Wacky Tiger
Parmy
He's doing the right thing by Dusty though.
Shock horror, agent looks after player
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
He's doing the right thing by Dusty though.
robbo is close with ralph carr. so his mail would be pretty good on this. dusty has no career after footy he needs max $ we will up it and he will stay
Close to poty.lolI'm going to start studying the injury lists of other clubs to see if I can work out who we'll end up with.
That's pretty much the way I see it.Can't see us doing a trade for both Kelly and Martin. I think Martin will stay, his manager is probably just using the opportunity to drive up the asking price. If he loves the club as much as some posters have suggested, not sure why he hasn't put pen to paper yet or why he would ransom the club if he intended to stay.
If Richmond isn't prepared to pay him more than $800k a year for 4 years, or whatever the offer is, and we put down $1.2m for 6 or 7 years and Richmond matches it, you have effectively just agreed to pay him his market value plus a premium, because the amount we are offering includes a significant premium to switch clubs. I doubt there is any chance of us negotiating a trade if you match the offer.
If he really loves Richmond, he should sit down and come to terms, it wont be a great outcome if he is looking at free agency offers come the end of the season.
Apparently....cool storyApparently we won't budge on 800
I figured that all along, i wonder why that hasnt been said in the media as much, maybe its because it doesnt seem like an interesting story as "DUSTY LEAVES RICHMOND....maybe"Yeah mate, said that all along, nothing will happen till the payment deal is official. You got to keep in mind, Dusty is not the only player we want to keep and also chase after. Might be a very good off season for us.
When did north become relevant?When did Norf become a club with $1 million to pay it's players with?
Not to mention he'll retire with millions in the bank and would already have a smart financial manager looking after his money. If he invests wisely, he'll never have to work again.He'll be fine after football, between Richmond, the AFL and government he'll become some sort of multicultural/indiginous officer with his work at Korin Gamadji.
It's called Equalisation. It means the AFL takes money from strong clubs like ours and gives it to povvo outfits like ****ing lol ****ing Norf.When did Norf become a club with $1 million to pay it's players with?
He'll be fine after football, between Richmond, the AFL and government he'll become some sort of multicultural/indiginous officer with his work at Korin Gamadji.
That's pretty much the way I see it.
Clubs have now woken up to the restricted free agent rules. Match the bid and sit back and wait and see what happens.
My understanding is that we offered $800k over five years but have now upped it to $950k. I would think we would need to go even higher still to keep him. I think he would stay if it was $1mill over five years regardless of what another club offered.
My opinion on why he hasn't signed is that his manager is a ruthless bastard and will do anything he can to get the most he can for his client which is his right I guess. I often think that managers have too much say. They need to remember that they work FOR their client. The player doesn't work for his manager.
If he is an unrestricted free agent, then that's a different story.
I agree some managers are complete mercenaries and only think about the money, but the players have the ultimate say, I don't think it is 100% the fault of the manager, although they are a significant contributing factor. Players under certain managers tend to push aggressively for the maximum return irrespective of it's impact on the club or his players chance of having success, there is an opportunity cost when it comes to pushing for the maximum possible return.
Now that he knows roughly what his market value is, imo he should instruct his manager and do a deal that isn't going to cripple Richmond in the process, and shouldn't be expecting to be earning the premium that other clubs pay to switch clubs.
Similarly, if we get Kelly and/or a free agent, our club has to be mindful of what impact that is going to have in terms of being able to retain players and have enough depth to contend in the future. The draft system has definitely restricted access to the top end of talent, we have only had 1 top 5 pick in the last 10 years and only 2 in the 6-10 range, we have plenty of good quality contributors but the system hasn't given us much of a look at marquee level talent.
I think we have plenty of space to lure two players of that kind of calibre, but that is largely because we haven't been caught in the trap of overpaying players, Collingwood have Greenwood and Mayne on the books that is costing them about $1m a year, they also took Wells off our hands paying him in excess of $500k and are grossly overpaying Aish as well they lured from Brisbane. I think if they weren't as desperate as they have been, they could have had the capacity to lure in another gun or two. As soon as Collingwood put unreasonable offers to Greenwood and Wells, we let them go rather than be stuck with premium overpriced contracts.
Martin is well wort fighting for but there are limits in terms of chasing premium offers, GWS was pretty much forced to concede Kelly was going and didn't budge on his offer, even if they could force one or two promising kids out to retain him, it could set a dangerous precedence when other players come out of contract.
Briefly when they brought their way into the 1974 Grand Final.When did north become relevant?
Yeah that's all fair enough.I agree some managers are complete mercenaries and only think about the money, but the players have the ultimate say, I don't think it is 100% the fault of the manager, although they are a significant contributing factor. Players under certain managers tend to push aggressively for the maximum return irrespective of it's impact on the club or his players chance of having success, there is an opportunity cost when it comes to pushing for the maximum possible return.
Now that he knows roughly what his market value is, imo he should instruct his manager and do a deal that isn't going to cripple Richmond in the process, and shouldn't be expecting to be earning the premium that other clubs pay to switch clubs.
Similarly, if we get Kelly and/or a free agent, our club has to be mindful of what impact that is going to have in terms of being able to retain players and have enough depth to contend in the future. The draft system has definitely restricted access to the top end of talent, we have only had 1 top 5 pick in the last 10 years and only 2 in the 6-10 range, we have plenty of good quality contributors but the system hasn't given us much of a look at marquee level talent.
I think we have plenty of space to lure two players of that kind of calibre, but that is largely because we haven't been caught in the trap of overpaying players, Collingwood have Greenwood and Mayne on the books that is costing them about $1m a year, they also took Wells off our hands paying him in excess of $500k and are grossly overpaying Aish as well they lured from Brisbane. I think if they weren't as desperate as they have been, they could have had the capacity to lure in another gun or two. As soon as Collingwood put unreasonable offers to Greenwood and Wells, we let them go rather than be stuck with premium overpriced contracts.
Martin is well wort fighting for but there are limits in terms of chasing premium offers, GWS was pretty much forced to concede Kelly was going and didn't budge on his offer, even if they could force one or two promising kids out to retain him, it could set a dangerous precedence when other players come out of contract.
Ha! "Ladies First." It takes his ol' mate Swannie and a game of pool for Dusty to open up a little more.
EP1 above, all three episodes with Dusty only accessible via the Footy Live phone app.
you reckon you guys will get Kelly ?
Yeah he said to Swan "any chance of getting you down to the Tigers for a year" so I think that means he's hanging aroundNot bad, another clue at the end.
That's pretty much the way I see it.
Clubs have now woken up to the restricted free agent rules. Match the bid and sit back and wait and see what happens.
My understanding is that we offered $800k over five years but have now upped it to $950k. I would think we would need to go even higher still to keep him. I think he would stay if it was $1mill over five years regardless of what another club offered.
My opinion on why he hasn't signed is that his manager is a ruthless bastard and will do anything he can to get the most he can for his client which is his right I guess. I often think that managers have too much say. They need to remember that they work FOR their client. The player doesn't work for his manager.
If he is an unrestricted free agent, then that's a different story.
It may not work that way in practice most of the them, but the whole point of hiring someone is that they work for you. That's why you hire them.Unfortunately no. It would be nice in this situation if Dusty put his foot down with Carr and demanded a deal, it would save us all the sleepless nights! Hehe. But you don't hire an advisor and then advise them. It doesn't work that way.