Player Watch #41 Sam Banks

This bloke is extremely talented. He’s got a very handy combination of athleticism, skills and size.

Will be much better utilised in an outside type role when he gets his chance at AFL level. He is the type of player that breaks lines with his run and by foot.

He and Tom Brown share many similar traits…but honestly you can never have enough quality ball users.

It'll be interesting if he can put some meat on. If he gets strong enough he could be an all round inside outside mid. That's my longer term hope.

But very good mindset and great skills. Great pick

It'll be interesting if he can put some meat on. If he gets strong enough he could be an all round inside outside mid. That's my longer term hope.

Hope he can put on 5-10kg . has all the attributes apart from size to be playing right now.
His outside game is already very good but in tight opponents just push him aside.

Does not lack courage either, there was a VFL game earlier in the year that he ran back into on oncoming pack that included Myketu Lefau (95 kg) and an opposition kpf (and somehow survived)

He does move extremely well through and out of traffic and is a great ball user with a very penetrating kick. It would be a massive bonus if 5 years from now he is holding down an inside mid role. If not, he should be a tremendous outside player.

He does appeal as a very natural wing or back flanker. But these days the way footy is probably high half forward as well. Ultimately though I agree with Dr Tigris that it would be great if he could become strong enough to play as an inside mid.
You can never have enough players capable of rotating through the midfield

He does appeal as a very natural wing or back flanker. But these days the way footy is probably high half forward as well. Ultimately though I agree with Dr Tigris that it would be great if he could become strong enough to play as an inside mid.

Yeah, when we drafted him they said he planned to play some inside mid last year. But still needed some muscle. Covid etc no happen.

He did play inside a few years ago. But then he'd be about 13 years old :D. A few things are different between young teenagers and grown men in the AFL.

Anyway, we can but hope.

Hope he can put on 5-10kg . has all the attributes apart from size to be playing right now.
His outside game is already very good but in tight opponents just push him aside.

Does not lack courage either, there was a VFL game earlier in the year that he ran back into on oncoming pack that included Myketu Lefau (95 kg) and an opposition kpf (and somehow survived)

Yeah. Lot of like about him. My view is that he could be a slow burn, but incredibly high potential. And he seems the type that will do whatever he can to get there.

Sort of like Stack and RCD in potential (although Stack is amazingly talented) but with a great attitude - by all reports.

Bit of Luke hodge about him, even down to the voice and the way he speaks

Yeah, when we drafted him they said he planned to play some inside mid last year. But still needed some muscle. Covid etc no happen.

He did play inside a few years ago. But then he'd be about 13 years old :D. A few things are different between young teenagers and grown men in the AFL.

Anyway, we can but hope.
I look at guy’s like Rosee and Dursma that started their careers about the same height/weight as Banks. Both have put on size and strength over a couple of preseasons. No reason Banks can’t do similar

By the start of 2023 he will be 80-82kgs

Bit of Luke hodge about him, even down to the voice and the way he speaks
Done a bit of investigation lately about Banks

date of birth - 02 April 2003
Hawthorn11.8 (74)Sydney9.10 (64)Blundstone Arena25,079Saturday, 6 July

Luke hodge played in that game and was sanctioned by the club for missing for 3 days after the game

He does move extremely well through and out of traffic and is a great ball user with a very penetrating kick. It would be a massive bonus if 5 years from now he is holding down an inside mid role. If not, he should be a tremendous outside player.

I did not mind the look of him at times inside on the weekend.

He showed a burst of speed to which is important.

He looked comfortable with ball in traffic. I think he can kicked left but kicked right with a bit of pressure suggested he is not flustered too much

Hopefully this kid gets a call up before seasons end. He oozes talent and just screams leadership. Elite kick aswell.
Reckon brown gets first call up but Sam not far at all , both have a very good modern skill set , interceptors , good overhead and neat kicks , good selections

Sam Banks’ first year in the VFL has been very handy.

The kid had an interrupted pre season, was drafted from interstate and has been very consistent and has shown some serious talent.

I think this kid is going to be a special footballer, and I’ll go very early on this but I think he will captain the Richmond football club one day. He’s all class. Handles himself with what you’d hope a future leader would.

Some reports pre draft were that he needed to improve his defensive game…but from what I’ve seen this year he is not afraid of the physical stuff. Laid a couple of ripping tackles yesterday.

The biggest concern for me is that when this kid is blooming I think the Tassie AFL team will be coming into the league and this kid will be arguably the best Tassie prospect going around.

Player Watch #41 Sam Banks