confident that Dusty will re-sign.
The media has a job to do and Martin is a story. They will replay the same story over and over because they know people will tune in and listern to their bullshit.

[QUOTE="Cevap_Roll, post: 52012026, member: 136800

He has a contract in front of him for 1.2mil which is more than enough for his worth and his current output. If he wants more from Richmond than all he is doing is ruining our tpp. With premierhsips also come sacrifice Hawks and Cats are a great example of this, champion players have signed for unders for sustained success. Martin must understand this.

Cotchin could have got much more in the open market.
Jack same
Rance same
All our top players understood this. How will they feel now with Martin holding out and wanting maximum from RFC?

Well said. My thoughts exactly.[/QUOTE]
A hell of a lot of assumptions in that post Mate! We know nothing and the media are guessing too. Do you really think Carr or Martin are feeding them facts? Not a chance. For all the crap posters on here give Carr, he's doing what's best for his client. Why aren't we also bagging Paul Connors who looks after Kelly? Or Levers manager, as they also seem to be holding out until years end?
I get some angst with Carr after the GWS visit last time but imo, there is no chance the Martin camp are leaking info. Caro would know a lot more if they were??

Well said. My thoughts exactly.
A hell of a lot of assumptions in that post Mate! We know nothing and the media are guessing too. Do you really think Carr or Martin are feeding them facts? Not a chance. For all the crap posters on here give Carr, he's doing what's best for his client. Why aren't we also bagging Paul Connors who looks after Kelly? Or Levers manager, as they also seem to be holding out until years end?
I get some angst with Carr after the GWS visit last time but imo, there is no chance the Martin camp are leaking info. Caro would know a lot more if they were??[/QUOTE]

Kelly & Lever have the go home factor , they might get better offers to leave but they also might want to go home !

[QUOTE="Cevap_Roll, post: 52012026, member: 136800

He has a contract in front of him for 1.2mil which is more than enough for his worth and his current output. If he wants more from Richmond than all he is doing is ruining our tpp. With premierhsips also come sacrifice Hawks and Cats are a great example of this, champion players have signed for unders for sustained success. Martin must understand this.

Jack same
Rance same
All our top players understood this. How will they feel now with Martin holding out and wanting maximum from RFC?

Well said. My thoughts exactly.[/QUOTE]
Thing is though it is a lot of money.
To get a player to leave you really have to make that big offer, and this is big.
It's too much for us to pay and any club offering it knows that. It's not like it's a team trying to lure him for a premiership it's a team who are down and need something basically buying him which is what a few clubs are prepared to do.
Fair play. Personally I don't think it works but if a club is going to be say coming from where North are at they have to make the offer fair dinkum and just about impossible to refuse.
People will try to put the spin on it that he wasn't happy and had to leave etc but in the end we really "should" get priced out of it by a team if they are serious.

Well said. My thoughts exactly.
To get a player to leave you really have to make that big offer, and this is big.
It's too much for us to pay and any club offering it knows that. It's not like it's a team trying to lure him for a premiership it's a team who are down and need something basically buying him which is what a few clubs are prepared to do.
Fair play. Personally I don't think it works but if a club is going to be say coming from where North are at they have to make the offer fair dinkum and just about impossible to refuse.
People will try to put the spin on it that he wasn't happy and had to leave etc but in the end we really "should" get priced out of it by a team if they are serious.[/QUOTE]

What's your gut feel on it if the North offer is true ? Gone you reckon ?

Buddy may have chased money but Buddy already had a flag and went to another contender. If Adelaide was offering 1.7 mill understandable. See you later Martin but Norf?

Jack same
Rance same

We have no idea where he is going to sign so not sure you can have a go about accepting unders. Reality is if he signs for us it's gonna be for less than other clubs have offered him unless he holds out till trade week.

But this is the changing game with FA and more and more guys will squeeze their max value at contract time similar to American sports and soccer.

What needs to change is, as I think fleabitten pointed out earlier, is more protections for the original club. This includes 2 year and 2 year team option draftee contracts and the ability to pay long term stars a percentage of their salary outside the cap.

