Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones

If that’s true then it’s got to be up there as one of the most ridiculous contract offers in the history of the game.

Rory Laird is a two time All Australian that’s played 180 odd games.
Nick Vlastuin is a 170 plus gamer and has played in 3 premierships.

That’s the quality of player that gets 5 year deals.

I thought 400K was not really big money and CCJ could really kick on. Could be a steal I think

Tigers will want pick 20 at least I'd reckon and those campaigners wont cough it up and try and force him to the PSD
That’d be a dreadful outcome to lose him for nothing.

I think a lot of posters in here aren’t realistic with their proposed trades. If we were able to trade CCJ and 44 for pick 20 it wouldn’t be bad in the circumstances. However, I still really hope he stays, we need him to replace Riewoldt at the end of next season!

There is no such thing as A grade for a medium forward. Your either A grade or your not. He kicked 21 goals in 2017, that's it.

He has been handy to solid but never near A-grade

He might be thinking of 2018 when Caddy kicked around 45-goals and made AA squad of 40.

Sorry but Pickett is on overs. Hasn’t got many runs on the board either. Caddy a different story completely
Pickett would of been getting paid what was left over in the cap last year and we front ended his payments
Probably find over the length of his contract it’s only like 200k a year

Pickett would of been getting paid what was left over in the cap last year and we front ended his payments
Probably find over the length of his contract it’s only like 200k a year
Most media reports had his contract value at a lot more than that. 2 years at 400k+ was about the mark.

Yes, the media aren’t always the most reliable but it was pretty much accepted as correct.

How could we loose him to North ffs I know it's longer term and $$$, but power house clubs don't loose players to clubs like North not happy with this.
If he's got any brains he stays at Richmond and develops into a very good ruckman who would be duely rewarded over a long period of time, both financially and with the benefits that come from association. Just like Jack Graham resisting Carlton's overtures last year.

If he's got no brains and wants to take the money - he can F Off!!

If he's got any brains he stays at Richmond and develops into a very good ruckman who would be duely rewarded over a long period of time, both financially and with the benefits that come from association. Just like Jack Graham resisting Carlton's overtures last year.

If he's got no brains and wants to take the money - he can F Off!!
gawn mate I mean gone he can go a get royally f

I don’t begrudge a kid who has been offered five years security and more ruck time if that is what he wants.
I actually don’t begrudge North for trying to get him in the PSD. Let’s face it, we would be wanting the same if the tables were turned.
what would piss me off however is if CCJ didn’t want Richmond to be fairly compensated.
I don’t boo players normally, but next I would be clearing my voice out to give it to that little piss any Higgins and CCJ.

I don’t begrudge a kid who has been offered five years security and more ruck time if that is what he wants.
I actually don’t begrudge North for trying to get him in the PSD. Let’s face it, we would be wanting the same if the tables were turned.
what would piss me off however is if CCJ didn’t want Richmond to be fairly compensated.
I don’t boo players normally, but next I would be clearing my voice out to give it to that little piss any Higgins and CCJ.
Can honestly say I don’t care about Higgins at all. Pretty much got us pick 15 this year

I think its a smart play by North.

CCJ has shown enough there is real upside and at least a normal progression and he can contribute now meaningfully. I think North have factored that in so its potentially real value over 5 years.

Its unlikely he will injury himself significantly in that time. If I was North I would do it

Can honestly say I don’t care about Higgins at all. Pretty much got us pick 15 this year
I could barely type his name without calling him rude things.

Part of his reasoning is he apparently wants more ruck time - which if fine.

But if he goes to the PSD and fu**s the club over, I'll pay a premium price to watch the first ruck contest he has vs Nankervis next season.

If he wants to play primarily ruck then that isn’t going to happen at Richmond for 5+ years. He’s not even close to Nank and Soldo as a ruck and from what I’ve seen of CCJ in the ruck so far he won’t be for a long time, if ever - so we are no chance of keeping him if that’s his desire, so just get the best deal we can and get rid of him as a disgruntled ruck sooking it up in the forward line or VFL is not what we need.

He might turn into a very good player, but he might end up a C-grader. It’s too early to tell and could go either way, so pick-20 could be a huge win so I wouldn’t be too worried.

Remember who we offered to Eagles to try and get Chris Judd? Picks 2 & 18. Those draft picks? Cotchin and Rance. So no reason why the draft pick for CCJ won’t be looked back upon the same way.

If he wants to play primarily ruck then that isn’t going to happen at Richmond for 5+ years. He’s not even close to Nank and Soldo as a ruck and from what I’ve seen of CCJ in the ruck so far he won’t be for a long time, if ever - so we are no chance of keeping him if that’s his desire, so just get the best deal we can and get rid of him as a disgruntled ruck sooking it up in the forward line or VFL is not what we need.

He might turn into a very good player, but he might end up a C-grader. It’s too early to tell and could go either way, so pick-20 could be a huge win so I wouldn’t be too worried.

Remember who we offered to Eagles to try and get Chris Judd? Picks 2 & 18. Those draft picks? Cotchin and Rance. So no reason why the draft pick for CCJ won’t be looked back upon the same way.

Why’s he got such a hard on over rucking?
Played way better as a forward at afl level. Norf have corrupted his thinking 🤣

The way some people fawn over this bloke is cringeworthy. Not fit to carry Lynch, JR, Nank or Soldo's boots. If he wants to go to Norf then good luck to him. Don't need him
JR 33 at start of next season
Lynch 29

He won't have to carry their boots, they'll be gone

Player Watch #40: Callum Coleman-Jones