Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones

I disagree he is very very poor in the ruck avg ruckman rag doll him
1 game he kicked 4 against poor opposition does not make a career.
Not fussed at all he is gone might speed up a real gun in our forward line

you must have missed the part where I said he was young and still learning.

he’s 22 and played 8 games FFS. No one is saying he’s Max Gawn at 29. Who’s this gun forward we’re speeding up?

100% right.

To lose Chol and CCJ in one fell swoop is poor list management by Richmond which ever way you slice it.

It’s great list management and it’s why we became a powerhouse. From the moment the club stood their ground with Dusty and retained their offer when he was getting a tour of GWS is the day that this club stopped the tail wagging the dog.

We offered CJ 2-years at probably $350k. Norf offered 4-years at probably $450k. We didn’t budge from our 2-year length offer, because it remained in line with what other players have accepted as part of sacrifice over many years to play at a successful club. How does the club look Cotchin or Reiwoldt or Grimes or Edwards in the eye if they hand out a 4-year deal for $1.8m to a bloke who has played 8-games, cost the club $100k in the soft cap, cost someone their job and almost derailed our 2020 flag hopes with off-field stupidity?

This retains the standards of not overpaying and making sure we keep money in the cap in 2-years time when Bolton comes out of contract. Imagine we lost Bolton because we’d committed $450k to CJ, which means other players would have all come with the cap in hand asking for more.

This is not evidence we are falling off the cliff or regressing … this to me is evidence the club is not desperate, is not panicked and is not letting the tail wag the dog as they’ve done so often in the past.

Well done for standing your ground Tigers, it’ll come back in spades from current players who have taken less to stay!!

It’s great list management and it’s why we became a powerhouse. From the moment the club stood their ground with Dusty and retained their offer when he was getting a tour of GWS is the day that this club stopped the tail wagging the dog.

We offered CJ 2-years at probably $350k. Norf offered 4-years at probably $450k. We didn’t budge from our 2-year length offer, because it remained in line with what other players have accepted as part of sacrifice over many years to play at a successful club. How does the club look Cotchin or Reiwoldt or Grimes or Edwards in the eye if they hand out a 4-year deal for $1.8m to a bloke who has played 8-games, cost the club $100k in the soft cap, cost someone their job and almost derailed our 2020 flag hopes with off-field stupidity?

This retains the standards of not overpaying and making sure we keep money in the cap in 2-years time when Bolton comes out of contract. Imagine we lost Bolton because we’d committed $450k to CJ, which means other players would have all come with the cap in hand asking for more.

This is not evidence we are falling off the cliff or regressing … this to me is evidence the club is not desperate, is not panicked and is not letting the tail wag the dog as they’ve done so often in the past.

Well done for standing your ground Tigers, it’ll come back in spades from current players who have taken less to stay!!

Spot on!!

100% right.

To lose Chol and CCJ in one fell swoop is poor list management by Richmond which ever way you slice it.
Kudos to you for using fell instead of foul.
you have restored my faith.

For those somehow clinging to hope that CCJ may hang around, best you move on.

He's gone.

Pretty much what a few posters have been saying. Leaving for more opportunity given the circumstances. Nothing controversial there.

be careful what you wish for though. If you want to be the main man you take on the responsibility for your performance. North have a promising but very young forward line.

Look at all the oppos get up and about.

Well said mate.
Tigers have lost two players but not at a great cost.
And we have a great draft hand and plenty of young quality in the list atm.

Now doubt oppo clubs who struggle with developing their own will arrive at the Richmond 5 star restaurant again but we will not bend over for them.

Higgins was just a sook.
Cj can understand when you have a couple of handy premiership ruckman ahead of you

Anyone who thinks this is about opportunity rather than money is naïve. #lolNorf picked up the 2nd most talented ruck/forward in this years draft crop during the mid-season draft. He'll be well ahead of Judas Jones by the end of next year.

Pretty much what a few posters have been saying. Leaving for more opportunity given the circumstances. Nothing controversial there.

be careful what you wish for though. If you want to be the main man you take on the responsibility for your performance. North have a promising but very young forward line.

Pardon the intrusion…

I don’t think CCJ will be/need to be the “main man” in our forward line. Just needs to compete & play his role.

Zurhaar & Larkey - 73 goals
Riewoldt & Lynch - 86 Goals

You could see Riewoldt was uncomfortable discussing it. He knows if he pulled the pin given he's cooked then Judas Jones would have stayed

We
Pardon the intrusion…

I don’t think CCJ will be/need to be the “main man” in our forward line. Just needs to compete & play his role.

Zurhaar & Larkey - 73 goals
Riewoldt & Lynch - 86 Goals

granted I’m only going on what’s in the public forum but if he’s moving on the deal being touted then he’s going to be your #1 ruck at some point in the near term.

He’ll obviously play some percentage forward but it’s not like he’s got senior seasoned players around him in the key posts to take the heat apart from Goldstein for however long that might be.