People will try to put the spin on it that he wasn't happy and had to leave etc but in the end we really "should" get priced out of it by a team if they are serious.

I know you keep going on about the bombers but their needs to a look at their accounts if they can offer Dusty 1.5 mill

Even though he never reply's to private messages anymore :'( I do trust what he says
The media has a job to do and Martin is a story. They will replay the same story over and over because they know people will tune in and listern to their bullshit.
The media also exaggerates stories and blatenly lies or adds and makes them up also.

I have seen this first hand, think about chinese whispers on steroids, thats the media.

Tjink of it this way. There isnt much noise about dustin leaving or doing anything for that matter except for a few tweets from obscure figures trying to be relavent.

Lets just see what happens in the break, i still think Dusty has a loyal streak and that is a major factor in weather he stays or goes.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

What's your gut feel on it if the North offer is true ? Gone you reckon ?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]
Well I don't really know how Dusty thinks, and I agree on your point about Carr doing the best he can for him, Now it's up to Dustin.
But if the $1.5 over 7 is true and I suspect it is and maybe from more than one club then I expect and would hope that Richmond don't get involved in matching.
So then it's up to Dusty who I genuinely believe would be fighting a lot of fights in his head,although you wouldn't know it.
Can't be easy at all. And whilst I think it may damage his brand to look mercenary in the short term , and it may also send him back for a couple of seasons of mid to bottom table type footy if it were north, I also wouldn't begrudge him.
How could you? $1m after tax is pretty significant.

I know you keep going on about the bombers but their needs to a look at their accounts if they can offer Dusty 1.5 mill
Well I only go on about it because I know that they've been working behind the scenes to offer him things that are probably as you say a fair bit more creative than just an above the board contract offer.

Errr frawley in his own right was a premium key defender. If rance left u could get one like that. Also Melbourne was not exactly a highly competitive team back then. Afl needs to equalise. The frawley, rance, fletchers do not come as regularly as the ablett, judd, Dangerfield, martins hence less compensation. Also Richmond is top 4, not as much equalisation needed as if u r bottom 4.
Wow this could possibly be the stupid most uneducated thing I've ever heard.. Frawley was never a premium key defender and he never will be, he was the best available in a pathetic team who finished low, as a result they received the pick after there own.. Get your facts straight, if we lost rance we would get no difference than if we lose dusty thus year

lolnorf aren't going to get anywhere near finals with their current bunch of spuds.

Sure they can afford to throw Dusty $1.5m now, maybe more but somewhere sometime its going to bite them.

Dusty is entering the phase in his career where he wants premierships.

Tigers have the key players already there and their secondary players are finally starting to play like the missing pieces in the premiership jigsaw puzzle.

lolnorf haven't even started. They are talking rebuilds.

Dusty isn't a fool.

Can't see Dusty going to Norf. I appreciate 1.5m (if true) is a lot of money but imagine his reputation/brand going to the likely wooden spooners when he initially was holding out to see if Tigers were going to be more competitive /play finals in 2017. I know Ralph gets a rough reputation on here but he will surely want what is best for Dusty as his role as management and that is not going to the Spooners.

If he can squeeze a little bit more out of the Tigers he has done the right thing for his client but at the same time he is likely bringing Norf along full well knowingly Dust will stay.

Media loving this given no other big stories around this week!

Dusty said it himself, his most hated team is Norf....gonna be awkward for him if he does end up there lol I personally think he will re-sign and it will happen after the brownlow. That is also what the club expects from what i've heard.

How sad is it that a team has to dangle such a large carrot in front of a player knowing that IF that player does come along it was all for the carrot and not for the club.

I reckon he will stay.
Yes 1.4 mill is a lot of money.
But so is 1.2 mill.
Either is plenty to set yourself up nicely.
Plus we are in a better position as far as success during his career is concerned.
We have the advantage of having him at Punt Rd everyday, working at wanting him to stay.
Also, and per haps most importantly. I would assume that life after football is more attractive at Punt Rd. We are a bigger club with more money to spend on infrastructure etc. What ever it is we have offered him post football, I think, will be the ace card.
Add to that the lure of being a one club player and all the perks associated with that.
I think we are still in the box seat.

If Dusty came out next week and said he's leaving, I'm worried what effect this would have on the group.
The way the boys played on the weekend shows they are united and pumped and looking to go deep in September.
I hope Dusty does the right thing and makes the decision after the finals like he has stated.
If they win the gf, it will be hard for him to leave.
Look at Ablett, left for suns and it turned out to be a disaster.

By the way, I hold nothing against him for trying to enhance his value.

Over 7 years, one million more, BUT, take off 130,000 he only gets if he signs on for this year, and with his after footy earnings so much bigger with tigers, the North offer starts to look, not enough.
There's a after footy plan the tigers have shown him, over his lifetime, he stands to loose millions if he leaves richmond.

lolnorf aren't going to get anywhere near finals with their current bunch of spuds.

Sure they can afford to throw Dusty $1.5m now, maybe more but somewhere sometime its going to bite them.

Tigers have the key players already there and their secondary players are finally starting to play like the missing pieces in the premiership jigsaw puzzle.

Dusty isn't a fool.

This is my gut feel as well. 1.5 mill on Dusty would seem a good idea at the time.
But it will be another GC scenario with Dusty trying to shoulder the whole team. It's a disaster waiting to happen.

Can't see Dusty going to Norf. I appreciate 1.5m (if true) is a lot of money but imagine his reputation/brand going to the likely wooden spooners when he initially was holding out to see if Tigers were going to be more competitive /play finals in 2017. I know Ralph gets a rough reputation on here but he will surely want what is best for Dusty as his role as management and that is not going to the Spooners.

If he can squeeze a little bit more out of the Tigers he has done the right thing for his client but at the same time he is likely bringing Norf along full well knowingly Dust will stay.

Media loving this given no other big stories around this week!

Sure Ralph Carr copped a fair bit of stick back in 2013 and fair enough, but he isn't anywhere near as bad as people make out.

This is my gut feel as well. 1.5 mill on Dusty would seem a good idea at the time.
But it will be another GC scenario with Dusty trying to shoulder the whole team. It's a disaster waiting to happen.

Good point on GC.

Gary junior thought it was his go to head the club but it really wasn't. Dusty knows now that it's not his go.

Additionally, what I have heard is that Gary jnr would have loved to wind back the clock and have another couple of premierships instead of the $$.

Just looking at RFA on the AFL website, what a joke.

Restricted free agents have the right to move to a club of their choice, subject to the current club’s right of first refusal over their services. That is, if the current club can ‘match’ the offer from a suitor club, the player must stay or enter the draft.

So, the Tigers could 'match' the offer, North refuse a trade, Dusty goes to draft (not sure if ND or PSD) and the Roos pick him up and the Tigers get nothing. Who in the AFL would sign off on something as stupid as this?

Dusty isn't a fool.
That depends on what different people see as important.
There are plenty who would also see him as a fool to knock back the money.

If Dusty came out next week and said he's leaving, I'm worried what effect this would have on the group.
The way the boys played on the weekend shows they are united and pumped and looking to go deep in September.
I hope Dusty does the right thing and makes the decision after the finals like he has stated.
If they win the gf, it will be hard for him to leave.
Look at Ablett, left for suns and it turned out to be a disaster.

By the way, I hold nothing against him for trying to enhance his value.
One thing is certain. He won't be coming out next week saying he's leaving.
He will either announce he's staying or he won't say anything.

Good point on GC.

Gary junior thought it was his go to head the club but it really wasn't. Dusty knows now that it's not his go.

Additionally, what I have heard is that Gary jnr would have loved to wind back the clock and have another couple of premierships instead of the $$.

Yep, reckon in hindsight he wish he didn't go.

Sure Ralph Carr copped a fair bit of stick back in 2013 and fair enough, but he isn't anywhere near as bad as people make out.
He's done a superb job.
Have a look at where his client sits.
In all likelihood Martin may never ever have entertained going anywhere in his mind yet his contract offer from us has found its way from $750/800 to $1.2.
He also has the option if he chooses to up and leave for $1.5.
That's pretty bloody shrewd management.