I get the goal output comparison but we had a much tougher fixture than north this year.

You could see Riewoldt was uncomfortable discussing it. He knows if he pulled the pin given he's cooked then Judas Jones would have stayed

I’ve got no doubt that if jack had hung up the boots we probably would have made him an offer that was enough to stay.

the fact we didn’t is revealing. We just don’t think he’s worth the money or the term. And the fact he wants to go says it’s all really. So good luck to him but he’s the enemy now

We

granted I’m only going on what’s in the public forum but if he’s moving on the deal being touted then he’s going to be your #1 ruck at some point in the near term.

He’ll obviously play some percentage forward but it’s not like he’s got senior seasoned players around him in the key posts to take the heat apart from Goldstein for however long that might be.

I get the goal output comparison but we had a much tougher fixture than north this year.

He will have Goldy for a couple more years. By that point CCJ will be 24/25 & Larkey/Zurhaar will be 25/26.

The fixture narrative is an interesting one. Could equally argue that Richmond were a much better side so would be an easier forward line to play in this year.

You raise a lot of really good points here and you're spot on about asking blokes to make sacrifices on one hand then paying ccj massive overs on the other. The only thing I would say about the club holding its ground is that it is not necessarily always the best decision. Take the Dusty example, if he had have signed with GWS as he was very close to doing, we wouldn't have won any flags and would have been absolute mugs for not increasing his offer, even after some of his off field discretions. As it turned out he stayed and everyone's happy, but there is a lot of risk with that strategy.

Now I'm obviously not saying ccj is going to be anywhere near as important as Dusty, and honestly CCJ could turn out to be a complete spud and we'll all look stupid, but sometimes it actually is really important to keep a player, even if the club has to concede and pay more than it would like. Personally I would have liked us to up our offer (not to something stupid like north of course) as I think for the make-up of our list in 2-3 years it will be worth swallowing our pride and paying him overs.

Poor list management by RFC to have both Chol and CCJ out of contract at the same time.
Richmond have the option to keep these 2 players by just matching the offers

Richmond selected not to mainly because we dont pay overs

Clubs like Norf who survive mainly through hand outs from the AFL and selling their soul to Tassie

Needs to bring in Big Fish and after Polec CJ is their Marque player.

Good luck to them and hope Cj enjoys playing infront of 5000 people

You raise a lot of really good points here and you're spot on about asking blokes to make sacrifices on one hand then paying ccj massive overs on the other. The only thing I would say about the club holding its ground is that it is not necessarily always the best decision. Take the Dusty example, if he had have signed with GWS as he was very close to doing, we wouldn't have won any flags and would have been absolute mugs for not increasing his offer, even after some of his off field discretions. As it turned out he stayed and everyone's happy, but there is a lot of risk with that strategy.

Now I'm obviously not saying ccj is going to be anywhere near as important as Dusty, and honestly CCJ could turn out to be a complete spud and we'll all look stupid, but sometimes it actually is really important to keep a player, even if the club has to concede and pay more than it would like. Personally I would have liked us to up our offer (not to something stupid like north of course) as I think for the make-up of our list in 2-3 years it will be worth swallowing our pride and paying him overs.
North could fit him in the cap, we probably couldn’t. It’s tough being King.

yeah well that could be true who really knows, I would have been happy to give him a third year with a bit more money in the backend if need be. I've been pretty skeptical of posters saying we have heaps of space right now, but in a year or two with astbury, houli, jack, cotch, potentially edwards/grimes gone we really will have a lot of space

I am thinking this because they can walk him to the PSD for nothing.
Doesn't matter what he is worth. His worth is significantly downgraded because of the fact that North can get him for zero.

That would only happen after a lot of bad blood playing out & I think Nth will be more inline with how we operate - they will play relatively fairly. Their ability to function effectively in free agency relies heavily on player managers endorsement their club & club goodwill. As of right now CCJ has not made a decision & i don't think they would be so bullish on their belief to think if they made the path to nth too hard for him, he would not backflip and re-sign. If they push hard on pick 38 vs a future 2nd - whats the gain? All that bad blood and risk just to gain 9 or 10 spots in the mid-section of the draft? I am fairly confident we will get a 2nd - most likely a future & possibly with us sending a favourable pick swap in the 3rd or 4th round their way

That would only happen after a lot of bad blood playing out & I think Nth will be more inline with how we operate - they will play relatively fairly. Their ability to function effectively in free agency relies heavily on player managers endorsement their club & club goodwill. As of right now CCJ has not made a decision & i don't think they would be so bullish on their belief to think if they made the path to nth too hard for him, he would not backflip and re-sign. If they push hard on pick 38 vs a future 2nd - whats the gain? All that bad blood and risk just to gain 9 or 10 spots in the mid-section of the draft? I am fairly confident we will get a 2nd - most likely a future & possibly with us sending a favourable pick swap their way

The “gain” is that North are rebuilding and can’t be in the business of just handing out second round picks they don’t need to.

Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones